We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazunte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada del Arquitecto
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We came in the off season and rented the coco cabaña for 250 pesos a night. It was alright - next the busy street, open air, and a floating bed. The open air and floating bed sound nice, but, the mosquito nets have holes in them and floating beds are just a terrible idea, it's like being on the ocean. I was deeply underwhelmed by the posada, I suppose the Beds outside are nice because of the view but it seems rather difficult without an easy way to store your belongings. This is not the only posada in mazunte, I highly suggest going elsewhere to get more bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muellerm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

Despite all the positives of the place such as great beach front location, cheapish accommodation compared to other hotels around, staying there left a rather bitter taste in my mouth. I stayed in one of the estrellas, which is like a hanging double bed covered with a mosquito net for 100 pesos. The estrella area is on top of a rock right next to the ocean front, so you fall asleep and wake up with the sound of the waves. There are no lamps or light in the evening, so have your own flash light. You have a locker, as there are no cupboards, you sleep almost under the stars - you have to have your own padlock. Even the shared shower is totally open, well you can call it hippy, you can call it natural or romantic or simply grim, it's up to you however you want to address it. It was the cheapest option at a time, all other hotels were booked up and their dorms looked like concentration camp baraques for 80 pesos, so I decided to stick with the estrellas.

The negatives of the place: the receptionists do not speak a word of English, so be prepared to have a rather rude and unhelpful attitude. Just to give you and example, when I checked in the receptionist lady didn't bother to help me at all, when I asked for a sheet, she said "not included" and rushed off. After spending a night sweating on and sticking to a plastic mattress managed to get a sheet for 10 pesos from another, slightly more helpful receptionist. Yes, the sheet was not included, but hey, anyone would have 10 pesos for it, the receptionist just didn't want to bother to give it to me.

The estrellas are not rooms and you have to sign an agreement that the place is not responsible for any of your valuables unless you leave them at the reception. Therefore when I checked in I left my little bag with all of my valuables, all of my money, cards, passport etc, at the reception. It was simply shoved in a filing cabinet by the super unhelpful, dismissive receptionist. When I checked out a couple of days later I had a rather nasty surprise - huge sum of my money was stolen from my purse. It took me a day to go back to the hotel and just as usual, no one was helpful and no one would even understand that I wanted to talk to a manager. A local Mexican girl kindly helped me to translate and when I told her my problem, she reported exactly the same problem: she had left her towel outside overnight which was stolen by the morning, just like her boyfriend's two swimming togs!

By the afternoon I managed to meet an English speaking manager who wrote down the incident and promised to get back to me. Well, as it never happened I emailed her in a week time. To cut a long story short, after almost a month long back-and-forth emails they refunded the money that was stolen from me. I guess this was the minimum they could do, but I can't really report on a really helpful attitude in relation to the issue either.

I am leaving this review here as it is simply unacceptable that hotel staff steals from you when you leave your valuables with them and to raise awareness. Honestly guys, you are better off using your own lockers with your own padlock, not leaving stuff at the reception and you have to be really aware of not leaving your valuables around (anything!), as it can get stolen. You will probably have great difficulties there if you don't speak Spanish too..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank avnire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I've spent 2 nights there on October 2011 with a friend. We were lucky it wasn't high season, but the place was still fully occupied, especially the expensive rooms. We had a "room" in the middle of the complex, that looks like a small village next to the sea. We has to climb a rather straight ladder to access the room that was built in a tree, once there you have everything that you need: plugs, a comfy bed with mosquitos webs, closet, etc. We had no real walls so no intimacy, which would have been bad if I would have been with a girl! Other problem was that restrooms/showers were a bit far from our room.
Now the good part: THE BAR! It is by the beach, with a kind of lounge and music, though it closes very early at night for some reason. The place is well located in the village, next to others places like restaurants and bars and really right on the beach.
If you don't book previously you can expect no vacancy at arrival, but never worry, just walk by the beach and you will find other look-alike places as Mazunte unfortunately is becoming more and more touristic each year.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is high on the hill for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WissVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I found the Mazunte area not really to my liking - Maybe 5 years ago it was a hippy paradise but I think too many people come through these days and its 'business as usual' rather than a special place. The prices around town reflect this too - with one exception - The Estrellas at Posada del Arquitecto which are really cool and for 80 pesos a night are a real bargain. The beds here are suspended from a frame high up on the cliff above Mazunte beach so the breeze can keep you cool whilst you gaze at the stars.
The night I was there I was eaten alive by Mosquitos and the party down on the beach went on with bongo playing until way after 3am so not a lot of sleep was had but I would put this down to bad luck. Management are pretty unhelpful too but don't let this put you off as you won't find accommodation like this in many other places.

Room Tip: Book ahead. Sleep in the Estrellas on top of the cliff but don't forget your bug spray and to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The place is wonderful, but the guy is totally unhelpful and rude. He never knows anything. I visited mazunte on high season and wouldn't do it again, I'd rather go on low season, suggest you the same.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ofont2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

first of all: the owner is rude, unhelpful, hates his clients and super cheap.

BUT

The place is just amazing, it is really worh to get a look at it,eecially ate cabanas, they are so well designed. I would suggest you visit it first before booking especially if you are in low season...

Room Tip: Ask to visit the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyzette33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at Posada del Arquitecto for one night only, and I wish I had been there for longer. A very chilled place, with lovely people running it, in what seems to be a very spiritual part to Mexico. I only wish I'd been there a bit longer.

Room Tip: Take a look around them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazunte
0.4 mi away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
113 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada Ziga
Posada Ziga
#5 of 6 in Mazunte
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 6 in Zipolite
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Pan de Miel
Casa Pan de Miel
#1 of 6 in Mazunte
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Arquitecto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Arquitecto

Address: Calle Rinconcito | Mazunte, Mazunte 70946, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Mazunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Mazunte
Price Range: £2 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Posada del Arquitecto was born in the early 90s, when Mazunte was still a wild, virtually uninhabited beach. There were no access roads at that time. In 1989, Guido, the Architect, who was already familiar with this stretch of the Oaxacan coast, discovered an amazing spot lost in time, Mazunte, where he fell in love with this virgin beach and decided to build himself a house. Many friends from around the world wanted to visit this incredible place, and soon they began to show up. Inhabitable accommodations were required for their comfort. Thus began the evolution, almost spontaneously, of the Posada, starting with a few rustic palapas and cabanas that were built with local natural materials, experimenting with the principles of bio-architecture, while discovering, adapting, and developing the traditional construction techniques in this region - an entertaining and fascinating game for an architect. In 1997, Hurricane Paulina caused severe damage in this part of Mexico, destroying much of the Posada and necessitating repairs and reconstruction. The first cabanas were thus transformed into more solid, safe and comfortable structures, while preserving the minimalist style that utilizes the area's natural, living materials. The overgrown hill that was the setting for the Posada's earliest rustic palapas gradually became a garden. With the passage of time and the collaboration of old and new allies, the Posada del Arquitecto has become less spartan and much more comfortable, without losing the relaxed spirit of a big home where friends are always welcome. We keep striving to respect our surroundings, which is why the cabanas are built in harmony with the original natural elements of this place. Please help us to protect and preserve the living plants and animals you encounter during your stay. Today the Posada del Arquitecto offers its guests/friends a multifaceted experience, including yoga, massage, an impressive view of the bay from the cabanas, and free Wi-Fi connections. The beach is so close that the rhythm of breaking waves will become the soundtrack for your stay.We hope that you enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Del Arquitecto Hotel Mazunte
Posada Del Arquitecto Mazunte, Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing