We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant & welcoming market town inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halesworth
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant & welcoming market town inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed as a solo traveller on a 3 night break & The Angel lived up to my hopes. Good room, nice and quiet after licensing hours, very good freshly cooked breakfast. Friendly & helpful staff. All in all a good choice for a few days exploring Suffolk

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandChris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    50
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
43
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just dined passing through, but was impressed. Restaurant had a period feel to it, we sat in one of three dining areas. We had a dish of pasta with smoked trout and red peppers in a ginger butter sauce. Pasta twists were perfectly done and not greasy, and the trout had been well filleted. My partner's mixed salad was fresh and the olives were of surprisingly good quality.

The service was prompt and friendly and both ale (Adnams) and wine (Australian rose) good quality. So we tried the dessert, all of which were day specials, and home made.

My tiramisu was a good balance of flavours, light and creamy; my partner could swear that her raspberry and white chocolate cheesecake was made with fresh raspberry.

One possible improvement might be that our bar menu card had not been wiped; this might give the wrong impression to the more fastidious visitor. However the entire bar and eating area was spotless, and the WC clean. A very enjoyable visit to a restaurant that overall had made a big effort.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulhamGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel but ate there and the food was perfect! Compliments to the young lady on the bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I spent 3 nights here on business and found it to be welcoming and comfortable. I stayed in room 1 which was spacious and well appointed. Like other reviewers I found that the uneven floors, due to the age of the building, made walking around the room interesting. It is not a chain hotel, so at times the reception is not manned, but walking 10 metres into the bar area and speaking to the staff in there always obtained a positive response. The staff are friendly, local and relaxed in their manner. The Italian restaurant within the pub has a very good reputation locally and is very popular. Breakfast in the restaurant was freshly cooked and served by pleasant staff. The room all have access to free WiFi and parking is also free. All in all a pleasant stay in a locally owned and run pub/hotel. in a pleasant small town

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KempseyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our 2nd stay at this lovely old hotel, Good services and nice people who will make you very welcome. Excellent Italian restaurant ( need to book weekends ) Great beer and very good house wine. Stayed in 5 Simone and there was some noise but no big deal.
Great breakfast at sensible time. Treat yourselves, why not ?
If you dont mind a bit of driving use the tourist route instead of the A12 if travelling from the south.
Take the M 11 and the turn off for Newmarket and you will see the brown info guide that will take you to Yoxford via quiet country roads A 1120.

Room Tip: Rooms are all upstairs and some steps quite steep so if you able get the nearest for easy access. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davendiane095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Don't stay in room 5, you will receive an unexpected wake-up call whenever the people in the next room take a shower, in our case 5am! The noise from the shower/generator is deafening and you are not warned in advance. Other than that it's a friendly enough place with pricey but good food. 9 miles from Southwold.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are very sorry that your stay was affected in this way. We have finally got to the bottom of the problem - indeed with the shower pump for room 5 and are confident that it has now been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We like this hotel, the staff seem to enjoy working here, and the atmosphere is welcoming and professional. There is a good restaurant on site which we have reviewed seperately. The following niggles should be read in the context of the overall rating. We parked in the hotel car park at 15:30 (open air, behind the hotel), found someone in the bar to check us in and proceeded to our room. We booked at the last minute and the only room available was room 5, this is a small twin on the side of the hotel with a newly refurbished shower room/wc. The pull cord for the lights in the shower room was dark brown with dirt, which was disgusting. We were worried about noise overnight from the road beneath our window, but there was none. We set our alarm for 06:30, but we need not have bothered because the guest in room 4 decided to have a shower or a bath at 06:00, and it was so noisy they might as well have had it in our room. Breakfast was good, with hot food cooked to order rather than the usual hot buffet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halesworth
7.0 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
13.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Thoroughfare, Halesworth IP19 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halesworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel is a characterful town centre Inn offering 7 ensuite first floor bedrooms, a choice of bars and the popular Cleone's Italian Restaurant.Food is served all day from noon until 10.30pm with the Italian available between 12 and 2pm then from 6.30 to 9.00pm. Pizzas are available through until 10.30pm to eat in or take away.We can now also offer function facilities in our newly developed Stables building for private functions, meetings and dinners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing