We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here for a warm welcome.”

The Triple Plea Inn
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Halesworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Triple Plea is on the edge of Halesworth Town and we provide a lunch and evening menu with specials board. Tuesday evenings - Burger Night £5 Wednesday Lunch - Senior Citizen Lunch £6.95, main and a tea or coffee. Thursday evenings - Pie Night £5 Friday evenings - BBQ and full Main Menu plus happy hour 4-6pm (seasonal) Sunday lunch Carvery We have a large car park at the rear of the pub as well as a play area beer garden. We are dog friendly (well behaved dogs on leads) and family friendly. Tuesday-Saturday 12pm-3pm-5.30pm-11pm Sundays 12pm-5pm Closed Mondays.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't go here for a warm welcome.”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We arrived on a Sunday evening looking for food. The place was almost empty. We went in, conversation stopped from the man behind the bar and the two customers. All looked and stared at us as if we had arrived trying to sell something! I asked if we could eat? To be told "No, not on Sundays". End of conversation and we left disapointed and never to return. I had heard good things about this pub, I guess things and people change. We then visted a further 6 pubs locally to be told the same, but found this the most un-wecoming of all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gt Yarmouth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Highs and Lows”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I found the menu at this pub/restaurant rather limited. There was only one choice each of a chicken, fish or meat dish, plus a steak option which for £17 I thought was too expensive, as it was served with only chips and salad (no mushrooms, onion rings, grilled tomatoes etc). There was also one vegetarian option. The specials board only offered 2 starters, and no main course options.
I chose the pork belly with mustard mash, which although very tasty, had more bones and fat than actual meat, and as there was no sauce or gravy it was rather dry. I asked for a knob of butter to moisten it up a little, which was readily supplied.
The service at the bar and in the restaurant was very friendly. We arrived at 6.45pm and placed our order, but asked if we could eat at 7.30 to give us time for a couple of drinks first. Unfortunately it was around 8pm before our food arrived, despite there being only one other couple in the restaurant. There were lots of empty tables so I can't help wondering how much longer we may have waited if it had been busy (it was Saturday night).
So the service was friendly, the welcome warm, but the atmosphere rather non-existent, the choice poor and the food tasty but dry and a long time coming.
Make of that what you will!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smitchell999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge England
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Well situated pub”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Friendly service, good food and well kept beer. Service was a little slow as there was a large party booked in. Comfy seating area in the bar. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MistressWeatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great beer.....”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Had a lovely dinner here. Started with some very well kept real ale, starter was superb and the main course was just the right size served piping hot. Service was attentive but not 'in your face'. Prices are very reasonable with some good specials and I will be going back for the lunchtime specials. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Headbrewer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent fod”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just had an early dinner here before the Olympic opening ceremony on TV! The service was faultless, friendly and efficient. The food was fantastic, chicken breast in a cream and mushroom sauce and lamb in a red wine jus. Both seasoned perfectly and served with new potatoes and fresh veg. It was obviously freshly cooked to order. We shared a dessert of fresh local raspberries with cream and shortbread.
It's a little way out of the village but well worth looking for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Triple Plea Inn also viewed

 
Halesworth, Suffolk
 

Been to The Triple Plea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing