We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheee37 Middlesex” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of School Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halesworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
School Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Sheee37 Middlesex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked this at the very last moment and were not disappointed. Swan Cottage was in an excellent location, spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped and was bright, sunny, warm and had lovely views.A welcome pack was provided. We hired bicycles from the farm for a (short) ride around the quiet, empty lanes which suited us oldies and proved we could still ride a bike ! The hens were accommodating laying us eggs each day .
Claire and David were wonderful welcoming hosts and helpful with not only bike saddles (!) but gave advice on the best local hostelries and anything else.
We were lucky to stay an extra day and cannot recommend School Farm highly enough.
The only downside was ........... we had to come home !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy to take last minute bookings and we are so glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed getting out and about on the bikes. We were very impressed! The country lanes around the village and local area are ideal for cyclists and what better way to see the beautiful countryside and hear the birds. We were very pleased that you were also able to extend your stay once you were here and make the most of exploring the area. We hope you are able to come and visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently returned to School Farm Cottages with family, renting three cottages between us for a week, and had a marvellous time. Great accomodation, spotlessly clean, with a warm and attentive welcome - who could ask for more from a family holiday? The kids enjoyed visiting the horses, lambs, rabbits and ducks, and collecting the free eggs. The owners even kindly sent us back the doll who got left behind in a duvet cover!

We also had two great lunches at the nearby Huntingfield Arms, as well as a lovely visit to Banham Zoo. Both are recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraM_Watford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It's always good to hear that the whole family have enjoyed their holiday. Staying at our cottages works particularly well for large family groups like yourselves renting several of the cottages at once, that way you can all be together but return to your own cottage when you want some time to yourselves. Once again we are pleased to hear that the younger ones enjoyed meeting the animals. We would love to welcome you all back to School Farm again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We returned to School Farm after 4 years and were not disappointed! The cottage is wonderful so clean and has everything needed, and very comfortable too. The farm and gardens are so well kept and tended on a daily basis. We will not leave it another 4 years before we return had a great week and can't wait to go back Many thanks to Claire and David for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanksy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much. It is always nice to read these wonderful comments that show that our guests appreciate how clean, comfortable and well-equipped our cottages are. It was lovely to have you stay with us again and we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. A return visit really does mean a lot to us and we would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Staying at School Farm is like stepping back in time; a return to old world charm and a slower pace of life, with the added bonus of a fun, safe environment for children ... and grown-up kids like my husband and me!

It is a working farm so the owners, Claire and David, obviously work really hard. However, they manage to make it look like everything happens by waving a magic wand, due to their calm, friendly, unobtrusive approach to managing the holiday homes. They are delightful people and nothing is too much trouble.

There is so much to see right on your doorstep, and the peaceful atmosphere makes it impossible NOT to relax. Lovely local walks, patchwork fields, woodland footpaths, pretty little church and chocolate box houses. Not far from the coast either, so you can have the best of ALL worlds if you wish; smashing, sandy beaches at Southwold and Walberswick, quirky, picturesque Thorpeness and the historical splendour and stunning views at Framlingham Castle (a must for amateur photographers).

Local people are friendly, happy to pass the time of day whilst out walking their dogs or partaking of a beverage at The Cratfield Poacher. Said public house is perfect for those of us who love a proper, English pub (as opposed to a gastro-pub) that serves a warm welcome, a variety of local beer and ale, and delicious, inexpensive food. On the right night, impromptu guitar playing and singing is positively encouraged by the management and there are regular live music and jam nights. In this little corner of England, you’re treated like a temporary member of the community rather than an outsider, and get to sample a taste of village life rather than merely observing.

We regularly ventured into Laxfield and Halesworth for supplies (both worth a visit, even though essential as there is no store in Cratfield itself), but spent the majority of the week in and around the farm, busy doing nothing! We had reached near burnout before arriving, so particularly enjoyed relaxing in the garden, watching the rabbits playing in their run, the ducks hanging out with the chickens after a downpour, and the variety of birds doing what they do in springtime; especially the doves a-billin’-an’-cooin’. One afternoon, I witnessed an impromptu aeronautic display; two biplanes flying upside down in formation and looping the loop; exciting stuff that my husband managed to sleep through, much to his chagrin. Evenings in the garden were also a treat; bats at twilight and later, star and planet gazing by the light of a full, Suffolk moon.

We missed our cat, so were delighted to temporarily adopt one of the farm cats, Muffin, who loves people as much as we love cats. Timmy, a proper farm cat, is also very entertaining when he’s able to take time out from his farm duties to say, “Hello”. The fish in the big pond are amazing to watch when they come to the surface to bask in the sunshine. There are a number of beautiful horses, also just paces from your front door. In fact, so many animals presented themselves to us that we didn’t get around to visiting the Suffolk Punch horse and the sheep and cows in the barn, even though they weren't far away. Maybe next time!

Being my third stay at School Farm, it felt like coming home. Very little had changed, including the high standard of comfort and cleanliness. One new addition, however, the pagoda, came in very handy during those typically English showers, as my husband and I are smokers. I had chosen Silverleys again this time around as it’s perfect for a romantic break. Earlier stays, about a decade or so ago, with my two daughters (then under 16) were at Silverleys, then North Cottage. Both are warm and extremely comfortable, with well-stocked kitchen cupboards for those who love to cook. If my own home were as immaculately clean and well designed, I could describe them as ‘home-from-home’, but ‘homely with a touch of luxury’ is a better description. As an avid environmentalist, I particularly like the refuse recycling policy; in fact, I was encouraged to adopt it myself after my first visit and have continued ever since.

I have waxed lyrical over the years to everyone I know about School Farm and am delighted to be able to post a glowing review.

Room Tip: North Cottage is a two storey cottage, great for families and those who like a big kitchen/diner for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyWilhoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you very much indeed! What a thoroughly lovely description of your week's holiday with us. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate your detailed review and hope it gives a real flavour of the place to future potential guests. I feel I must just put the record straight that we don't actually own a Suffolk punch horse though! We do have the other two members of the Suffolk Trilogy, the traditional Suffolk breeds, with our Red Poll cattle and Suffolk sheep. Our fathers and grandfathers used to work farms with Suffolk Punches but sadly these days they are a rare sight. I like your description of our cottages as 'homely with a touch of luxury' - we like our guests to feel at home and also a teeny bit spoilt. Thank you too for mentioning our recycling policy; we do take our environmental responsibility seriously especially as we are fortunate enough to live surrounded by such lovely countryside. We would be very pleased to welcome you back to School Farm one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely few days at School Farm Cottages. The owners, Claire and David, were so friendly and accommodating, providing everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Lovely little touches like leaving some eggs, milk, orange juice and biscuits when we arrived plus lots of information about things to do and places to go in the area. Our little boy loved feeding the lambs and collecting eggs from the hens. The cottage opened out onto a lovely big enclosed garden and there is a great games room with a pool table and table tennis. We went on a lovely walk in the very pretty surrounding countryside and spent another day in Southwold. We would highly recommend School Farm Cottages.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_RNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We're pleased you enjoyed staying with us and took the opportunity to get out and about in the countryside and explore the area a little. We are very fortunate to have some lovely walks right on our doorstep and Suffolk does look particularly beautiful in May. Many of our guests visit Southwold - the charm of this quintessential British seaside town never fails to works its magic on visitors and locals alike! We hope you'll return to Suffolk and stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here with my 4 year old son. We had a wonderful time feeding the lambs and collecting freshly laid eggs every morning. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The accomodation was lovely and clean. Set in beautiful surroundings, this is one place we will definitely be visiting again. Thank you so much. Sam and Zach x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberlena21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you. Another comment on how lovely and clean the cottages are. I am very fortunate to have a lovely lady with the same high standards as I have who helps me keep the cottages immaculate, as well as some extra help outside to keep the grounds neat and tidy. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us - we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing break away this is worth considering. Our cottage was lovely and welcoming, clean and very well quipped. Great if you have children as there is a large secure grassed area behind the cottages for children to investigate and play safely allowing you to relax yourselves! Collecting eggs for breakfast was a novelty as was feeding the lambs. Owners were very welcoming and accommodating. Weavers tea room which was recommended in a village nearby is definitely worth a visit too! C

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheggs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireSillett, Owner at School Farm Cottages, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We love to hear that our young guests have enjoyed their holidays here - because that usually means that Mum and Dad have been able to relax too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halesworth
6.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
7.1 mi away
Valley Farmhouse B&B
Valley Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Westhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.9 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sibton White Horse Inn
4.5 mi away
Hare Lodge Holidays
Hare Lodge Holidays
#1 of 2 in Peasenhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.2 mi away
Weybread Lakes Log Cabin Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Farm Cottages

Property: School Farm Cottages
Address: Church Road | Cratfield, Halesworth, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Halesworth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four high quality (4 star) self catering cottages in a lovely rural setting in Suffolk, within easy reach of Suffolk's Sunrise Coast. Each cottage sleeps 2 - 4 (plus 2 if the sofa bed in each lounge is used) with full central heating, electricity and bed linen included in the price. With a secure garden, climbing frame, pets corner and games room (pool table and table tennis) as well as cycle hire and fishing we offer a family friendly getaway. Free WiFi is provided in all cottages, two of which are ground floor and wheelchair friendly. With all heating and hot water provided by our woodchip boiler, as well as lots of opportunities for car free days, we are doing what we can to offer a sustainable holiday destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School Farm Cottages Halesworth, UK - Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing