We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tasty Ski Company - Chalet Mautalent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This chalet is amazing! Fantasic food, friendly hosts (nothing was too much trouble), really comfortable beds, hot showers, great hot tub. We were a large group of 4 families with young children and there was plenty of space, a really comfy living space and great garden. Effortless daily shuttle service to ski lift was invaluable. I would love to stay there again. Thanks again toTim and his team.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived at Chalet Mautalent on 15th Feb 2014 (school half term) with a group of 8 adults and 8 children (ages 2-7). We had high hopes for the trip and I can genuinely say that we were incredibly impressed with every aspect of our holiday. Here are a few specifics of our trip that you might find useful:

Airport transfers - arranged through our very helpful hosts made the journey to the chalet hassle free. The drivers were very helpful and friendly too.

Location - the chalet is just a couple of minutes walk from the banks of the beautiful Le Giffre river, which has a path along side for anyone looking to take a break from the slopes. Just a few minutes further on by foot and you're in the heart of Morillon village and at the entrance of the gondola up to Morillon 1100. The village is moderate in size and offers a few shops, bars and restaurants including 'La Puzze' where we had some great Pizzas on our chefs night off.
For trips to the gondola at Morillon village our hosts were so helpful in ferrying us back and forth and this made the journey to the slopes each day as easy as possible. The gondola queues were also quite small considering it was school holidays.

The chalet - a really well laid out property with great facilities such as wireless internet, sky TV, an iPod dock sound system. The chalet was clean throughout and the beds were very comfortable to sleep in. The top floor room is a lovely room with a nice en-suite but has slightly restricted head height in places so if you have a group of children sharing a room, this would be ideal for them. There is a wood burning stove in the communal area which we didn't actually use during our stay as the chalet was so cosy without it!

The hot tub - deserving of it's own paragraph! Wow... the kids loved it, the adults loved it. Situated just outside the chalet, but under cover it was lovely and warm - the perfect place to relax after a day on the slopes. The digital control panel lets you adjust the temperature, water jets and other features to your heart's content. Top tips... pick up a few boxes of beer on your arrival at the resort and bury them in the snow outside, and take some flip flops for walking to your outdoor 'beer fridge' when you need to get a round in! You can fit 8 kids in easily, and 8 adults if you're on good terms...

The snow - while not perfect, we had reasonable snow during our trip and most runs were open. The runs down to Morillon village were very patchy at the bottom so most of us chose to get the gondola back down from 1100 at the end of each day which was fairly quick and painless.

The ski area - Morillon 1100 offers some excellent runs for skiers of all levels. The Sairon lift gives a good altitude from which you can ski the long 'Marvel' green run back down to 1100. 'Marvel' is the best green I've experienced with lots of varied terrain, numerous little 'jumps' at the sides of the run for those that want them (the kids loved these!), wide tracks through the trees and even little picnic spots for eating your breakfast take aways! For a beginner, you could ski this run all week. There are also several good blue and red runs and even a kids snow park to race down for the kids and adults who want to get a bit of air over the fast bumps and turns! In Morillon 1100 there are also some nursery slopes with drag lifts, but we did not use these so can't really comment on them. Further afield, you can ski over to Samoens (where our children took 2 lessons with ZigZag). It takes around an hour to get there from Morillon 1100, depending on how busy the lifts are and how fast you ski! There are some good beginners slopes, but they were quite busy with it being half term. The Chariand Express lift quickly takes you back up to the top where you can choose to ski right back down into Morillon 1100 or across towards Flaine. We took the big gondola in Flaine to the summit and had great views of Mont Blanc before heading back down some excellent long runs with good snow.

The food & service - well... they say save the best 'til last! Mmmmmm. The quality of the food was consistently outstanding. Our amazing chef Aislinn cooked up daily breakfast specials, hot breakfasts cooked to order, cereals, pastries, juices, fruit, hot drinks, bread, delicious afternoon cakes, well thought out canapes, starters, mains, deserts and cheeses. And plenty of good quality wine during meal times. Totally faultless! Our host, Pippa, was magnificent and could not have been more friendly, smiley and helpful. Aislinn and Pippa even joined us on a 'conga' around the chalet when it was Aislinn's birthday and we put some old skool party tunes on! Another great bonus is that we were able to take away any surplus bread and pastries each day for peaceful slope side lunch time picnics, totally avoiding the stressful (and expensive!) mountain restaurants.

In summary, a fantastic time was had by all. The chalet was perfect for our group and the food and service was truly amazing. It's not quite a ski to door chalet, but with the minibus transfers offered by the hosts, you're only a few minutes from the gondola and on the slopes in no time at all. I'd have no hesitation in visiting Chalet Mautalent again! Thank you again Tim, Aislinn and Pippa :0)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We joined a group of people who stayed at Chalet Mautalent last year for their visit in 2014. Our total group was 8 adults and 4 children. We had heard how great it was, so we had high expectations … and they were all met. Our made to order breakfasts, afternoon tea - with yummy homemade baked goods, and gourmet dinners were great. Our children were fed first and then the adults could enjoy our meal as the kids got ready for bed. The table could fit us all for the meal if we chose to do it that way. The variety and quality of food was great.

Tim was wonderful and set up childcare, private lessons and ski rentals for us. He also drove us to the slopes and picked us up. We rarely had to lift a finger. Our hosts, Aislinn and Pippa were lovely and helped take great care of us - even stopping food prep to get us new linens when our son spilled a drink on our bed. We tried to remake the bed ourselves, but they would not allow us.

We had a wonderful time skiing, sledding, visiting local towns and just relaxing. We hope to get back again someday soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank kchoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The tasty ski company certainly lived up to its name the quality of the food was excellent from start to finish. Breakfast consisted of cereals, porridge and an excellent selection of cooked options with pain au chocolate, croissants, fruit and anything else you could possible want. On arrival back at the chalet late afternoon we were always greeted with a freshly baked cake and French bread. Dinner started with canapés & pre dinner drinks and the menu excellent consisting of dishes such as Duck confit & pork belly. All the food was of a high restaurant quality and down to chef Damian and ablely assisted by wife Jody who was always anticipating our needs and consistently topping up our glass with the excellent wines that were served with dinner.
The chalet is warm and cosy with big comfortable sofas and a hot tub which was most welcome after a hard days skiing. We were dropped off at the ski left each morning which is only a couple of minutes drive away and we used to walk back most days which only took 10-15 mins. Morillon itself is fairly quiet with not that much going on if you wanted a day off not that much to do. The skiing was some of the best I have done with some of the nicest blue and red runs I have done. The only complaint I would have was the bed and the bedroom. Our beds were twins which were hard and uncomfortable and certainly did not lend itself to a good nights sleep. The room was also small and the bathroom had a curtain and no door which didn't give much privacy!
One other factor to bear in mind is that you are dependent upon who is your chef and there is no quarantee Damian and Jody will be there next season however Tim who owns and runs the chalet is also a chef with high standards.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Galloppinggourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful trip, the chalet was warm and comfortable with everything you could need on a ski holiday. Everything was easy and had been thought of from the quick transfer from the airport, which was included, to the plentiful afternoon tea left out every afternoon.

The food throughout the week was absolutely fantastic, we have never eaten so consistently well before and both came back considerably heavier even after the skiing. There was four courses each night, which was brilliantly cooked by Damien each night who was happy to answer any questions we had. There was plenty of very nice wine over dinner and there was always a bottle for everyone to share after dinner plus the honesty bar.

Morillion itself was quite quiet with just a few shops and restaurants. There was only really one bar but this didn't bother us too much as we were happy to stay in the chalet. The skiing area far surpassed our expectations with some lovely blue and red runs around Flaine and plenty of variety for skiers of all levels.

We will definitely be returning on another holiday with the Tasty Ski Company.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank CThompson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Warm, comfortable and very clean chalet within walking distance of ski lift but there is a minibus drop off and pick up included. Great ski area for all abilities.
But.... what made this the best ski holiday was the food! The chef, Damian, produced the most amazing food and was so calm and relaxed! Every meal was a treat, I have never had a week of such fab food. Jodie, our chalet host, was also fantastic. She is so polite and friendly, serving with great flair.
I cannot recommend this chalet / company enough - from smooth pick up at Geneva, the great chalet, the unbelievable food and really good value! We will be back :o)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
London
1
Reviewed 2 March 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morillon
6.4 mi away
The Tasty Ski Company - The Grange
0.5 mi away
Residence Grand Massif
Residence Grand Massif
#3 of 6 in Morillon
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Buet
Residence Odalys Le Buet
#5 of 6 in Morillon
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Chalet de la Source
Le Chalet de la Source
#1 of 2 in Morillon
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nemea Vacances Les Chalets du Bois de Champelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tasty Ski Company - Chalet Mautalent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tasty Ski Company - Chalet Mautalent

Address: Route de Samoens | Verchaix-en-bas, 74440 Morillon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Morillon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Morillon
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury chalet by The Tasty Ski Company. Catered in winter and self-catered in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Tasty Ski Company - Chalet Mautalent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tasty Ski Company - Chalet Mautalent Morillon, Grand Massif, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing