We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Farm Cottages - Cratfield”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“School Farm Cottages - Cratfield”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our first stay at School Farm Cottages - fantastic, will be back again & would recommend to any family. We stayed in North Cottage with our two boys 11 & 13. The accomodation was excellent, well equiped kitchen, good heating, plenty of room for up to 6 people. Lovely comfy beds & spacious bedrooms. Although my boys are into computer games they spent most of their time in the games room which again is well equiped, warm & with excellent lighting.
Claire & David are very welcoming & always helpful. Arriving in the dark Saturday evening was not a problem as there is a well lit large sign at the entrance to the farm. The drive to the cottages is well lit & there were wonderful Chritmas lights. Our cottage even had a fully decorated Christmas tree! Harry enjoyed collecting a fresh egg for breakfast from the chicken run each morning. We had a very relaxing weekend & look forward to returning in the warmer weather when we can explore the area more.
Thankyou Claire & David for a great holiday experience.
The Beard Family

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kettering
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We booked a 3 night stay in September 2011 staying in Bell cottage and my sister, husband and son stayed in Swan cottage. The cottages are clean, comfortable and well equipped. The setting is beautiful, situated in a small village surrounded by fields. The cottages have a duck pond, play area for children along with hens, cows, a rabbit, cats and dogs. We stayed with our 19 month old daughter and she loved going to the hen house every morning to collect the eggs. The cottages are very child friendly and the owners very helpful and welcoming. The cottages are located approx 14miles from Southwold which is a beautiful, seaside resort. I would definately recommend these cottages for a relaxing, country break.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Now our third visit this year and still excellent with all need though of and excellent facilities

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterborough1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in Swan Cottage for 3 nights in August 2011. This is such an idyllic setting, with views over open countryside and the peaceful surroundings, fish pond, etc. The cottages are clean, comfortable, and all of your possible needs are catered for. Superb.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We have returned to School Farm cottages and the quality of the accomadtion remains to the highest standard each time. New Flat screen LCD Tele added this year with Freeview, and the kitchen is well equipped. We found that our kids can roam around safley with out any fears. The small pond kept Jim and myself amused trying to catch that big fish and in-addition with the school farm cottage grounds having plenty of room to run around and play football or cricket. (separate grassed football area) The games room is well equipped with full size table tennis table, and a free pool table which is a relaxing area for those older children who want some time to themselves . Liv finally got that the hang of table tennis and hit the ball.
The roads and traffic are light in the village with the local pub (Cratfield Poacher) selling Cask Ales (CAMARA) and lager just 2 mins walk and at good price for a pint. Forgett the sweets or need a paper Laxfield is just a 5min drive to a Co-op Store.
I would recommend School Farm Cottages for any family, if you want a relaxing and stress free break in quality accomadtion for a great price, and try the free range eggs they taste great. With Southwold in easy reach.

Room Tip: Give School Farm a ring or view there website for details
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inglis-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

It's the first time I've been to School Farm and I can say with assurance I'll be back and also recommending it to friends and family. The cottage was very well equipped, comfy sofas and beds, clean and had wonderful owners who show great hospitality to all. Nothing was too much trouble. If you want to have a great base to explore the awesome Suffolk countryside and coast then look no further! But if you also want to relax on a farm and stroll around the grounds or many local footpaths around the unspoiled countryside, collect your own fresh eggs for breakfast from the resident hens - this is the place for you. If you have children - there is a play area, football pitch, games room, bike hire etc . All in all a lovely week in a lovely place. Thanks David and Clare.

Room Tip: Swan cottage - one bedroom fantasic rural view comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The farm is a wonderfully peaceful country place to chill out and take a break from the city, with comfortable cottages that have a home from home feel. The friendly owners, David and Claire, couldn't be more accommodating.

It's a great location as a base to explore but also ideal simply to stay on site and enjoy either a quiet break or make use of the facilities like the games room.

I've had a holiday / break there a number of times, both on my own and with others... either way I've never been disappointed. It's a super place and I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam5902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halesworth
6.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
706 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
3.9 mi away
Sibton White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
238 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holly Tree House
Holly Tree House
#1 of 1 in Wingfield
135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hare Lodge Holidays
Hare Lodge Holidays
#1 of 2 in Peasenhall
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Farm Cottages

Property: School Farm Cottages
Address: School Farm Church Road | Cratfield, Halesworth, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Halesworth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four high quality (4 star) self catering cottages in a lovely rural setting in Suffolk, within easy reach of Suffolk's Sunrise Coast. Each cottage sleeps 2 - 4 (plus 2 if the sofa bed in each lounge is used) with full central heating, electricity and bed linen included in the price. With a secure garden, climbing frame, pets corner and games room (pool table and table tennis) as well as cycle hire and fishing we offer a family friendly getaway. Free WiFi is provided in all cottages, two of which are ground floor and wheelchair friendly. With all heating and hot water provided by our woodchip boiler, as well as lots of opportunities for car free days, we are doing what we can to offer a sustainable holiday destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School Farm Cottages Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing