We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent four nights in Barn Owl with our daughter (age 5). This was our first 'glamping' experience so we didn't know what to expect. Kim and Nick are wonderful hosts and have thought of everything. The facilities are really good and the yurt was well equipped and very comfortable. We loved the outside shower, camp fires and cooking al fresco! The location is great with plenty to see and do whatever your tastes.Our daughter loved collecting fresh vegetables for dinner and spent happy times spotting fairies in the meadow (sunshine on dew). We will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trix_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHoare, Owner at Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We will never see sunshine on dew in the meadow without thinking of fairies and Abigail! We really enjoy having children around who show us things through new eyes. Loved meeting you all and very much hope to see you back here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in the Bell Tent, but wish we had booked for longer.
We were greeted by Nick and Kim, who were extremely helpful and happy to talk to us about where to visit, based on our interests.
The facilities are very clean and well looked after, better than some hotels we have stayed in! There isn't mush you need to take as Nick and Kim have thought of everything that you need.

We will definitely be returning and staying longer than three nights.

Thank you for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHoare, Owner at Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
It was great to see you both here and pleased that you managed to get some proper relaxation in! We'll hope to see you back here again - next year we're trading our Bell Tent in for another small yurt (Barn Owl sized) so you might fancy trying that out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at Lapwing Yurt for 5 days with our two children (aged 4 and aged 2). We had wanted to try camping with them and decided a yurt would be a good way to introduce them to a different type of holiday. We all had the most fantastic time. The yurts themselves were really comfortable, complete with beds, woodburning stove and dining table. The location was idyllic with so much space around each yurt, it felt so peaceful. Kim and Nick have put so much thought into the place that it was easy to have a relaxing time - from a really well stocked kitchen, to an outdoor shower that made bath time an absolute pleasure, to a communal area that had useful books/information/games and was properly inviting, and that's not even mentioning the outside pizza oven! We really enjoyed introducing our children to the outdoors here - they picked fruit and vegetables from the garden, were fascinated by Nick putting up a Barn Owl house and simply enjoyed the freedom of being able to play outdoors in and around the yurt with few restrictions. We did venture further afield and the beaches nearby were lovely too. We couldn't think of a single thing that was missing - a perfect camping experience and we can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTotting2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHoare, Owner at Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We loved seeing the children engage with everything here and especially enjoyed the conversation around the pizza oven. We appreciated your willingness to be our trial samplers of the pizzas - you'll be pleased to hear that we've been firing up the oven throughout the summer and managed our last party of 18 pizzas seamlessly! We're planning to do some more landscaping work over the winter and Nick has schemes afoot that involve turning telegraph poles into benches around the pizza oven, so if you come again you'll see a few changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights (originally booked in for 2 but we loved it so much we booked in for an extra night!). This really is a special place; tranquil, peaceful and very far away from the London we left for a few days. The yurts are not only beautifully decorated but really clean and well kitted out with everything you would need. We loved the al fresco cooking and being able to pick and cook the vegetables / herbs / fruit from Kim&Nick’s various vegetable patches around the meadow.

It’s really great that there are only a small handful of yurts in the meadow as it helps give the place a feeling of space and privacy and it feels less like a ‘campsite’. The outdoor showers were great fun, with the option to have them day or night (by candlelight).

Kim and Nick are wonderful hosts, genuine, friendly and helpful. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Barnownl yurt for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becca359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHoare, Owner at Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
It was great to see you both here and really pleased that you got to try out Yellowhammer yurt for your 3rd night as well as Barn Owl - both made by our favourite yurt-maker Tim Hutton. Hope to see you back here again next summer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My friend and I booked the Yellowhammer yurt as a short break with our girls (aged 11 & 15). We arrived not knowing what to expect. Kim and Nick met us on arrival. What lovely people. The yurt was lovely and comfortable with our pre-booked bedding all ready to use. The facilities provided were excellent, all you need to take is your food and personal belongings!! The outdoor showers proved a novelty for us with hot water too! The local pub (approx 1 mile away) was recommended and an easy walk or bike ride away. Have recommended to friends and plan on going back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHoare, Owner at Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Delighted that your first glamping experience worked so well for you all! Come back whenever you like.... Hope the husbands had a good time on their golfing weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Kim and Nick were fabulous hosts and have thought of everything at their venue. Cooking and washing facilities were well stocked and very clean, yurts were really comfortable. We stayed in Barn Owl and it was very romantic and pretty. We loved cooking over an open fire when the sun was out. The yurts were far enough apart to not be disturbed but really nice to meet other guests when looking for walks on the books/maps in the communal area to share ideas. Sea side is a short drive or bike ride away and we did some great walks to take in the local area and wildlife. A definite recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claredarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHoare, Owner at Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hope you managed to get a good walk in on your last day; we loved the Bungay/Earsham walk I mentioned to you but there's no shortage of good alternatives inland or along the coast. Would love to see you both back here for some more exploring one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Surprised my fiancee with a 3 night break at Ivy Grange Farm and we both had an awesome time! Nick and Kim were lovely hosts and even picked me up some (delicious) bacon from their favourite butcher before we'd arrived!

The nearby countryside is perfect for a bike ride (bikes can be hired free of charge!) so I would definitely recommend that if you stay here you make use of the bikes and the surrounding area!

We stayed in Woodpecker Yurt which was very luxurious and probably a little TOO big for just 2 people but it was really nice to have the extra space.

The weather wasn't amazing and we had some heavy rain, but nothing beats cosying up by the woodburner with a couple of mugs of tea and listening to the rain tapping on the top of your little home.

GO NOW!

Room Tip: Barn Owl looked perfect for couples, we would probably save ourselves a bit of money and book there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimHoare, Owner at Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
It was lovely to see you both here and glad you managed to keep the surprise for your fiancee until you arrived here! We'd love to see you back again, and generally Barn Owl (our "romantic" yurt which has now hosted a few honeymoons....) books a little slower than the other, family, yurts so we've still got some gaps! We'll keep our fingers crossed for more sunshine for you return visit. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halesworth
7.2 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lantern & Larks - Sweffling Hall
0.2 mi away
Valley Farmhouse B&B
Valley Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Westhall
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
5.3 mi away
Heathside Lodges
Heathside Lodges
#1 of 1 in Wenhaston
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carlton Meres Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays

Property: Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays
Address: Butts Road | Westhall, Halesworth IP19 8RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Halesworth
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose one of our 4 elegant yurts (Barn Owl, Swallow, Lapwing, Yellowhammer) or lovely new Shepherd's Hut set in a 3 Acre meadow in idyllic countryside close to Southwold and RSPB Minsmere and on National Cycle Route 1. Each yurt and hut has its own bar-b-q, campfire, cooker and use of great facilities including our popular two-person Woodland Shower with plenty of hot water (as well as more conventional indoor showers and flushing loos!). Try out your pizza-making skills using our wood-fired pizza oven; take a spin around the quiet lanes on the bikes we have here; try one of our recommended country walks; pick blueberries or strawberries for breakfast from the fruit and veg troughs; take out a canoe on the river Waveney; try some wild swimming (we'll recommend our favourite spots!). We're close to a station and are happy to collect and offer a "green" discount for those coming by train (or bike) as well as bikes to borrow when you are here or storage if you bring your own. A perfect place to relax and unwind, whatever the weather, whatever your passions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Grange Farm Yurt Holidays Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing