We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for group of family and friends”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
234 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 234 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Angelina5...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place but has a number of drawbacks”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
8
people found this review helpful

Great facilities, we choose this venue to celebrate my best friends 60th birthday. The owner is on site , which I think is a draw back as there is a feeling of being watched, even though he was very pleasant. There two main issues with this property, one his dogs are roaming around, we were ok with this but they came in the house and also opened their bowels on the lawn. This is not acceptable when you have paying guests. The second issue is the that at least 50% of our party have developed a rash from using the hot tub. He did come and clean it on the Sunday but unfortunately has blamed the guest for the development of the rash which is caused by the hot tub being contaminated. I think if his response had been more constructive we may have just chalked this one up to experience. In summary great location, great facilities but he needs to sort out getting the hot tub cleaned !! We will not go back.

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelasl...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great for group of family and friends”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed here for my 60th Birthday with family and friends. The youngest aged 5, the oldest 71.
There is ample parking for all of our cars.
When I booked it I tried with the help of the photo's to imagine the layout so hope my description can help others.
Upon entering the main door, which incidentally involves going down 3 steep steps you are into the hall with a gallery landing above. There is a loo and the laundry room off the hall. You can also enter the second sitting room which has seating for about 9 people and a door through to the indoor pool
You then go through to the other lounge that has 2 large settees and 3 easy chairs plus some hard back chairs around the room. From here you go into a small hallway which leads to the large kitchen and to the dining room. Off the dining room there are doors through to the garden room and through here to the hot tub and the main doors to the indoor pool.
From the hall you go up to the gallery landing. The first room that you come to is the family room that has a double and 2 single beds plus a large bathroom with shower.
Along the landing there are the first set of winding stairs up to the second floor. Along the first floor landing onto a small double room, the shared bathroom and the large bedroom at the end that has a double bed and a single bed. If I were to make any improvements here I would try and fit a loo and basin into the large bedroom so that you do not have to share the bathroom.
To the other side of the landing there are a few steps up to another double bedroom, this is the one with the bath in the room.
There is a second set up stairs leading to another double ensuite room.
From the first set of stairs to the second floor there are steps that lead to another double with ensuite, stairs that twist round to a small twin room off another landing, more steps up to another room that has a double bed and 2 single beds plus ensuite. It should be noted that the 2 single beds in this room are along a beam that only gives about 2 foot clearance between the bed and the beam, so are only really suitable for the nimble or children.
Outside there are a couple of garden tables and plenty of seating, a garden area then leads up to a field that would be suitable for games though you would have to watch for dog poo as Mel the owner has 3 dogs.
The house is lovely, quirky as you would expect from a house of this age and the owner Mel who lives in an annexe at the back of the kitchen is lovely.
The house must be a nightmare to keep clean and to be honest could perhaps do with closing for a few days perhaps twice a year for a real blitz, but I appreciate that a house of this age will always have dust and cobwebs.
There is Wi-Fi in the property and found the router on the American fridge freezer (on that note there is no need to take ice as the freezer makes it)
The swimming pool was a real bonus though perhaps just a degree or 2 too warm, again I appreciate that it is good to keep it warm for the children. There is a pool towel for everyone and a shower basin and loo off the pool.
Whilst were there we ordered an Indian from the local Indian that delivers (there are menus in the hall) We also tried to order from the local Chinese but it is closed for a few weeks so had to go further afield but of the 2 next nearest places neither delivered.
On the Sunday we went for lunch to the 3 Cottages pub that is about 3 miles away where were had a very reasonably priced lunch that was very nice.
We all enjoyed our stay and would come back if the opportunity arose. I would note that because Mel allows dogs if you have an allergy it may be best to avoid
I note that another comment on TA mentioned that Mel came into the house. But we were left on our own and only saw him from time to time crossing the garden. The children went and asked him a few questions about the history of the house and we all found him to be very friendly. I can only assume that the people who don't like him are from the south where they sit on the tube avoiding any eye contact !!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the history of the place and the pool
Liked least: mouse droppings in the top bedroom
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r4ch4el
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous group holiday rental with amazing pool and hottub”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us stayed here for 3 nights in June and we had an absolutely fantastic stay. We were 14 adults and 7 babies and the house was just ideal. The dining room is out of this world, it looks like it is taken straight out of Downtown Abbey! We treated ourselves and got local caterers in (at a really reasonable rate) and it felt like a real treat to eat in there. We had more casual meals in the conservatory on the other evenings where there are two big tables and heaters. The whole property was really cosy and the owner doesn't scrimp with the details. There were extras we certainly haven't experienced in other similarly priced group properties - a hot tub, gorgeous warm huge swimming pool, candles, wine in the bedrooms, BBQ, Pool table and an amazing huge flat lawn out the back perfect for the kids to play or group sports.
There is a nice flat walk called the 5 pits trail nearby, which suited us with prams.
We had a great stay and would certainly recommend the place to others and would visit again I am sure.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimmimg pool area was immaculate and kept so warm, perfect for relaxing
Liked least: Few areas to watch with toddlers - hot aga, top of staircases, steps outside in garden.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
985melani...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the BEST..5 star weekend..Everything thing was PERFECT”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our weekend at Hagg Hill Hall was unforgettable. Every inch of the house is stunning and each room caters to your every need....and more! The owner Lord Humphrey has gone above and beyond the standard luxury holiday rental and ensures you have everything you need to enjoy your trip to the maximum.

Don't just enjoy the photos, the house itself is indescribable, I couldn't recommend a stay at Hagg Hill Hall anymore..please go and enjoy the greatest, most lavish trip of your lifetime.

Thank you Lord Humphrey for a hen do that all the girls still cant stop talking about! We'll be booking again ASAP.

Date of stay: May 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie D
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding House, 5*, can't praise enough.”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a long weekend at Hagg Hill, our second weekend in 3 years & I cannot recommend it highly enough, it really is fabulous!!!
The facilities are incredible & Mel the owner is a true gentleman & couldn't have been more helpful. The kitchen is well stocked & the Aga kept as all warm & cosy!
The outside space is perfect for BBQs & games, with the great addition of the beautifully warm indoor pool we were well & truly spoilt!
Can't wait to visit again!!!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseb1960
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2014

We have just spent 5 fantastic days at Hagg Hill Hall.There were 16 of us 8 adults and 8 kids.
Everyone had a fantastic time.The owner was there to meet and greet and give us the grand tour,I found that a lovely personal touch.All the rooms are spacious and welcoming.the pool and hot tub were an immediate hit with everyone and the water in both was always warm.There were lovely towels for pool use and pool toys provided for the kids.The owner Mel was round and about but not intrusive and kept us amused with his tales when we wanted him to,a fact that I found nice that he was a sociable sole.It is a beautiful house that we had pleasure in staying in and would have no hesitation in returning to.Thank you Mel for sharing a little bit of luxury with us and letting us stay in that beautiful house.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing House and holiday home!!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I visited Hagg Hill Hall with 16 friends for a long weekend in May 2015. The house is incredible and not to mention the indoor swimming pool and hot tub. As a group we planned a number of meals to cook over the weekend and the kitchen was kitted out with every appliance you could ever need. When we were given the grand tour of the house the owner Mel could not have been more welcoming. Although the house is full of antiques, we were told to have fun and call the house our home. Although Mel stays nearby we never felt intimidated by him being around as any time he visited to check the pool and hot tub he brought banter and lots of laughter with him. The house was very clean and i would highly recommend it to families who are looking for a quiet break or groups of friends who are looking to have a boozie fun weekend away. There's plenty of space outside to go for a walk or play outside activities. Mel also leaves complimentary wine in all of the bedrooms (which is a massive bonus) and there was plenty of towels and a laundry room if needed. Whilst visiting Hagg Hill Hall it was one of the girls birthday and Mel turned up at the house with a bunch of flowers for her which was so lovely. I could not fault Mel or the house and after retuning home we are now looking to book the house again for next year. This house is a gem of a find!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.