We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax enjoy”
Review of The Angel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halesworth
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“relax enjoy”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our 2nd stay at this lovely old hotel, Good services and nice people who will make you very welcome. Excellent Italian restaurant ( need to book weekends ) Great beer and very good house wine. Stayed in 5 Simone and there was some noise but no big deal.
Great breakfast at sensible time. Treat yourselves, why not ?
If you dont mind a bit of driving use the tourist route instead of the A12 if travelling from the south.
Take the M 11 and the turn off for Newmarket and you will see the brown info guide that will take you to Yoxford via quiet country roads A 1120.

Room Tip: Rooms are all upstairs and some steps quite steep so if you able get the nearest for easy access. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    51
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
45
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Don't stay in room 5, you will receive an unexpected wake-up call whenever the people in the next room take a shower, in our case 5am! The noise from the shower/generator is deafening and you are not warned in advance. Other than that it's a friendly enough place with pricey but good food. 9 miles from Southwold.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are very sorry that your stay was affected in this way. We have finally got to the bottom of the problem - indeed with the shower pump for room 5 and are confident that it has now been rectified.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We like this hotel, the staff seem to enjoy working here, and the atmosphere is welcoming and professional. There is a good restaurant on site which we have reviewed seperately. The following niggles should be read in the context of the overall rating. We parked in the hotel car park at 15:30 (open air, behind the hotel), found someone in the bar to check us in and proceeded to our room. We booked at the last minute and the only room available was room 5, this is a small twin on the side of the hotel with a newly refurbished shower room/wc. The pull cord for the lights in the shower room was dark brown with dirt, which was disgusting. We were worried about noise overnight from the road beneath our window, but there was none. We set our alarm for 06:30, but we need not have bothered because the guest in room 4 decided to have a shower or a bath at 06:00, and it was so noisy they might as well have had it in our room. Breakfast was good, with hot food cooked to order rather than the usual hot buffet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I booked this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. We wanted somewhere close to Southwold for a weekend break for 6 ladies and it was perfect! The rooms are clean & comfortable, the food in the Italian restaurant was wonderful, we ate in there both evenings of our stay and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We had great breakfasts and all at a very reasonable cost too!
All the staff made us feel very welcome and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked a double room at short notice based on the reviews we'd read and weren't disappointed. It's an old building and the fittings aren't new but our room (number 1) was very comfortable, spacious and functional.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked appealing - a range of Italian dishes including an interesting turbot based dish. The bar was popular, with a mixed clientele and a gentle buzz of relaxed conversations.

The staff were friendly welcoming and efficient - as almost all the reviews highlight.

One minor irritation we weren't told that some breakfast options are only available if ordered the night before. I don't understand why 12 hours notice is required for poached smoked haddock and poached egg but, if like me, it's your favourite get your order in early!

At £75 for the room and breakfast for two the Angel represented good value.

One minor grie.

Room Tip: Room one is very spacious, with a very comfortable and large bed. The bathroom is spacious but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed there whilst attending a local wedding. The staff were very accomodating dealing with our various requests, nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely, both in the evening and at breakfast. The hotel has a lovely charming feel to it, as does most of Halesworth. The location was great fro us, as it was a very short walk form the train station to The Angel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Angel Hotel is one of those rare places - olde worlde and unspoilt. The building is ancient but the facilites are great. Food is good, especially breakfast but best of all are the staff. They were so lovely on our 3 nights there and couldn't do enough for us. Happy, smiling, helpful people. A rare find in today's tourist Engand.

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar can be noisy until closing time. After that, it's fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halesworth
7.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
5.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
706 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
393 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
13.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Thoroughfare, Halesworth IP19 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halesworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel is a characterful town centre Inn offering 7 ensuite first floor bedrooms, a choice of bars and the popular Cleone's Italian Restaurant.Food is served all day from noon until 10.30pm with the Italian available between 12 and 2pm then from 6.30 to 9.00pm. Pizzas are available through until 10.30pm to eat in or take away.We can now also offer function facilities in our newly developed Stables building for private functions, meetings and dinners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing