We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very peaceful in summer!”
Review of Hotel le Morillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Morillon
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Morillon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here from June 17th to June 20th. We drove from Geneva, the hotel was on the main road and very easy to find. Lots or parking available. We checked in and the young lady on reception was very helpful and as we do not speak much French, she spoke to us in English (very well too!). As the hotel was very quiet, they upgraded us to a superior room which was very nice. The rooms are chalet-like, clean and quaint. The whole town was extremely quiet as it is the summer season, I imagine it is a different story in winter! It is very close to the lift up the mountain, a few minutes walk. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening, it was fine dining, very tasty, and the staff were polite and helpful. We used the pool once as well although the weather wasn't very good the first 2 days we were there so we didn't stay in long, but the facilities are very good. I would stay in this hotel again but I would like to see how it is in the ski season, as in summer we found most restaurants in town were closed when we walked out to try to find somewhere for dinner, and think it would be much more lively in winter. But would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Kat_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Morillon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March with a couple of friends. The hotel was very unpretentious and the restaurant is outstanding. I was with a vegetarian and a vegan and they couldn't of been more obliging in changing the menu for them. Only a couple of small criticisms were a squeaky bunk bed and a small bathroom with no where to hang the shower head but the food made up for it

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobrampton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel le Morillon is currently undergoing a face lift. There is nice new very well appointed Spa area with sauna, steam room, relaxing area, gym equipment and small but useable indoor/outdoor pool which is great after a days skiing and warm enough to take full advantage.
The main area of the hotel is still a littlt in the last century which some will like, others may find less so. Never the less the space is sufficient, warm clean and the staff try very hard to make things work. The set menue is excellent value and the cheese option enormous, laden with local produce - a focus of the dining room.
There is fire in the sitting room/bar area which was nice for after dinner coffee or spirits.
Access to the lift for skiing is great ,150 mts with ample space in the hotel cavern for drying and storing equipment.
Minor problems were dealt with efficiently.
Whilst we were there an outdoor evening market opened up on the street right outside which was interesting to see and local entertainment and information was well presented and advised by the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skianddive_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Sated March 2012
Very clean and attractive traditional-style rooms, nice staff, good breakfast.
Sauna is a nice bonus
Incredibly convenient for ski lift - very short hobble in the morning of maybe 150 yards or so
Morilon itself is quite quiet and a bit less going on than neighbouring Samoens, which is beautiful

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_frog_dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Le Morillon for a ski trip at the end of February 2014. We liked the hotel a lot and would come back again in the future. The rooms are cosy and the spa area is comparable to those found in expensive, bigger hotels - a great way to relax the muscles after a long day of skiing! The massage room was great and the steam room was very nice too.

One point to note is the restaurant - it is excellent. It is important to note that the menu is much more diverse at the hotel compared to the restaurants in the village. This makes a very nice break from the pizza!

I think the highlight of our stay, however, was Fanny. She was an incredible help to us throughout our stay and nothing was too much to ask from her. The combination of a great little hotel and wonderful staff makes this hotel a real gem that sparkles in the snow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel le Morillon for a long weekend, to take my 5 year old son skiing for the first time. We really enjoyed our stay - a clean, friendly hotel with charm that is close to the Morillon gondola. On arrival there was no fuss, we were were taken to our room (early) and a camp bed was set up for my son. The staff were helpful and the breakfast and dinner were very good. In particular, they were very accommodating towards children (and a nice indoor / outdoor pool which was fun). Recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OST2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I arrived by car with all my skiing gear and was able to store it in the ski room and park the car in the hotel car park. The hotel is literally a 5 minute/300 yards walk from the cable car that takes you up to Morillon 1100 from where you take the ski lifts. My room had everything you need to make it perfect: cleanliness, a very comfortable bed and an excellent shower (good pressure and hot water). I stayed in half-board and I can assure you, breakfast and dinner are copious and extraordinary. Dinner consists of 5 courses ... every day. In addition, it is not just regular mountain food. This Chef produces fine dining. Wow! A big thank you also to all the staff who went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable. Of course, I will go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morillon
0.2 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#4 of 6 in Samoens
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#6 of 6 in Samoens
62 reviews
4.9 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Morillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Morillon

Address: 74 440 Morillon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Morillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Morillon
Price Range: £83 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Morillon 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Le Morillon*** and Spa situated at Morillon, ski resort and village in the heart of the Giffre valley / Le grand Massif Ski area / Haute-Savoie / Alpes. We welcome you for your winter holidays where you will be able to enjoy different activities : ski, snow shoe, paragliding... but we also welcome you during the summer with other funny activities : rafting, hiking, horse ride... The hotel Spa will offer you a pleasant and relaxing moment at the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel le Morillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Morillon Grand Massif, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing