We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quiet ski resort. No queues. Something for everyone.”

Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Contamines ski area is located in the charming village called Les Contamines-Montjoie in the Haute Savoie french Alpes region. The ski area has two sides one in les Contamines and one in Hauteluce in the Savoie region. The ski area has a total of 46 slopes and 25 lifts. It's the perfect ski resort for family, with a good natural snow cover, with commitment for the quality of the slopes and an exceptional view on the Mont-Blanc massif.
Muscat
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent quiet ski resort. No queues. Something for everyone.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed here in March and as it was between school holidays we experienced no queues, and often had the piste virtually to ourselves. Good range of slopes from beginner to intermediate, and good off piste for more advanced. Also Nordic skiing facilities in the valley and reasonable snowboarding although I cannot speak from experience as I am not a snowboarder, but people I met seemed to enjoy it. Mainly chair lifts once you get up the mountain, and I imagine these could be bitterly cold in adverse conditions. All staff friendly and welcoming. Good variety of restaurants up the mountain. Very impressed. Quiet resort at bottom of gondola, but perfectly adequate and if you need more night life, stay in Les Contamines proper, where there is a courtesy bus during the day to the gondola.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Madcow4762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    1
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent ski area for intermediate skiers”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Les Contamines is less crowded than many other places in the Alps. In the second half of January during working days we had some slopes completely for ourselves. We never had queus for the lifts. The area is also fine for beginners and very good for advanced skiers, although for the latter there are more challenging areas in the alps.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Beautiful ski slopes”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The area offers different level of ski slopes.They are always very well groomed and the snow is usually very good due to the fact that most of the slopes are at quite high altitude.Even during weekends or school holidays,apart from the queu that you'll find at the beginning ,thechoice is so huge up on top that you never queu up much.It is a sunny and beautiful area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic, quiet resort”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I ski here each year. Good snow due to proximity of the Mt Blanc. Fab views, good variety of runs. Very family friendly village. Not a purposed built resort town but a real working town.
Enjoy no queues and powder on the side of the piste days after it has snowed. No big tour operators here so its not overdeveloped and busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah562747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet Resort”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The Resort is very Quiet compared to some other French Ski Resorts I've been to, which is a bonus, has plenty of runs for beginners up to expert black runs, and a lot of off piste skiing available as well. The Town itself is also very Quiet with only a few bars, but loads of restaurants and shops. If you like a Party Life Apre Ski, this is probably not the best resort for that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deansy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort also viewed

Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, Haute-Savoie
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Les Contamines-Montjoie Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing