We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little gem”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My son and I arrived mid April for the last skiing of the season to be greeted by sun and little snow. The owner Beth could not have been more helpful to ensure we got maximum skiing in the sun. She even drove us to and picked us up from Les Contamines to ensure we had at least one excellent day skiing. We were lucky as we managed to ski everyday for 4-5 hours - the first two days locally before they closed the slope and then two days at Cote 2000 and one special day at Les Contamines.. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble - great service. As we were at the end of the season, the dining room was closed but they did serve a good breakfast. Lovely snug bar area. Great views from the front of the hotel. The rooms are clean and well soundproofed from the other rooms. Well positioned near the ski lifts and only a short walk into town where our favourite restaurants were Brasserie Centrale and Chez Tante Alice. A very warm welcoming hotel. A great find which I will definitely go back to on my next trip to Megeve.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My friends and I stayed here the last night of hiking the Tour de Mont Blanc. We trudged in wet and exhausted and were greeted by one of the friendly owners. She was very welcoming, made sure we were taken care of in every way and we had a delicious dinner that evening at the charming little restaurant on premises. We are still talking about the scrumptious fondue that was served to us. It was the perfect conclusion to an amazing trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathonmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 days hiking in the Alps. We enjoyed it so much that we stayed for another 2 days.
This is the total opposite of the "chain" hotels I stay in for business trips. No false smiles and "have a nice day". This is very much a family hotel with the character of the owners stamped across it. Quirky but fun. We stayed "demi pension" which meant breakfast and evening meal. The breakfast was plentiful and fueled us up for the day. After a hard day's hiking I thoroughly enjoyed the evening 5 course set meal. Very much a "menu du jour" in the French tradition. The staff were great, most spoke very good English and they were happy to let me improve my French with them.
There was excellent local knowledge with the weather forecast posted on the notice board every morning and advice on which passes were snowy or dangerous.
We met a lot of interesting people of various nationalities doing everything from walking the TMB, day hiking, mountain biking, 4-WD driving and a Belgian couple who had been going to the hotel every year for the last 40 years.
We will be going back next year.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We received a warm welcome and enjoyed our evening meal in the pleasant dining room. The choice may be limited but the food is tasty and good value, as is the wine. The lounge and gardens are excellent for relaxing after a day on the mountains. Nothing was too much trouble and we had our washing tumble dried, which was a real bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachertorte_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was here on my way around the Tour of Monte Blanc. I arrived soaked to the skin. The two little old ladies manning reception didn't bat an eyelid, but insisted I head upstairs, get changed and bring my wet clothes down so they could tumble dry them. What a joy!

Dinner was rather traditional, and with limited choice, but beautifully done. (pea and ham soup or smoked salmon, beef stew with prunes, apricot mousse or fromage frais).

My room wasn't huge, but the bed, if smaller than a double, was bigger than a single.

They have wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirkej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
222 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed here with my husband during our Tour du Mont Blanc hike. The hotel was a bit disorganized--it took us awhile to check in, our room did not have any bath towels at first, and we needed to go back to get the right internet password--all of which was a bit frustrating after a long day of hiking, made worse by a lack of English amongst the staff. Our room was a bit cramped, and the layout was odd, with the toilet in its own little room, and the sink and shower in a separate room across from it. Otherwise, the hotel was quite charming both inside and out, especially the garden area and the dining room. For dinner, we had a delightful mushroom soup, followed by a salad, followed by beef and potatoes served homestyle, then cheese, and finally tiramisu for dessert. Overall, was an enjoyable stay, and I would consider returning again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Enjoyed two nights at the Hotel . Great find, Freindly welcome, clean rooms and public areas. Good food and would certainly return. Ideal for those walking the GR5 or Round Mont Blanc so probably bext to book ahead

Room Tip: Booking ahead recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Contamines-Montjoie
0.7 mi away
La Chemenaz Hotel
La Chemenaz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Christiania
Le Christiania
#3 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#11 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#9 of 42 in Courmayeur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil

Property: Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
Address: 288 Chemin des Loyers, 74170 Les Contamines-Montjoie, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Contamines-Montjoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Les Contamines-Montjoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Hotel Gai Soleil was once a farm in the mountains. Dating from 1829, this farm has been renoved with care and furnished with an aim to preserve all its rustic character and warmth. You can relax in among the various flowering trees and you can enjoy the spectacular view of the Montjoie Valley. The Gai Soleil is exceptionally located in the heart of the resort and five minutes from the ski lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing