We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Eastern Delight”
Review of Belle Grove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belle Grove
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having looked at the website periodically for several months before our trip to Belle Grove, during the last mile of our journey the sense of excitement and anticipation increased. We entered the grounds and arrived at The Stable and were absolutely overwhelmed with the whole place. The owners Jo and Nick have done a marvellous job on this conversion, the decor, the furniture, the accessories are all very vibrant and eclectic but just blend and gel together perfectly. Exceptionally equipped the property provided for very need. Attention paid to every last detail. The instruction/information pack was very detailed, suggestions for pubs, restaurants and days out we're even printed separately and laminated, enabling us to take them in the car with us. Indeed their own house was out of this world, and that was only from the outside!!
We can certainly recommend Belle Grove for a holiday.
The only criticism is that I couldn't mount the whole place on wheels and transport it up the A1 to Yorkshire for myself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josamaki, Owner at Belle Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

So pleased to know that we lived up to expectations and you felt it worth the trip from wonderful Yorkshire. Think you must be a mascot for sunny weather so do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just returned from a long weekend stay at the Gate House at Belle Grove. In all my years of travelling this has to be one of the most fantastic place I've been lucky enough to stay in. Situated in the countryside a couple of miles from Halesworth and 8 miles from Southwold it's like entering a different world when you pass through the gates. Your first glimpse is of the family home which in itself is an awesome sight - how many homes do you know that have a dragon on the roof?! Think Lord of the Rings or Hobbit and you get an idea of the scale and style. As to our accommodation the wow factor just didn't stop - you drive along a little lane and over a pond via a delightful bridge and the converted barns are in front of you. We were staying in a one bedroom property, the Gate House, and I can honestly say it nearly brought tears of joy to our eyes. An incredibly romantic place where the attention to detail is simply awesome. No expense has been spared in the design and layout and decor. Being self catering the kitchen is fully equipped and being a keen cook I loved the range cooker!

The living area is very cosy and comfortable, with everything you could want - wood burning fire, tv, DVD player, Bose sound system and a plethora of books, DVDs and board games. A patio door opens onto a lovely courtyard garden, totally private and with a view of the owners house and said dragon!

Upstairs the bedroom has to be one of the most romantic rooms I've ever seen, - exposed beams, four poster bed and exquisite soft furnishings - the bed is very very comfortable and it was a struggle to get out of in the mornings!! The bathroom was equally as good - with a double ended bath and excellent shower.

As with any accommodation a place can only be as good as the people who run it and here again Belle Grove excels! Jo is a wonderful host and made our stay so enjoyable - we were made to feel really welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble and we had a lovely chat one afternoon.

The attention to detail is amazing - on arrival there was a bottle of chilled wine in the fridge, milk, tea, coffee and a luxury box of Belgium chocolates! Oh and freshly picked flowers were there to greet us too. There is nothing that was overlooked.

We took our dog with us and even he became so chilled there - amazing!

Thank you Jo and Nick for sharing such an amazing place - we will definitely be back - and if you are looking for a special place to just relax and chill - then don't hesitate to book here - go on you deserve it!,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulh1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josamaki, Owner at Belle Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

How kind of you to write so positively about your 'Belle Grove Experience'! That's a lot to live up to mind but we'll certainly continue to give it our best. Glad that you found 'Speedy' too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just had the most special week at Belle Grove cottages where we took three of them for the extended family. These are individual and thoughtfully designed cottages with a special feel. We were lucky enough to have a stunning walled garden covered in vines and roses. The cottages are set in beautiful Suffolk farmland.

The cottages are all spotlessly clean, designed with themes from around the world but with modern facilities. Our hosts have thought of everything with plenty of books, games and DVDs provided.

Located near Halesworth Belle Grove is easily accessible to Suffolk and Norfolk some of the most beautiful parts of the country. The hosts even provide a beach but at Southwold, where lunch on the Pier is a wonderful surprise. Lots of places to visit or just relax at base.

Jo and Nick are special host providing some key essentials on arrival. You must read Jo's book, African Approaches, which details their many years of adventures over landing across Africa. Quite incredible and enhances the appeal of the cottages.

I felt very privileged to have stayed at Belle Grove and can recommend these cottages as the best I have ever stayed in. One of our best family holidays.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josamaki, Owner at Belle Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

It was a delight to host your lovely family here - and it's so nice when people respond to Suffolk, this special corner of England.
What's more, your enthusiasm for African Approaches has resulted in subsequent guests embracing it too, so thanks for spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here for the second time in early May. As previous, we stayed in the Coach House. All was perfect and we felt at home from the minute we arrived. Some appliances had been upgraded since 2012. Cleanliness is superb - as I am allergic to dogs the cleaning staff do a thorough deep-clean prior to our arrival and I have had no reactions.
Jo came to see us during our stay and it was lovely to see her and Nick again.
One other mention - after reading a review on here about 'Suffolk Massage Angels' we decided to try them out. Rather than have the massages in the barn (which they also offer) we chose visit their holistic centre in Dunwich. My wife had an ayurvedic marma massage, whilst I had a shiatsu massage. Both were very relaxing and compare to massages we have had anywhere else.

Finally, overall the Belle Grove barns are a fantastic self-catering location in a lovely setting relatively near the coast. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr Fereday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here last year and will be staying again in August. We found the property through the premier cottages website and what drew it to our attention was the beautiful picture of the red bedroom at The Gate House, so we were thrilled to be able to stay there and see the bedroom for ourselves. This time, we've booked independently, through the owner's website.

You definitely need a car, but I've found that to be true of most places in Suffolk. It's quite out of the way, which is a definite plus for us.

It's great to be able to stay in such lovely surroundings with a dog. Yes she sheds hair and her paws are often a bit muddy, but we clean her up before going inside and she really doesn't make a mess. Anyway, a hoover is supplied, so that's not a problem. I wish more rental properties of this quality were available to dog owners.

Looking forward to our next visit this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed at the Coach House recently with our border terrier. Accommodation and welcome - you could not ask for more unless you want palm trees and a desert island! The Suffolk coast is brilliant and undervalued. Southwold, Walberswick, Thorpeness and Aldeburgh are beautiful and unspoilt. And then to come home to opulence and such a fantasy location, you just need to try it. Don't miss Nick's collection of boys toys either. And Jo, well they probably broke the mould! Enjoy, this is a hidden diamond of a place.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josamaki, Owner at Belle Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Boy's toys indeed - mind you, I've been trying to persuade Nick to get rid of his miscellanea for years - maybe we should hang onto such things after all! Nothing like finding old racing Land Rovers in the shrubbery to keep guests entertained. Anyway, we're happy that you liked it here and thanks so much for being exemplary guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Gate House recently and it was just perfect. As others have pointed out, it was immaculately clean when we arrived. The kitchen was perfectly well stocked and we found everything we needed and more! As the weather was cold and windy on a couple of the days that we were there, it was the perfect excuse to stay in, light the fire, put some music on and relax with a book (and a glass of wine of course).

It's also worth mentioning that we pre-booked a visit from the Suffolk Massage Angels (the pre-arrival guide to Belle Grove has a very extensive list of the services available in the area) who came to us in our barn where we received a lovely Shaitsu massage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJC806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josamaki, Owner at Belle Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thankyou for this. The weather was indeed pretty grim during your stay so very pleased you managed to hunker down and enjoy being in front of the fire! And delighted that you made use of the appropriately-named Suffolk Massage Angels. It's all about going home refreshed after a stay in a relaxing and problem-free environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Belle Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Grove

Address: Low Common | Westhall, Halesworth IP19 8QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Halesworth
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belle Grove 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Belle Grove Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing