We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy hotel, but still friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Chemenaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Chemenaz Hotel
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Busy hotel, but still friendly”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed in this hotel three times in the winter.

The hotel was pretty full when we there over Christmas, but it was still friendly. The rooms are simply done, but welcoming. A shame that there are now no british TV channels, though! Wireless was available in our room. The bed is fairly comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water in the bathroom.

We did half-board, and the food in the restaurant is very good. Breakfast - a self-service affair - is also good, though nothing hot other than boiled eggs. Like another reviewer, the breakfast coffee is pretty horrible, but I have had worse. I am unable to eat dairy products, and they offered me very good alternatives at dinner - give them warning though.

There is a bar area, three other bars nearby, alimentation and a boulangerie across the road. There are three ski-hire shops by the hotel. The ski-lifts are a three minute walk. The bus stop (from Le Fayet, the nearest railway station) is two minutes walk.

The Les Contamines ski area is small but will keep you entertained for a week - and if there is plenty of snow there is a lot of off-piste. It's basically one big snow bowl. The cross-country ski area is only 7 minutes walk away.

The main village is a 10-15 minute walk along the river and had plenty of restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Go for one of the back rooms - you are less likely to be disturbed by late-night revellers (not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    74
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
46
72
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is a gem of a hotel. I stayed as part of a UK walking group and the hotel was everything walkers could hope for. There's a generous and imaginative buffet breakfast, with (amongst much more) excellent coffee,homemade yoghurt,multiple choices of jams, breads,cakes,fruit,eggs to boil. Our group had a set dinner menu with choice of main course and the food was unfailingly delicious and typically French including local dishes such as tartiflette.The dining room was pleasantly busy with other residents, including as it was August French families with very well-mannered childern, and the restaurant attracts non-residents too. Although the hotel is a popular overnight stop on the Trail de Mont Blanc, walkers certainly don't overwhelm other guests,as one reviewer suggested. My room was spacious, with a balcony,and a large recently refurbished bathroom, including bath with shower. The staff are professional,endlessly patient and charming, and very willing to help. The swimming pool is a great draw at the end of a day's walking.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths or hairdryers - if these are important to you make sure you check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greylag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed just one night this time while walking the GR5. The reception, room, service and food was just as good as ever if not better. A really great place to stay. The fact that it is run by a really professional family shows. Also a great centre for walking some of the best bits of the Mont Blanc massif.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Part way through Tour Mont Blanc, we found this hotel to be most enjoyable. Staff were amazing as they had a huge wedding group to attend to, together with what appeared to be a large group of 30 or so. But we never felt rushed or unimportant.
The setting was beautiful, the rooms were spacious, and the meals, both dinner and breakfast were wholesome and enjoyable.
And, the shower in our room had a multiple massage head to sooth tired legs.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed here on day 2 of our TMB tour. Was very busy with large walking groups and lots of Americans. Bedroom 211 lacked a hairdryer and wi-fi which were advertised on web site and we were disappointed not to have. Also only got one bath towel and the duvet was barely bigger than a single which led to duvet wars! Would look for alternative digs if we came back to this area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGourmetVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This family run hotel is a gem. We stayed for a week in June with a hiking group from the U.K. and enjoyed every aspect. The breakfast was a large, typically French buffet with croissants, breads, yogurt, cheese, meats, etc. and soft cooked or hard cooked eggs. Dinners were standard French and superb.

If I had to mention a negative it would be the spotty internet connection in the room (although it was always available near the reception area).

Loved it and would stay here again.....so many hiking trails right outside the door. Lovely.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 26West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed here as a pre-booked stop on the Tour du Mont Blanc hike. We found the room clean and comfortable, the surroundings delightful, and the service excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Contamines-Montjoie
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
Chalet Hotel Gai Soleil
#1 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Christiania
Le Christiania
#3 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
34 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel de La Couronne
Hotel de La Couronne
#2 of 4 in Argentiere
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
236 reviews
10.2 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
799 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
Hotel Lo Scoiattolo
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chemenaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chemenaz Hotel

Property: La Chemenaz Hotel
Address: BP 17 | Hameaux du Lay, 74170 Les Contamines-Montjoie, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Contamines-Montjoie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Les Contamines-Montjoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Chemenaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your La Chemenaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Chemenaz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing