We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chris and ray”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were searching for a fishing holiday not far from our home, when we came across School Farm Cottages. Whay a gem. The fishing was only steps away from the wonderful accomodation, the converted farm buildings. We had a time to remember in the countryside, a step back into an ideal place for our week away. Claire and David were so welcoming, we can't wait to return. We look at our photos often and we think about the best week we had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shayrric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Although only a very short break, we thoroughly enjoyed our first stay here, and hope to be back for a much longer stay. The cottage was lovely and clean, and very well equipped. We all enjoyed the games room, and collecting the eggs. The farm cat soon made itself at home with us, much to the delight of our girls. The farm walk provided was an ideal short walk for a Sunday afternoon, and the snippets of information about the farm and family made it very interesting. Claire and David were very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Have just returned from 3 nights in School Farm Cottages and celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary whilst there, it was a great choice, and we were so lucky to have found somewhere so perfect for us. We were greeted by Claire and David who took time to show us all parts of the farm and cottage, and advised us on places to visit and eat, the cottage was spotless and had everything you needed, a real home from home, with so much information about the local history and places to visit. Weather was amazing, and we were able to enjoy the lovely well kept gardens each day, and of course collect some eggs from the hens for our breakfast..... Thankyou

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

If you want to escape the grind of busy work/family life, then this is a great place to do it. We have been twice to School Farm cottages now and wished we had stayed for 2 weeks rather than one. The farm is lovely, the kids have a great play area to share and football pitch plus games room. The little ones ( and big ones) love collecting eggs in the morning. There are some lovely, friendly pubs nearby and lots of unspoilt beaches just over 10 miles away. What are you waiting for?!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinyshapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have just returned from our 4th stay at the cottages, this year there were 8...we stayed in the linked cottages, FAB for larger groups. Again we had a fantastic stay its a perfect location for getting around both Norfolk and Suffolk. The cottages had everything we needed and more, the games room was a big hit with the kids young and old.They already miss the chickens ,the 2 cats and the weather..!.


A big thanks to David and Claire for yet again helping us have a wonderful holiday. See you next year!.

Room Tip: If you are a larger group use the linked cottages they are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I think I may run out of superlatives but here goes...This is a perfect home from home with absolutely everything needed for either a short or long break.It is clean,comfortable,safe and quiet.We were given a wonderful welcome by Claire and David and we immediately felt at ease.Excellent,fantastic,beautiful,perfect -can't say anything negative apart from 6 days was not long enough!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just had a week with 3 kids (5, 3 and 6 months) at North Cottage. Accommodation is fine and clean. Baby slept in our room. The kitchen is compact but has everything you need. Wifi and digital tv are a bonus.
Gardens are very child friendly - kids loved looking for chicken eggs and playing on the climbing frames.
Owners are very nice - we accidentally melted a saucepan lid and they were very good about it.
Tesco delivered here (although they did struggle to find it a little!). Nearest shops are about 3 miles away - but pub nearby does good standard pub fayre with decent beer.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to School Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Farm Cottages

Address: School Farm Church Road | Cratfield, Halesworth, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Halesworth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four high quality (4 star) self catering cottages in a lovely rural setting in Suffolk, within easy reach of Suffolk's Sunrise Coast. Each cottage sleeps 2 - 4 (plus 2 if the sofa bed in each lounge is used) with full central heating, electricity and bed linen included in the price. With a secure garden, climbing frame, pets corner and games room (pool table and table tennis) as well as cycle hire and fishing we offer a family friendly getaway. Free WiFi is provided in all cottages, two of which are ground floor and wheelchair friendly. With all heating and hot water provided by our woodchip boiler, as well as lots of opportunities for car free days, we are doing what we can to offer a sustainable holiday destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School Farm Cottages Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing