We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, shame about the 'service'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazunte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Posada Arigalan
Ranked #3 of 15 Mazunte B&B and Inns
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the 'service'”
Reviewed 20 May 2008

This place has a great location. It overlooks the lovely San Agustinillo beach and is an easy stroll from the villages of San Agustinillo and Mazunte for a variety of restaurants and other facilities. There the accolades stop. Having checked the website three weeks before arrival we were looking forward to a drink in their bar and perhaps a meal in their restaurant after a day on the beach. Alas we were misled as there were no such facilities at Arigalan. In fact, apart from the rooms, there were no facilities at all. Even the most basic backpackers' hostel has a kitchen area where you can make a drink or prepare some breakfast for yourself. This had now been closed and was used as an office for the manager, the rather surley and unco-operative Enrique. We managed to persuade an abandoned coffee machine from the maid and one of our number had fortunately brought a travel kettle so by our own initiative our small group managed to set themselves up. The place seemed to be run by an iron hand from a distance as everything we asked for had to be checked out with the owner who lives in America. We had to pay the full cost of the accommodation up front after which the distinct feeling was one of 'couldn't care less' on behalf of the management.
Their new website now omits reference to a bar and restaurant but too late for us of course. If you do go there be prepared to pay the full sum up front and have nothing but the basic room in return. The views from the balconies are great but if you would like to enjoy them over your breakfast or an evening drink bring everything you would need at home: utensils, plates, cups, glasses, everything. Ishmael, the gardener, is very helpful and pleasant but if you do need anything else you are likely to have to go through the manager who will have to call the owner and you might obtain a grudging reply the following day.
It has a great location but we found that there are much better places for the money, especially in San Agustinillo

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The lack of basic facilities
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juxtaposition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
34
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Watching a pelican glide over the clear blue ocean as it scanned the beautiful waters, the silhouette of its bottle-shaped body momentarily suspended in place by the wind currents, I decided to dedicate a portion of my time to Hammockology. This is the study and collection of data concerning your surroundings that is best accomplished by observing the world as you gently swing in a woven rope hammock. My observation point is the patio here at Posada Arigalan. Like the birds flying above, I am floating in the air near the dry tropical forest and scalloped ocean beaches just outside the village of Mazunte in Oaxaca Mexico.

My morning roost overlooks a slice of the Pacific Ocean frequented by whales and dolphins. A flock of pelicans soars overhead, shaping and revising a loose “V” formation, with each shadow representing a player in an aeriel bird ballet. Gulls fly singly or in pairs, their wings folding into spirals on the down strokes and then springing into small W’s on the upswing. Along the shoreline there is a man suspended in the air above the waves by a parachute, his path propelled by a small motor mounted in the back of his Ultralight flying machine.

A spray plume of white foam marks the area of ocean inhabited by a hump back whale. From my perch I can see two of them play in the ocean, the large bodies forming dark shapes that softly rise and fall against the water’s surface. There are dolphins in the deep water ringing the coastline as well, their shapes arcing in the space where air meets water and causing a crown of sea spray as they rise and dive.

Last evening I had gazed from the hammock into the sky – an ebony black pool sprinkled with a powder sugar layer of stardust and planets. The sky is alive at night with Mexican Free Tail Bats whirling and wheeling to catch air born insects as the small points of starlight move along with the progression of the night. The bats’ flight is reminiscent of large deep blue and brown butterflies tumbling in gusts of wind. The moon rose clear and bright with delicate translucent veils of blue covering its face.

A hammock is a nest, a den, a refuge and an aerie at Posada Arigalan. Singular raptors swoop past, their flight forming a loose aerial parade of unique kinetic sculptures. A flock of woodpeckers investigated a nearby Silverbush, their soft red and yellow-feathered heads pecking a staccato test for tasty insects. Black and white herringboned patterned wings flashed as another tree was chosen for the foraging of morsels. The bright lemon yellow flowers at the apex of the tree with moss green branches began to bend, signaling the arrival of another flock of feathered friends. These were golden long-tailed birds with jet black wings and strong but smoothly curved beaks who chattered excitedly with the movement of the languid limbs.

From the folds of my hammock, I look out at a hummingbird hanging in the air above me, drinking nectar from the flowers of a Bougainvillea vine with a flick of its beak. A whirr of wings defies gravity as a delicate brown and white tail fan acts as a sky rudder for the emerald green hummer. The beak trades specks of pollen among the pink papery blooms, a bit of data for the files of Hammockology.

A light breeze rustles the leaves of the vines above, sending a shower of drifting rose colored flowers into my hammock: The Pink Blossom Rain of Posada Arigalan.

  • Liked — The quiet, peace, beauty, and relaxing ambiance of the place
  • Disliked — Absolutely not one thing to dislike!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NomadicAdventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

The rooms are spacious, impeccably clean and very tasteful furnished. All of them are equipped with air conditioning and ceiling-fans. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Also with planning and ordering trips and activities around the area.
Furthermore we have to stress the extraorinary view from the posadas rooms as well as from its grand scale terrace. Especially while enjoying breakfast or just chilling in on of the hammocks in front of each room. All you have to do is to lay back watch the palm-tree framed swimming beaches of San Augustinillo and Mazunte and relax. That shouldn´t be too hard ;-)
Although the posada situated on top of a hill its possible the reach the beach in just a few minutes by going down the stairs which lead directly to the beach.
So if you want stay in a very comfortable and relaxing place this is the place to go to!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MainzDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stargard Szczecinski, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Great place, great accommodation with all the necessary facilities for that price, and the wonderful nature around you!
The sea view from the posada and the proximity to the nearby beaches just gives the advantage to the location.
Everyone who loves good food and needs to get away from commercialised, crowded and overarated places is bound to love Arigalan and Mazunte.

  • Liked — location and value for money
  • Disliked — can't say
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baczarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.8 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
OceanoMar
OceanoMar
#2 of 6 in Mazunte
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Altamira
Altamira
#6 of 6 in Mazunte
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
2.0 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Arigalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Arigalan

Property: Hotel Posada Arigalan
Address: Cerrada del Museo de La Tortuga, Mazunte 70949, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Mazunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arigalan is located in Mazunte located on the southern most tip of Oaxaca, Mexico. 3 suites and 4 mid size rooms 1 apartment 1 family room and 3 cozy cabana to pick from, Arigalan sits high between two beautiful beaches Playla Mazunte and Playa San Agustinillo with spectacular views of Playa San Agustinillo. Here you will enjoy total peace and tranquility. The local population is descended from the Zipotec Indians of ancient times. This dialect can be heard spoken by local residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Arigalan Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing