We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place, lovely people, perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OceanoMar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OceanoMar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special place, lovely people, perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Without doubt the best place to stay in Mazunte. Everything about OceanoMar has been thought out so well - the rooms are lovely, the food is superb (best pizza on the pacific coast), the setting is gorgeous and the staff couldn't be nicer. It was starting to get pretty hot when we were there, so it was great to have the pool, you could sit in there all day watching the sea. Thank you so much, we had a lovely stay and I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
69
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

NOthing but the sound of the waves.
This place was the only place that we found available. We were lucky.
The place is fantastic, and the owners so friendly.
It is not an excellent just because they would not accept credit or debit cards.
If this is not an issue, for you, don´t hesitate to come.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in Mazunte/San augustinillo for about 6 weeks and stayed in several hotels... Some on the beach some off the beach... The oceanomar is the nicest place in the whole area in our opinion. The staff are wonderful the architecture and finishes are just perfect and the Italian food is delicious.. There is a gorgeous pool with a panoramic view of the ocean. If you are lucky you can see whales swim past in the ocean below. The only reason we left is because they were prebooked and they still let us come and use their pool for free because we liked it so much... Don't bother staying anywhere else in Mazunte! We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahJoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you're looking for paradise, look nu further. Beautiful place, super friendly staff, great views. Rooms are huge. Italian cook makes the best pizzas on the coast. Tip: choose one of the upper level rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The pool is defintiely the highlight, and the location sells itself. The architecture is unsurpassed, with mosaics and flowers everwhere, the vibe tranquil and positive. Staff is outstanding and super kind. Thanks for a great stay! Worth every peso!

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. Aesthetics, comfort, cleanliness, peacefulness....beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleens521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at several different places in San Agustinillo and Zipolite and love the chill rustic atmosphere of the Oaxacan Coast. This was my first stay in Mazunte at OceanoMar and was impressed with the location and proximity to Playa Mermejita. There is plenty of chilling to be had at OceanoMar. The room was very clean, beautifully designed and very comfortable. The terrace had a nice hammock with a decent view of the ocean in the distance. The Italian restaurant was excellent and delicious. The staff were very nice and helpful especially Carlos who was very responsive on email we were trying to decide where to stay. I got to enjoy the pool at night which was just magical to look up and see all of the stars. Playa Mermejita is a beautiful, wild, undeveloped playa just a few minutes walk from the hotel. I would not recommend trying to swim there though. I was very pleased with OceanoMar and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Second level has a better view while the first level has a larger terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

A really special place. Great rooms, good food, good price, lovely staff.

The cabins are very well appointed and mine felt very private. The views of a very quiet beach five minutes away from mazunte beach are good. Great hammocks. Refreshing pool. Starry nights. Tranquil, the only noises are crickets and waves. The beach itself is almost always deserted and is the best place to watch the sun set spectacularly in to the sea. Friendly, attentive and fun owners and staff. I was very happy with everything. They've got it just right. It's pretty romantic too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 737637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.4 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
El copal
El copal
#5 of 6 in Mazunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
4.6 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 9 in Puerto Angel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanoMar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanoMar

Property: OceanoMar
Address: Camino a Playa Mermejita, Mazunte 70946, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — OceanoMar 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanoMar is a little resort located very close to playa Mermejita beach, it has a welcoming round pool with a children's area. This forms a true oasis of peace surrounded by lush vegetation where you can enjoy the scents of nature, sea breezes and an exceptional view of the ocean. Sun beds are available for your comfort, where you can lay and enjoy your favorite drinks by the pool, freshening up from the tropical sun. Our Typical Mexican Bar, with a lovely view of the open Mermejita beach, offers moments of relaxation and peace through an area with free Wi-Fi and Internet access. The bar service provides a wide selection of aperitifs, cocktails and modern classics, prepared with passion and imagination, served until late at night, as well as coffee products of traditional Italian tastes and flavors, and various snacks. Here you can also have a tasty Italian pizza, cooked in a wood-burning oven. Feel totally relaxed: surrounded by nature, enchanted by the beauty of the scenery... Feel the power and the soothing rhythm of the ocean's waves and enjoy our beautiful beaches... Fall asleep under the quiet charm of starry nights and wake up to the music of birdsong... Get captured by the magnetism of this area, sacred since ancient times... You will experience the delight of an unforgettable vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your OceanoMar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
OceanoMar Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing