We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Pacific Paradise...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posada Arigalan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazunte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Posada Arigalan
Ranked #3 of 14 Mazunte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Pacific Paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Posada Arigalan has been such a haven for me over the years, with it's breathtaking views, clean rooms, friendly staff and great location. And her yoga space overlooking the Pacific is the perfect place to practice yoga each morning with its continuous, gentle sea breeze. The hotel's charm and character are unlike any other posada in Mazunte - mostly thanks to the warm-hearted owner, Rose. Rose and her staff are tireless in their efforts to ensure a pleasant experience for each and every guest. If I return to Mazunte in the near future, it will be mainly to visit my Pacific paradise, Arigalan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singingsquirrel712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
34
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at Rose's, Posada Arigalan, last year for a month. At night, I fell asleep to the waves and in the morning I awoke to see the sunrise over the ocean. Every room has a spectacular view. I stayed in one of the affordable cabins as I was taking a month long course at nearby Agama, which is a five minute walk. Over my cabana, there was a beautiful covered roof deck with hammocks. It was a peaceful place to do yoga or read or chat. The beach is a short walk away. And the staff were attentive and lovely and friendly. I felt safe and cared for :) Thank you to Rose and Marcela and Estaban my stay in Mazunte was absolutely fabulous. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Posada AriGalan is the perfect place to relax, to catch up on your reading, to watch not only the sunrise but also the sunset and to be in short walking distance to the beach, and grocery stores. Rose and the staff go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. This was my second time staying at this hotel and it definitely won't be my last!! I highly recommend this hotel if your thinking about chilling in the great little town of Mazunte.

Room Tip: Lots of choices depending the budget you are on, but you can't go wrong no matter what type of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at Posada Arigalan for the past two years. It is an incredible place. We have gone to Huatulco for the winters, the past 6 years. This time we wanted something different but in the same area. A friend recommended Arigalan and introduced us to Rose. I have found my little piece of paradise, with a view that doesn`t quit. Rose is so welcoming to her guests and so giving. She arranged a superbowl party and set up a projector on this massive wall and got cable so my husband wouldn`t miss it. The guests became fast friends with dinner parties to boot.
If you love to watch the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises and want a quiet vacation away from the tourist traps, this is the place. Mazunte is a quaint Mexican town with beautiful beaches and great restaurants. For a real experience and to meet the locals, hop on a collectivo to get anywhere in the area. Hope to see you all there. Liz

Room Tip: Every room has a view and the cabanas are small and quaint but if you don`t mind being close it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiritedyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I was thinking about doing a yoga course at Agama Yoga in Mazunte and was checking out options when the manager at Agama Yoga suggested staying at Posada Arigalan. I checked out the reviews for Arigalan on Trip Advisor and then contacted the hotel by email. The owner, Rose, responded right away and when she learned I would be there 6 weeks or longer gave me a discount off the already reasonable prices. She arranged for a taxi to meet me at airport which saved me some pesos as well as any relieving any anxiety about finding the hotel as evening set in.

I was able to try a couple of rooms and they were both excellent. Possibly some of the best sleeps of my 6 months in Mexico as the rooms are super quiet and dark, the bedding and pillows were comfortable and there was absolutely no smell of mildew. The friendly staff do a great job of keeping the place spotless and will try their best to help you with any requests.

There is a steep set of stairs to the beach where you can swim, sun and find lots of variety in restaurants. Going the other direction, down the road to Mazunte, you will find a fruit store/juice bar with pretty much everything available. Posada Arigalan has a shared outdoor kitchen (beautiful views) and a fridge where you can prepare and store your fruit, yogurt,etc.

If you are doing Agama yoga courses this is the best place to stay. The rooms are literally 1 minute walk from the Agama yoga property. This allows you to go to your room between classes or on short breaks and also allows you to prepare and eat your own food rather than eat at the school or out all the time. If you are doing a silent retreat the staff underatand and are respectful of your non-communication.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike58Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazunte, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I cannot recommend this posada more. Rose, the owner, is an absolute delight, and her staff are a lovely reflection of her hospitality. I was fortunate enough to occupy one of her quaint cabanas for a month whilst I studied with Agama yoga a mere 2 minutes away. Waking up every morning with the gorgeous white sandy beach and panoramic views was only bested by being lulled to sleep every night by the sound of the waves crashing on the cliffs below. The authentic and rustic town of Mazunte is only a short stroll away, as are the gorgeous beaches of San Agustinillo. All in all I treasured my stay here and honestly look forward to my next vacation here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

This beautiful & welcoming hotel is situated up the bluff from two beaches, and therefore has terrific views and gets nice breezes from the ocean. Several options for rooms, we splurged for the suite which has a plunge pool - basically a 'cold tub' on your private patio where you can cool off. Superb for this time of year when it's warm. Rose, the host, is great and gives good recommendations for whatever you want to do. Fun, relaxing, easy access to great beaches. There are several 'miradors' on the property where you can get different vistas if you get bored with the beautiful view from your patio...highly recommended.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JalapenoEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.4 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
El copal
El copal
#5 of 6 in Mazunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Pan de Miel
Casa Pan de Miel
#1 of 6 in Mazunte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Balamjuyuc
Cabanas Balamjuyuc
#5 of 15 in Mazunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Arigalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Arigalan

Property: Hotel Posada Arigalan
Address: Cerrada del Museo de La Tortuga, Mazunte 70700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arigalan is located in Mazunte located on the southern most tip of Oaxaca, Mexico. 3 suites and 4 mid size rooms 1 apartment 1 family room and 3 cozy cabana to pick from, Arigalan sits high between two beautiful beaches Playla Mazunte and Playa San Agustinillo with spectacular views of Playa San Agustinillo. Here you will enjoy total peace and tranquility. The local population is descended from the Zipotec Indians of ancient times. This dialect can be heard spoken by local residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Arigalan Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing