We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have just spent my second weekend break in the North Cottage and it was as wonderful as I had remembered. The cottages are extremely comfortable and have a lovely cosy feel. They are immaculately clean and well presented and Claire, the host, ensures that they are well equipped with everything you need to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The farm surroundings and rural location make it an idyllic break away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We were participating in a weekend course which was held in the conference centre/games room which is a very bright and light space with all the equipment required. Lovely country walks on the doorstep and many ore places to see and visit just a short drive away. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for such positive comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while taking part in the residential course we were hosting, and were also able to relax in the cottage and enjoy the countryside too. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable cottage in a lovely location. The children loved collecting the eggs in the morning and playing with Muffin the cat. Lots to do in the area; Aldborough, Southworld, RSPB Minsmere. Lovely pub lunch at The Ship in Dunwich and a day at Sutton Hoo. Our 6 and 8 year olds had a brilliant time and we will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you and the children enjoyed yourselves here at half term. There is so much to do in Suffolk so we're glad you're thinking of returning to explore more of what our beautiful county has to offer. We very much hope to see you at School Farm again some time soon - I'm sure Muffin will enjoy some more fuss and attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The cottages are well equipped, practical & overall very cosy, great attention to detail - The games room was a big hit with our kids - brilliant !
The family although missed the typical farm animals like the rabbits, sheep etc..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolfarmcottages, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Christmas. Sorry you were only able to see the cows, horses and chickens - we buy in week old lambs to bottle feed in early March, and our poor old rabbits died of old age in the Autumn but we will be getting some more in the Spring. So glad your children enjoyed the games room. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had a nice stay in the farm and did lots of interesting things. It's a perfect place if you want your children to make friends and, at the same time, have some cultural or nature-related activities. Being from Spain, we couldn't have chosen a better place for them.
People in Cratfield are very kind. The Poacher is worth a visit -or two-, as well as the gorgeous surrounding fields, full of gold shining wheat, and beautiful greens. We enjoyed the nearby coast but walking around Cratfield was fantastic.
Claire and David were very nice and helpful, so calm and patient, sharing their own food on our first night, after a long journey from Spain; thank you.
The cottages are very well equipped and, needless to say, absolutely clean.
The garden is wonderful. There's nothing like having a coffee in the morning, watching your children anxiously lifting the henhouse door to collect some fresh eggs. A great experience for our kids. Nice neighbours. Eve, Aidan, Isabella, Amelie and family. We hope to see you again.
We will definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolfarmcottages, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you chose School Farm for your holiday and enjoyed exploring the Suffolk countryside. We are very fortunate to live here and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests from overseas. So glad your children enjoyed the garden and collecting the eggs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a brilliant stay with our 2 1/2 year old and 6 month old baby. Lots of friendly animals, particularly Muffin the cat, and delicious eggs and blackberries. We did 2 of the suggested short walks which were great and had a lovely day out in Southwold. Claire and David made us feel very welcome and we'd love to come back!

Room Tip: The backdoor on North Cottage looks out on the chickens and leads straight into enclosed garden (per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAISY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolfarmcottages, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We very much appreciate your positive feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our fifth visit here and yet again find it perfect. Accommodation very well equipped with games room and small pond for fishing. Chickens still laying their eggs to collect. Good location for us to visit Southwold and the nearby coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterborough1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolfarmcottages, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much. It's wonderful to get these great reviews - and even nicer when people keep coming back again! We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was our second visit to the same cottage. I was so excited to be in the beautiful cottage and surroundings. The owners, Claire and David had worked so hard landscaping the gardens. They are absolutely wonderful. We left the cottage at the end of the week feeling so happy. Claire and David make all their guests feel special. This must be the best place you can stay for a self - catering break. You will find so much to do in the surrounding area, but just being on the farm will be the best part of your holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shayrric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolfarmcottages, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I am so lucky with the people who choose to come and stay here. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halesworth
6.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.1 mi away
Valley Farmhouse B&B
Valley Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Westhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.2 mi away
Weybread Lakes Log Cabin Holidays
4.5 mi away
Hare Lodge Holidays
Hare Lodge Holidays
#1 of 2 in Peasenhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Farm Cottages

Property: School Farm Cottages
Address: Church Road | Cratfield, Halesworth, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Halesworth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four high quality (4 star) self catering cottages in a lovely rural setting in Suffolk, within easy reach of Suffolk's Sunrise Coast. Each cottage sleeps 2 - 4 (plus 2 if the sofa bed in each lounge is used) with full central heating, electricity and bed linen included in the price. With a secure garden, climbing frame, pets corner and games room (pool table and table tennis) as well as cycle hire and fishing we offer a family friendly getaway. Free WiFi is provided in all cottages, two of which are ground floor and wheelchair friendly. With all heating and hot water provided by our woodchip boiler, as well as lots of opportunities for car free days, we are doing what we can to offer a sustainable holiday destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School Farm Cottages Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing