We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Chalet Paula

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morillon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Paula
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Yet another lovely skiing holiday with Ros and Mark chez Chalet Paula. Loads of snow, lovely accommodation, wonderful food and great company. I've been coming to Chalet Paula since it was built and can't praise the place highly enough. Would recommend this little gem to anyone for both winter and summer holidays. Mary

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryPratt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Paula
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Back again with the family for a week. Really easy transfer from Geneva to Morillon via Mark.

Mark and Ros were truly excellent with their hospitality once again, whether it was giving my wife some ski tuition or playing cards with my sons. We had sunshine all week, although to the end of the week some more snow was needed.

The food was superb, Ros is amazing, with preparing so many lovely meals for us all.

It really is like staying with family when you visit. The kindness and involvement to ensure a fantastic holiday is unlike anything I have experience anywhere before. We were all so disappointed to be home, but can't wait to go again. See you in 6 weeks when I'm back with the boys trip!

I can't recommend Chalet Paula highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family discovered it after my daughter in law met Ros. They were the wonderful hosts. I cannot praise them too highly, catering brilliantly for the whole family. The food was cordon bleu. Both Ros and Mark went out of their way to make Christmas a lovely festive occasion, playing games with the children- my young grandson winning Scrabble to his delight. Once the snow arrived- everyone was happy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnemonck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We fell upon this little Gem through a friend of a friend. We weren't exactly sure what to expect before we arrived.

The chalet is a little over an hour from Geneva airport, making it a nice short transfer.

On arrival we were shown all the rooms we were using so we could fight amongst ourselves as to which one to have! The rooms are comfortable, clean and share bathrooms on each floor (there were several bathrooms to use, I can't remember ever having to wait).

The food was excellent; breakfast was a combination of cooked breakfast and cereal with as much tea, coffee and orange juice as required. On return to the chalet each day there was a large pot of tea and cake waiting. The evening meals were excellent, mixed along with the conversation amongst all the guests made for a really enjoyable stay.

As the chalet is about 100 yards from the lift it was a very easy walk each day. Mark and Ros use a ski hire shop, which allow you to store your equipment there to save walking in ski boots. The slopes were really good, a great mix of easy and intermediate with one or two blacks here and there. The off-piste was also great especially using Mark as a guide to where was safe to go.

Mark and Ros really do ensure your holiday is a good one, from feeding you tea and cake until you are at bursting point to every day coming out on the slopes to guide you round. I have never stayed on any holiday before where the owners get obvious enjoyment from you having a good time. If you enjoy being looked after, this is really the place to do it.

Thank you Mark and Ros for such a great break and putting up with 5 guys! We will be sorting out dates very soon for next year and will also be looking to bring my family for our ski break too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was our second weekend at Chalet Paula - returning in 2013 after a hugely successful visit in 2012.
Mark and Ros are incredible hosts, always willing to ensure their guests are 100% happy.
Mark kindly agreed to collect us (3 guys) from the airport and Ros has a fantastic meal waiting for us when we arrived.
The food here is 5 star and the atmosphere of the chalet is fun, warm and relaxed. The outdoor hut tub is just what the achy muscles need after a long day on the slopes.
Mark and Ros skied with us and this was hugely useful as there was no need to 'get to know' all the routes/conenctions.

Please keep up your amazing service. We will be back.

J, S & T
We stayed for 4 nights again this year and will return for sure.

Room Tip: The new wing is suberb !!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMOM171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was intrigued by the fact that the chalet had a perfect score of 5 stars on tripadvisor and wondered whether we would feel the same after our stay. Well, there was never any doubt. Mark and Ros were very gracious hosts, willing to spend most of the our 3 days guiding us around the Grand Massif ski area, as well as making us very welcome and comfortable in the chalet. New snow on the final day, and they knew exactly where to take us - one of the best skiing w/ends we have had.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yumyumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I think the previous reviews say most of what I want to, but I'll try and add a bit.
Ros and Mark make this wonderful chalet in Morillon what it is, a home.
From before we left, Ros and Mark were fantastic, giving advice about ski hire, lift passes, transfers etc. Given that we had not visited Morillon before this was invaluable.
Nothing was too much trouble and I knew from the phone calls we were going to have a good time. They were flexible about arrival dates and times and given our party was four families of 4 this was brilliant.
On our arrival, it was like meeting a couple I'd known for years. Wine and beer (and a bit of champagne) flowing set the mood for the holiday, as did the kids doing Gangnam Style in the hot tub.
From cooked breakfasts, to 4 course evening meals (with the kids fed earlier) the food was excellent. The wood burning stoves inviting and the hot tub just bliss. Ros and Mark enjoy life in all it's aspects and they help you do the same.
The final thing I'll add is that you can judge a place by the way they handle things not going right. My wife had the flu whilst there, and the kids were intermittently not skiing due to the same bug. Ros and Mark couldn't have been nicer and my wife says Ros' hot toddy is to die for.
Thank you Ros and Mark for a fab holiday, we'll be back for skiing and also for a summer break and maybe some painting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morillon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Buet
Residence Odalys Le Buet
#4 of 6 in Morillon
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tasty Ski Company - Chalet Mautalent
0.3 mi away
Le Chalet de la Source
Le Chalet de la Source
#1 of 2 in Morillon
7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nemea Vacances Les Chalets du Bois de Champelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Paula

Address: Verney D en Bas, 74440 Morillon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Morillon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Morillon
Price Range: £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Paula is an alpine chalet completed in 2005 to the highest standard it sleeps from 4 to 16 , either catered or selfcatered . Ideally situated 1 hr from Geneva and only 150m from the skilift into the Grand Massif ski area with a balconied hottub , also perfect for summer holidays , walking , biking , swimming or just chilling around our own heated pool . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Paula Morillon, Grand Massif, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing