We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Mazunte escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Mermejita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Mermejita
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely Mazunte escape”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I spent 6 days at Casa Mermejita in February with my boyfriend and we stayed in the Triangle and Oval rooms which were both beautiful (the triangle was slightly cooler thanks to a sea breeze: It's elevated and is best to sleep with the balcony doors wide open for the incredible view over the ocean).

The architecture is gorgeous and designed by owner Jorge who is into classic British brutalist style with a bohemian, rustic twist.


Pros:
Each room is beautifully designed and tranquil.

Gorgeous sea views from all bedrooms. The sunsets are incredible.

Rooms were cleaned every day and breakfast was served whenever we got up (fruit and toast with coffee and squeezed juice, a few pesos extra for eggs/pancakes/other requests).

Wifi is fast (for Mexico) and available all throughout the rooms, breakfast and open areas

The staff at Casa Mermejita are polite, respectful and helpful. Service is laidback so it's not like there's a strict 8am-10am breakfast window, or cleaning schedule: they worked around us.

Bobby the dog is super sweet too :)


You should know:
There are a lot of steps up to Casa Mermejita. It didn't really bother us though, just might be a problem for people with mobility issues..

Despite the beautiful bathrooms (amazing tub in oval room) there is no hot water (which is common, most hotels in the area don't). My boyfriend had a couple of health issues while we were there (nothing serious) and needed access to hot water and medical supplies, this was a little difficult but Jorge did everything he could to help us and was very kind.

Mosquitoes were kind of an issue at night (the nets over the beds could have been longer/upgraded) but it was mostly fine.

Mazunte is a sleepy, hippie town, so it's nice to have a car to try other restaurants and beaches further up the coast.



Overall a really fantastic rural retreat, we both work hard and this was the perfect escape we needed, super romantic and relaxing. Thanks to everyone at Casa Mermejita, will remember this forever :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    16
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place! Truly spectacular views, with a lovely, quiet atmosphere. The owner is also the architect and has created the place with love. It's spacious, clean and has a more sophisticated feel than other places in Mazunte. We were met by the very friendly owner, who suggested a great place to eat, and even gave us a lift into town. It's a 5 minute walk from the centre, and there are some steep steps but the views of the stunning beach and the sense of peace make it well worth the effort.

Every cabana room has been carefully and individually designed and has its own decking area. Spacious, with their own bathrooms, free wifi, and a beautiful open shared deck, it's a great place to come and enjoy the beautiful Pacific beaches of Mexico.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Manzalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Linton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Casa Mermejita stood out from every other place I visited (and I visited quite a few) when looking for somewhere to stay in Mazunte/Mermejita recently. It's most striking feature is the beautiful architecture. Care and love and a sensitivity to the effect of space, shape and colour have gone into every aspect of the design, creating a luxurious, expansive feel that is at the same time very rustic and close to nature. The staff are friendly and respectful; there is a dalmatian pup to play with; and the view is, well, pretty much perfect. I spent four exquisite days relaxing, writing, meditating and practicing yoga here and felt like I could have stayed four years. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amongthewilddeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is really original and unique. I went with 4 more friends and stayed in the circular and square rooms.
The space is nice and the view is amazing. It was all really clean and the staff was really nice.
The downside is we were there while tropical storm "Manuel" was entering Mexico... so it was really raining and the 150 stairs to the hotel were a challenge... but it was a great experience! I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Circular room has an outside bathroom- great if you want to live the whole "natural" exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alejandra r, Gerente at Casa Mermejita, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Karla house hotel name mermejita want to thank you for your comments and happy to see you in the next time, as all are welcome. Sure to be located on a hill have the best views, but you must climb it.

- But really worth it?
Thanks
Alejandra Quetzal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My sister and I stayed in the Oval house for 2 days in October and I have to say the view was MAGNIFICANT! A little on the rustic side which is what we were looking for..not your typical resort with tooo many people around you. The room was well appointed. The pool felt wonderful after long walks back and forth into town...very refreshing with a great view and so quiet!!
We happened to be the only ones there which made it even more relaxing. Brisma made a delicious dinner for us on our last night..beautiful personality! And the owners Jorge and Alejandra were very accomadating and very friendly couple. This could be classified as a Boutique hotel.
Jorge and Alejandra: Gracias por todo y el diseno de Casa Mermejita es muy raro y muy bonita

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveMexicoAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Circle House at Casa Mermejita for four days as part of a 10 day trip to Oaxaca on our honeymoon. This is one of three houses that share a kitchen on Playa Mermejita, very near Mazunte, Oaxaca.

First, the good: the setting is incredible. The view of the ocean from the house is breathtaking and the beach is quite remote and private. We saw many beautiful birds from our patio, and the star-watching was just amazing! The houses are quite nice. Like any tropical setting, there are some ants and an occasional gecko, but the beds have mosquito netting, and we were able to sleep with our doors open without any problems. The staff cleans each house every day, and keeps the place nicely swept and tidy. All in all, you couldn't ask for a better tropical hideaway!

Except..... we made the mistake of renting just one of the houses. The other two were occupied by another party, and though they were nice folks, it was definitely not the private getaway that we hoped for. The kitchen is shared between all of the houses, and our entire patio was quite visible from the dining table. At times it felt like we were living with room mates! I would definitely recommend Casa Mermejita for a large group that wants to rent all three houses, but not for just one of the houses if you are looking for privacy. At the very least, I would recommend renting the square house or rectangle house, both of which have less of a view, but are a bit more private.

The other thing worth mentioning is that there is quite a climb up at least 40 stairs in order to get to the houses and kitchen from the parking. It's not too much if you're in reasonable shape, but it is definitely not handicap accessible.

Despite the lack of privacy we had a great time. Mazunte is a great little beach town, and Casa Mermejita is in an incredible setting with an amazing view. It's a close walk to the beach and to Punta Cometa.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nutmeg618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.6 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
El copal
El copal
#5 of 6 in Mazunte
109 reviews
2.7 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
OceanoMar
OceanoMar
#2 of 6 in Mazunte
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Pan de Miel
Casa Pan de Miel
#1 of 6 in Mazunte
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mermejita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mermejita

Property: Casa Mermejita
Address: Playa Mermejita, Mazunte 66123, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mermejita 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mermejita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mermejita Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing