We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Valentines Adventure”
Review of Cabanas Balamjuyuc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas Balamjuyuc
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Valentines Adventure”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

If you're after a week filled with simple living, yoga, beautiful beaches, delicious food and incredible people we recommend a trip to Mazunte! Emiliano showed us the ropes... the village, the whales, the best place to watch the sunsets, the natural jacuzzis and the turtle sanctuary. We took a boat to watch the dolphins, across the lagoon to croc watch and enjoyed Balamjuyuc's breakfasts of hot cakes, fruit and yoghurt. Our cabana had spectacular views of the sunrise and we experienced our first steam tent the evening we arrived. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    20
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
26
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed in Cabanas Balamjuyuc for a week and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a cabana with the most wonderful view - the rooms are basic - queen beds with mozzie nets and table and fan. As we had a balcony we also had some outside mattresses which were great! We had breakfast included which we really enjoyed (lots of fruit and hot cakes were great!). The bathrooms are shared, there were two toilets and two shower rooms which were basic.

Emiliano made us very welcome and spent time telling us about the culture and taking us to some hidden gems in Mazunte!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Las Cabanas Balamjuyuc is situated at the best spot in Mazunte.
The view is so wonderful and its pure bliss to sit in a hamac in front of this dreamy landscape. Just have to go down the stairs and you are at the beach...
Emiliano and his team are very warm people and Emiliano is a very interesting person to speak with, he has a great philosophy, a big heart and a lot of stories to tell you.
He is a great massage therapist and he organizes temascal rituals. It's an absolute must!
The Temascal was such an intense and constructive experience for me, physically and spiritually.
I will never forget this paradise!
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cameleonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

It was my first time in Mazunte and traveling alone too.
I have been welcomed at Mazunte as in my own family.
This is a place where you will find simplicity, authenticity, culture and one of the best views of Mazunte. It is nice to be outside of the loud village, during the high season bars are blasting,
Balañjuyuc is next to the Sacred Punta Cometa and is 5 minutes walk from 2 beaches.
I rented a little house with a kitchen and later a cabana (I extended my stay as I was having such a nice time). The dogs are loving and friendly.
The lady working there and her son are amazing people, they showed me the local plants that have healing properties,
Emiliano te ownerm, organises Temaxcal (traditionnal sweatlodge) once a week more or less.
This place is cute and rustic at the same time.
If you are a the type to travel with your hand sanitizer, expect to have AC and no bugs, I would recommend something else....
But if you like a family vibe, with very interesting people, who have knowledge about the traditions, go for it, they will open their heart to you!
This place is always busy, and you get to meet people from all over the country.
Private stairway to the beach!
Heaven.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Las Cabaña Balamjuyuc are suitated on top of a hill with a stunning view over the beach of Mazunte and the sea! You can watch an amzing sunrise in the morning with the sun rising over the ocean, during the day just enjoy the silence and peacfulness of this place! Visitors to the cabañas are very likely to change their travel plans and stay here for much longer than they intended to when they arrived, the atmosphere here just soaks you in and you dont want to leave any more. There is a restaurant where they serve breakfast and in the eveing the owner sometimes cooks a delicious dinner! I would definitely recommened this place even though it is a bit of a walk up the hill, but so worth it!! Let Emiliano know, when you arrive and if he has time, he will pick up, so you dont have to carry the heavy backpacks up the hill!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This place is beautiful, with a view of the sea, a great place to lounge around in hammocks, and beautiful folliage and pathways. There is even access to WiFi. But even more than all this, the owner is warm, welcoming, intelligent, and funny! We had no reservations, and there was no room available when we arrived, but the owner went out of his way to put us in tents that he set up, one per person, for the first night until a room was available. I went with my adult son and some fellow travelers, and we were all very happy with the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

amazing view
beautiful people
incredible beaches
fish, sun, sea, mezcal

is all you need to be happy

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anatrincao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.2 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
OceanoMar
OceanoMar
#2 of 6 in Mazunte
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altamira
Altamira
#6 of 6 in Mazunte
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mermejita
Casa Mermejita
#3 of 14 in Mazunte
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Balamjuyuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Balamjuyuc

Property: Cabanas Balamjuyuc
Address: Camino a la punta cometa | Esquina Callejon de Todos Los Santos, Mazunte 70946, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamjuyuc is a hostel with the more amazing ocean view in all Oaxaca coast, surrounded by a tropical garden were the birds chant and if you awake early you can see the sunrise on the ocean making it an almost mystical experience breakfast and dinner is made whit love and patience to the spa service with massages and Temaxcal (traditional sauna from the Mexican ancient) there is a different places in Mazunte were combine the eco turism and the comfortables days with a good budget Balamjuyuc is your home in the paradise and you are more to a guest you are the our friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cabanas Balamjuyuc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Balamjuyuc Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing