We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazunte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Posada Arigalan
Ranked #3 of 15 Mazunte B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As part of a yoga retreat, I stayed for 10 days at this hotel. Conveniently located between two lovely beaches and beach towns, the hotel is walking distance to restaurants, small shops and excursions and activities such as the Turtle museum and boat tours. The room was simple, but had two sinks, fridge and AC which we used at night. Staff is friendly. The hotel owner speaks English and Spanish perfectly. There is a restaurant on site, and we had breakfast there daily. This was arranged specially for our group. There is a pool, which was refreshing But with no view and nowhere to sit nearby. We preferred to swim in the ocean but it was nice to have a choice. I am already making plans to return and would stay there again. Next to a yoga centre, with an access path throughout the hotel grounds. The area is very rocky and hilly so bring good walking sandals or shoes.

Room Tip: I chose the single room with AC. There were some in our groups that had a problem with the plumbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Rose's lovely Hotel Posada Arigalan over the Christmas holiday. On balance, we thoroughly enjoyed, if not loved, our time there.

For my wife, she could descend the steep staircase to the lovely cove for a snorkle or escape the sun in the hammock just outside our room. For me, and as a photographer, I could rise before the sun and take in the epic views; the same at sunset. This is to say nothing of the lovely service by Rose (in absentia) and her employees, e.g., Paula, Soledad, Feliciano. Moreover, we loved, loved, loved the nightly serenade by Jose a talented violinist who lives above units 1-4. Extraordinary, he was. Frankly, we wish we could have stayed for more nights (and were not there during high season). Such is life. Maybe we'll make it back in the summer when we have more time on our hands. We hope for this.

To be balanced, note, if you are looking for an in-house restaurant or bar, this is not your place. The kitchen is lovely but its self-service (and ideal for us). There are definitely cheaper options around, even in high season. And if you're looking for seclusion and/or extreme privacy, not sure Arigalan is your place. While folks stay separate, all definitely share the community spaces, i.e., you know people are around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHendersonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We decided to travel to visit Mazunte, Oaxaca and because we were not very organized, the Arigalan was a place we found by strolling around the streets looking for comfortable accommodation. This place was very reasonably priced and the quality and cleanliness of the private cabañas was sensational. It is a little paradise. Easy walk down to a semi private beach... Views from our room were breathtaking and the morning breakfast was superb. There was always a sea breeze and the staff were just lovely. The gardens were beautiful and there are some hammocks in a sheltered lookout from the roof- where you can sit and relax forever!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The place is very beautiful, special and quiet, we had 3 fantastic days and nights there. The rooms as well at terrace are very nice and comfortable, the view is breath taking. Besides Rose the owner and the staff very were extremely friendly and we always got good & helpful advise. In case I am coming back to the Oaxaca coast I would always stay in Arigalan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you plan to go to the Oaxaca Coast go directly to Rose who has the nicest and highest hotel at the coast with the best view ever!
She is such a nice host, so helpful and always there for a smalltalk!
You can use the kitchen and get food in the tienda nearby to prepare you an awesome Guacamole! Dont miss the roof terrace!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My trip to Hotel Arigalan did not only refresh me, but also opened my eyes to the vast beauty of Mazunte, Oaxaca. Hotel Arigalan staff is very accommodating, helpful, and sweet . If you are a lover of nature, surfing, sea turtles, yoga, or just finding your peace by the ocean, this is a good place for you. The coast of Mexico is absolutely beautiful and should be explored, and this hotel is a nice place to retreat for this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terraterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We actually chose this wonderful hotel because of the great Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed! Although the views are spectacular and the location fabulous, overlooking two gorgeous beaches -- the best part is the hostess, Rose. She went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and part of the community of guests. This is the place to really relax and enjoy nature! Quite a few of the guests were repeaters. There were plenty of good restaurants in the area too. Don't miss this great place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazunte hotels
0.7 mi away
OceanoMar
OceanoMar
#2 of 6 in Mazunte
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Ziga
Posada Ziga
#5 of 6 in Mazunte
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altamira
Altamira
#6 of 6 in Mazunte
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Almas Petit Hotel
Las Almas Petit Hotel
#1 of 15 in Mazunte
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Arigalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Arigalan

Address: Cerrada del Museo de La Tortuga, Mazunte 70949, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Mazunte
Price Range: £26 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arigalan is located in Mazunte located on the southern most tip of Oaxaca, Mexico. 3 suites and 4 mid size rooms 1 apartment 1 family room and 3 cozy cabana to pick from, Arigalan sits high between two beautiful beaches Playla Mazunte and Playa San Agustinillo with spectacular views of Playa San Agustinillo. Here you will enjoy total peace and tranquility. The local population is descended from the Zipotec Indians of ancient times. This dialect can be heard spoken by local residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Arigalan Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing