We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ZOA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ZOA Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've been coming to Mazunte for several years. I stayed at Zoa for the first time during the new years holiday and it was amazing. The place is absolutely stunning: the breathtaking view of the ocean, amazing infinity pool, beautiful rooms, great service, private beach and every details of this place is carefully thought out.

If you like quietness, privacy, and truly appreciates aesthetics and good service, this is the place for you.

The hosts Adriana and Paco are lovely people and they took a great care of me and my girlfriend. It was one of the best vacations we ever had. We're definitely coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jileetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    10
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
79
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I travel a lot and this small luxury hotel has been a fantastic discovery. A spectacular location, amazing facilities and an incredible staff make ZOA a must destination for pleasure seekers. It is impossible not to relax and let the staff indulge you with first class food and cocktails. It really was one of my best vacation experiences ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripulante_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

If you want to spend tranquile fancy vacation do not hestitate to escape to this wonderful place. We spent four days whatching the most amazing view, eating delicious gourmet food and tasting local artesanal mezcal. We even saw a whale from the infinity that stands on top of the cliff where Zoa is built. If you want to escape with a small group of friends or your significant other this is the place to visit.
Rooms are spacious and lovely. We loved the tub in our room it so architectural and it has also a spectaclar view.
Lookin forward to visit Zoa this year again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a massage with a view or a private movie watching under the stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marielosrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Amazing rooms, superb food and even better spa center. I couldn't get enough of Zoa. I stayed almost a week and enjoyed the whole place. Beautiful rooms with exceptional service. 100% recommended. Personally I would go there once a month.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have been to Mazunte a couple of times before and stayed in other hotels, which by Mazuntes standards are very good. This time we spend a weekend in Zoa, and were surprised by the high standard and overall concept of this small hotel. Zoa can easily be cassified as a Small Luxury Hotel and a Boutique Hotel at the same time. Zoa is well above Mazuntes expected standard, but not loosing the tranquil and relax feeling of this magical part of Mexico.
The view is just spectacular, the hotel layout on the slope af a mountain is performed in a very clean and aesthetical way.
There are some stairs required to move around, which only helps to appreciate the whole concept much more.
Food is excelent, but not cheap.
When going back to Mazunte, we will choose Zoa again, no doubt.

Room Tip: Room 1 has tehe best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlixcoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Wow, what a special place. Zoa hotel really does seem like a secret and I am so glad I got to enjoy it. There are only a couple rooms and this exclusivity truly allows you to feel like you are getting an exceptional and unique experience. The food is quite sumptuous, they really take the time to source out the freshest ingredients. The owners take the time and effort to ensure that everything runs smoothly and everyone is pleased. You must try a mescal with jamaica ( hibiscus) by the infinity pool!! The beach is close by and be sure to check out all the little towns near by. This would be a great place for lovers/honeymooners. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnanasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuetzalan del Progreso, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were staying in Casa Pan de Miel which is the hotel next door and we have heard that Zoa's restaruant was very good so we tried it.
Food is not bad but not spectacular as it could be for the price they charge, they prepare some interesting plates but we were very disappointed when we ask for a "filete de pescado a la talla" (fish cook a la talla style) and we received something that was not bad, neither deliciuos but NOTHING to do with the very special and tradicional recepie of "a la talla" that is an speciallity of that part of the mexican coast.
Deppending the season you can find different options for lunch or dinner, in October there are certainly not a lot but we wouls suggest you to look for places in Zipolite (a beach near by) or to walk little bit more to Mazunte to find where to eat.
We dont hesitate in paying expensive food when it is deserved but Zoa's for our taste was simply overpriced.
We must say also that the service is good and the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.4 mi away
El copal
El copal
#5 of 6 in Mazunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
OceanoMar
OceanoMar
#2 of 6 in Mazunte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
4.3 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 9 in Puerto Angel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZOA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZOA Hotel

Property: ZOA Hotel
Address: Cerrada de Museo de la Tortuga s/n | Playa Mazunte, Mazunte 70946, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — ZOA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of a small mountain in Playa Mazunte, ZOA Hotel combines the seduction of Oaxaca's bohemian coast with the inspiration of contemporary Mexican architecture. In a relaxed but elegant atmosphere, ZOA spaces offer absolute tranquility and privacy with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your ZOA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ZOA Hotel Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing