We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chalet ever!”
Review of Chalet Almandine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morillon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Almandine
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Flew into Geneva on Monday morning, met by Ed and an hour later we were enjoying perfect powder on the slopes. Returned for a fantastic afternoon tea and the dinner was outstanding. Each evening Ed would take time to give us detailed tips on the best slopes to go and Sarah would produce the best chalet food we have ever had. Lovely atmosphere in this gorgeous chalet, our hosts could not have been more helpful and really went out of their way to make our stay as fun and interesting as possible and the skiing was absolutely brilliant! We will return.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward G, Owner at Chalet Almandine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will be very happy to have you back to stay when ever you like.

It is great to know that it is possible to be up on the mountains here skiing, within 5 hours of leaving your front door in the UK.

Best wishes,

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Almandine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Arrived on Thursday afternoon, to be met by Ed and Sarah at the door. Really nice couple, who couldn't be more helpful. Lovely room, immaculately clean, great breakfast, excellent dinner and great skiing. What more can you want...nothing. The chalet is 2 mins walk (slowly) to the ski bus and then 5 mins to the Morillion lift, then straight up to a fantastic ski region. We have been 6 times, so it must be good. Must say long chats with Ed about his GS racing days were a treat. My recommendation is just do yourself a favour and go to Almandine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5teveAndCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward G, Owner at Chalet Almandine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Steve & Carole,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments, it was very nice to have you stay with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed your short break.

I was very happy to share my GS racing history with you and your very kind to say you enjoyed them - there are many more! Hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Less than an hour from Geneva using one of the excellent Airport transfer services, Chalet Almandine is a gem. In a stunning setting, it is extremely comfortable and homely, and ideally situated just minutes from superb skiing across the many runs of the magnificent Alpine region of the Grand Massif. It is also perfect for Summer holidays, with mountain-biking, parascending, white-water rafting and kayaking being just some of the activities on offer in Morillon. There are excellent tennis courts just 200 metres from the chalet, with the significant added benefit, for those set upon improving their game, of Ed being an LTA coach . Sara is a qualified language teacher and offers coaching in French for those who might wish to add an academic and cultural dimension to their holiday. But, above all, they are the kindest and most considerate of hosts – and Sara’s cooking is unsurpassed. The South-facing veranda looks onto the most stunning of views and is perfect for relaxing at the end of an energetic day. A memorable week and I'm looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: The French windows in the double room on the top floor, where I stayed, open on to a veranda extendi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward G, Owner at Chalet Almandine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Bill,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are very happy that we made your stay enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Ed & Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have just returned from the most fantastic week's hospitality at Ed and Sarah's impeccable chalet. Sarah is a candidate for a Michelin star. Dinner was always fantastic, coupled with a great breakfast and delicious cake at tea time I was so well feed.

The kindness and hospitality I received was well beyond the call of duty. I particularly appreciated being run to the the telecabin ahead of the crowds.

Thank you for a great week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorystew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward G, Owner at Chalet Almandine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Rory,

Thank you very much for your comments, we thoroughly enjoyed yours and Alastair's company.

Best wishes,

Ed, Sara & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Ed & Sara were great hosts. Friendly and extremely helpful, the early lifts to the telecabin were most appreciated.
The food was very good and always finished with an excellent cheese board, loved the Tomme.
Rooms where clean and well maintained, slept very well. Still can't see how anyone gets time to watch anything from the free DVD library though!

Chalet was well located on the ski bus route, which was a bonus after a few beers in Le Bon Coin after a days skiing. If you get to know the bus drivers then they'll drop you off outside the chalet as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward G, Owner at Chalet Almandine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Ro,

Thank you for your review we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes,

Ed, Sara & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just back from a week skiing holiday staying at Chalet Almandine. Sarah and Ed are the perfect hosts and they've done an amazing job refurbishing the property to a wonderful standard. We had a ground floor room which was spotlessly clean with beautifully crisp bed linen. There was mountains of delicious food and we loved the champagne on arrival. The skiing was amazing, as it always is here and the bus stopped outside the property and the chalet was only an hours drive from Geneva airport. A little gem.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was superb.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward G, Owner at Chalet Almandine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Northers,

We are very glad you had a good time, thank you for your review.

Best wishes,

Ed, Sara & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay with Ed and Sarah they made us feel so welcome. It was great returning from a long day on the slopes knowing there was a delicious cake for tea followed by a tasty four course dinner. The food was always of a high standard and the menu was varied.
Ed was great getting us onto the first lift of the day so we had maximum time on the slopes.
The Grand Massive is a beautiful ski region and the Chalet Almandine was a great base for our skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward G, Owner at Chalet Almandine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Hi Adrain & Allison,

Thank you for your review.

Best wishes,

Ed, Sara & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morillon hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Buet
Residence Odalys Le Buet
#4 of 6 in Morillon
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tasty Ski Company - Chalet Mautalent
0.7 mi away
Le Chalet de la Source
Le Chalet de la Source
#1 of 2 in Morillon
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nemea Vacances Les Chalets du Bois de Champelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Almandine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Almandine

Address: Vers la Gare D154 Les Hottes Verchaix | Grand Massif, 74440 Morillon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Morillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Morillon
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski & Summer Chalet with Self Catered & Catered options with luxurious hot tub, 5 bedrooms with en-suites & family bathroom, lounge / Dining room, Games room (Second lounge) with pool table, darts board, table football, sofa, bean bags, Cd player, DVD player & a drinks fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Almandine Morillon, Grand Massif, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing