We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Morillon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morillon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Morillon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Morillon
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our 9th skiing trip to this perfect chalet, great location, great food and great company what more can anyone want. Thanks Paulene and Andrew and also a big thanks to Hannah and Tanya the best chalet slaves to date.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Paulene and Andrew provide a lovely warm welcome. Homely, good food, relaxed, log fire, views onto the beginner slope, ski in and out. Space for kids to enjoy.
A great holiday.
So close to the piste you can come and go as you please. Airport transfers are really convenient. We will go back.
We visited with all the family: grandparents, parents and kids under 7. They all loved it. The ski school ESF was well managed and our son progress loads in just 1 week.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkie_Ferkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Have just returned from a family walking trip at the chalet. Me my wife and 13 yr old daughter. My wife had stayed at the chalet earlier in the year for skiing and has already booked for next year with colleagues.
The chalet is beautiful in an amazing location high up with great views on all sides.
The hosts Andrew and Pauline are warm and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The meals cooked by both of them are absolutely superb. There was also a packed lunch each day.
There were organised walks each day to ever differing locations. Andrew and Pauline came on each to guide us. They will vary them according to your needs but it is worth the effort to do the steeper climbs. If you like spectacular scenery, waterfalls, wildlife and brilliant guides to lead you to them this is the family holiday for you.
We will definitely be returning. There is still more of this area to explore and I can't see me wanting to stay anywhere else

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just returned from a week at Chalet Morillon and had a great stay. Ideally placed in Morillon 1100, the chalet over looks the nursery slopes and is a short walk to the Sairon lift (10 mins). It is possible to ski back to the chalet by using the Tele Debutants button lift and then just skiing around 20m to the side of the chalet. This was my fourth visit the the Grand Massif area (previously stayed in Les Carroz) and this was definately the best holiday in the area yet. Access from Morillon 1100 to the Grand Massif area is easy and, for this holiday, the snow conditions/pistes and weather were perfect. Andrew and Paulene were extremely welcoming hosts, complimented by Martin and Steff who produced some great food. The holiday was also made that much better by the 'crowd' who shared the week with us. As a result we had a couple of really nice days ski-ing with Andy, Tina, Julia, Tania and Katie. Many thanks guys. Our room was very spacious (top of the chalet) and the whole chalet was extremely well presented and clean. Food was first rate and great to, at least, have the availability of free wine all day. A major plus is the inclusion of transfers in the price. Overal - a fantastic week and would definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spudDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We are returning every new year until further notice! The hosts are lovely lovely people, amazing food, chalet clean and spacious. Perfect for our family, Can't fault this place. Top ski area, location everything! See you 30th dec 2012!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennyjharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

Fantastic homely chalet in a prime position on the nursery slopes, you can ski into the boot room. Morillon is a quiet, small, family friendly resort with a massive ski area. We were a group of 11 with 5 young children staying over Christmas. The chalet staff and owners made every effort to make our stay and Christmas PERFECT! The chalet is cosy with a modern feel and spotlessly clean. 10/10. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

We went to stay with Andrew and Paulene again and met their 2 new members of staff, Simon and Laura.
It was our second visit in 2 years and once again we were not disappointed.

We were collected from the airport, pampered for a week and fed incredibly well with a 3 course home made meal ever night. Breakfast includes coffee, porridge, cereals, juice, boiled eggs and bread whilst each afternoon we returned to coffee, tea and a cake baked fresh for us that day.

The chalet has a warm and cosy atmosphere with really friendly owners and staff.
It has an amazingly hot boot room so all of our kit was warm and dry the next day.
Wine flows freely all night and once the fire is lit all aches from the day on the slopes are forgotten.

Morillon 1100 was PERFECT for the whole family, great nursery slopes and green/blue runs for the children with lots of challenging reds and blacks if we had chosen them.

There is a pub in the village, a choice of ski hire shops and some good restaurants to eat in on the chalet staff’s day off.

The Grand Massif is a lovely place to Ski and as a base Morillon is a perfect place to start off each morning whatever the level of your ski-ing is.


A great holiday, fantastic ski-ing, unbelievable value and a great place to stay.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Liked — The location is perfect.
  • Disliked — That we had to come home.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Tonytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morillon
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Palladior Morillon Grand Massif
0.0 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Buet
Residence Odalys Le Buet
#4 of 6 in Morillon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Morillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Morillon

Property: Chalet Morillon
Address: Morillon, 74440 Morillon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Morillon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Morillon
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Morillon 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Chalet Morillon Grand Massif, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing