We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Razlog
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A jewel indeed!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel has it all - nice clean rooms, quiet area around the hotel, magnificent view to Pirin mountain and good service. Also, prices during summer months are really cheap - we paid 25EUR for a one-bedroom appartment!

It`s located between Bansko and Razlog so if you don`t have own transport it would be difficult for you. But if you do - you have all you need - a nice outside swimming pool - water was a bit too cold, but seemed clean to me. If you are travelling with children, you got many options for their entertainment (outside and inside). They got table tennis, billiard, etc.
Rooms are just perfect - everything you can think of - it`s there - iron, hair-dryer, kitchen equipment and appliances, etc. You have a fireplace, which should be really great during winter days.

The flaws I can think of are the transport issue some may have (we went there with cars so were fine). Also, prices in the restaurant were a bit too expensive.

For eating out, I would highly recommend "Banski Han" in Bansko - I`ve been there several times and I totally love it! Great food and great service!

If you are into mountain trekking, Pirin is the place to go!

Overall, highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Pirin mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
This kind of appreciation is the perfect reward for the extra work and energy the whole team put into the Jewel! Serving our customers well and providing good value for money throughout the whole year is at an utmost importance for us. You rightly pointed out that it will be a comfort for the guests to have a car. However, for those who do not have, we provide a scheduled shuttle bus to Razlog, Bansko and the Pirin Golf Club free of charge. We can also organize various excursions with transport included and taxi services for the evenings. Regarding the restaurant issue we will immediately look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    72
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
100
75
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Before visiting а hotel in Bansko, we stayed in Balkan jewel. It’s a nice hotel not far away from the town, about 20 minutes by car.
My first good impression of the hotel was made by the front desk girl. We got in late, but yet she was very friendly.
We didn’t eat at the restaurant, but the staff was still polite. It’s a good place to stay with kids, there is a small pool for the little ones, a playground and a lot of space…
The room was clean and comfortable, not so spacy though. I guess, the room you get depends on what kind of vacation you make, or how long you stay. There is all you need for a good stay – a fridge, a cooking range, even a clothes-horse…
In the summer, if the weather is nice, you can enjoy the one outdoor swimming pool.
We had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mese4inka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We really appreciate your words and look forward to see you back here.
Thank you kindly for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlad, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed one night with family on return from Greece. The area is quiet but there are many unfinished construction and looks untidy. The hotel is very nice and well maintained. There is a nice pool and clean. The room is very large, clean and well equipped. The included and access to spa and fitness facilities. You must make an appointment at reception. Breakfast is choice of 4-5 options but is very good. In the restaurant we found a varied menu and good. Prices are good. Try Bulgarian cuisine. The staff is professional and friendly. Wifi network is poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the same building as the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liviu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you so much for all the positive comments about the Balkan Jewel.
We are presently upgrading the wifi which is offered free to our guests, and apologise for any inconvenience. We have no doubt that you will have good use of our wifi product , should you decide to return to the Jewel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, everything is awesome. Had a trip for weekend, to have travel through Balkans. Didn't know where to stay for the night. Apparently found this hotel and was surprised by room thet I got for this price. Restaraunt is also very good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Providing good value for money and keeping our customers satisfied is our top priority.
Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family- 2 boys and wifey and moi stayed at this magnificent resort from June 21 to 28. And what a surprise it has been for me !! At the outset, I was a little apprehensive with the exchange I received through Int International, but reaching the hotel and attaining the superlative service, I was absolutely delighted. I would like to start thanking all the front desks/ tour reps- Lidiya, Katya, Tony- Pretty girls, prettier service :) Lidiya specially took time and provided useful tips and intelligent insight to various attractions, eateries etc.All the staff albeit not able to communicate were willing to go out of the way to help...very friendly and nice!! There are many places to visit- Bansko, Doberinshte, Rila Monastery. We took trips to Thessaloniki, Kavala and Thassos with a night stay in Thassos. We also witnessed a a wedding firework on June 21...it was like celebrating our 4th of July in advance:) I do see from the reviews that it was Yoana and Petar Kemalov's wedding...well congrats guys, it was an excellent choice you had for the venue!! And I enjoyed it from the balcony overlooking the Pirin range with my cognac :)) And what fantastic weather we had. There are many good tarvers to eat and I would highly recommend Turkish Bath in Razlog and Makedonska krachma in Doberinshte...great food. Folks try the traditional grape liquor. And how can I not mention my visit to Melnik winery. I would advise everyone visiting the resort to make a trip to the winery. Aplauz- Syrah(Shiraz) (my favourite), Selected 2009, Bergule-Syrah and viognier are absolutely one of the best reds that I have tasted. I was ever provided with a special after hours tour by the owner ( Thank you Nichola), who was so gracious to accommodate me after getting lost and reaching a bit late! I am going to try my darndest to get these wines to the US market. Few things which we found amiss, and which could make this resort even better- Microwave, dishwashers in the units, and need for a bigger second bathroom. I look forward to returning to this area and seeking new places and meeting people.

Room Tip: Any room in Ruby building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSaharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
This kind of positive feedback motivates the whole team and makes us proud that we are responsible for such a high level of customer satisfaction. Balkan Jewel is located in a region with astonishing nature, which also offers variety of entertainments and we do advice all our clients to experience as much as they can during their stay. Our heritage plays a major part of the Bulgarian identity and we are honoured when our guests have nothing but praise for our way of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overall the resort is very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They were very knowledgeable about activities, walking and places to visit. The only downside is the Bulgarian highway system, some roads were closed totally for repairs while others were in a state of being repaired leaving large holes in the road awaiting the next gang of men to do their job of filling them. If you want to see the beautiful countryside you need a car, although you could do various organized trips from the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the Balkan Jewel and the staff. To make the most of the stay for all our guests we provide full information and give advice on interesting activities and excursions in the region. Regarding the Bulgarian road infrastructure we have come a long away in the past 10 years but still have a way to go. We will be glad to welcome you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We organized our wedding at the lovely Balkan Jewel Resort on June 21, 2014. There are moments in life which are always remembered - and for sure the wedding is among them! In addition, it is more than clear that planning such an event with some 100 people attending is really difficult and time consuming.

Below you can see the result:

Everyone at the Balkan Jewel was absolutely brilliant - the hotel marketing team, the reception desk, the restaurant, the housekeeping and maintenance personnel! Special thanks to Gergana and Zlatka, the marketing managers - you have been always close to us during the whole preparation! Many thanks for having done your best to satisfy all our requirements! Thanks a lot for being always so involved, polite and helpful!

Warm thanks to Maria, her husband and the whole restaurant team - the weather did not allow us to make the whole celebration outside. Nevertheless, we all had our plan B and succeeded in placing and arranging the tables inside! Maria, all wedding meals were delicious and amazing! The welcome drink in front of the restaurant was perfectly organized! Special thanks to all waitresses and waiters at the restaurant - girls and boys, the restaurant must be proud of you!

The atmosphere at the Balkan Jewel and the nature outside is a pure magic! Apartments are big enough and all our guests had magnificent views from their balconies to the Pirin Mountain and the lovely golf course!
Thanks again to everyone at the Balkan Jewel! Dear friends, you made our most important day really unforgettable!
We felt like at home from the beginning to the end of our stay!
We will definitely recommend the resort to all our friends and colleagues! And if you are planning a wedding in the region - the Balkan Jewel is the right place for sure!
Hope to see you soon :)

Best regards,
Yoana and Petar

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkan J, Manager at Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
The Balkan Jewel team would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you both in exchanging your vows, and wish you an adventurous life together.
We are all proud to have played a small part of the most memorable occasion of your lives .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Razlog
4.0 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
276 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
3.6 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Murite Club Hotel
Murite Club Hotel
#3 of 10 in Razlog
237 reviews
4.3 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa

Property: Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 62, area Betolovoto, Razlog 2760, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Razlog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Razlog
#1 Luxury Hotel in Razlog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the views of the spectacular, natural, tranquil beauty of The Pirin, Rila & Rhodopes Mountains and the Pirin Golf Course. A UNESCO World Heritage environment. As soon as you set foot in The Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, you will feel relaxed, at ease and cared for by our warm, friendly staff. The all year round Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa, offers well-appointed, comfortable, studios, or 1 & 2 bedroom apartments All apartments come with a bathroom including toiletries and are equipped with flat screen cable TV’s, DVD players, telephones, irons, hairdryers and free wireless internet. The apartments have spacious living rooms with equipped kitchens, sofa bed or bedrooms. Most apartments have a balcony traditional wood burning fireplace and a balcony and are available upon request. We also offer room service. The free wellness and spa centre facilities consisting of a fitness room, 2 indoor pools, saunas, steam room, Jacuzzi and relaxation area, also offers a full range of deep relaxation, beauty and aroma massages as well as treatments for couples, wellness, anti aging, body toning, weight loss and rejuvenation treatments including a solarium. There is also a seasonal outdoor pool, We also have a free games room including amongst other things a pool table, and ping pong table and indoor and outdoor children’s play areas, a Wendy house and a kids club. Guests love to make use of the DVD & book libraries, Offering European cuisine , the traditional intimate chalet inspired restaurant is equally comfortable for morning coffee, breakfast, lunch, a snack, dinner or evening party and guests love to relax by the a cozy blazing open fireplace in the winter The Mountain View lobby bar is a great place to relax after skiing in the winter or outdoor adventures, horse riding, biking or hiking in the spring and summer and offers a large selection of drinks and a comfortable atmosphere. Free scheduled shuttle services is are provided to the ski Gondola and Bansko center in the winter season and Bansko, Razlog & The Pirin Golf course in the spring and summer. Car rental, bike hire, ski equipment are available and Free public parking. Conference facilities are available and we offer a free event management service The Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa. Your home from home ,where your comfort is our pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkan Jewel Hotel Razlog
Balkan Jewel Resort & Spa Bulgaria/Razlog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing