We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect girls weekend away”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
157 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 157 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChesterLo...
Chester
1 review
“Perfect girls weekend away”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We spent 3 nights at Hagg Hill Hall over a weekend for my friend’s hen party celebrations in Nov 2017. 18 of us stayed over at this wonderful old house and it was just perfect.
Mel was a wonderfully helpful host and was there on hand just next door in case we had any issues or questions.
We had a brilliant time partying in the pool and relaxing in the hot tubs. We arranged caterers to come in on one evening to cook us a delicious 3 course meal served up in the spectacular dining room. We also had a beauty therapist come in one day and do various beauty treatments. The space in the house meant there was plenty of room for all of this so if you are organising a girlie weekend like us why not consider doing something similar.
It really was the perfect venue for the hen party celebrations and I would wholeheartedly recommend Hagg Hill Hall to any groups of friends or family
Thank you Mel! Hope to visit you again sometime soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StEllesme...
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a family weekend”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Hagg Hill Hall is a 17c manor house furnished with antiques. It is elegant but sufficiently robust to cater for children. The dining room is magnificent, the two living rooms comfortable swimming pool would keep a family of children occupied for a wet weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The most beautiful cosy house you'll ever see.”
Reviewed 1 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Live the Tudor dream in this exquisite house! Fabulous rooms of great character and facilities, exotic pool and hot-tubs, perfect for all ages. Truly a unique house in beautiful countryside. Mel, the owner is kind and generous, the perfect host. Don't miss this!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WivenhoeU...
Wivenhoe UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“60th birthday bash”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

17 of us came to celebrate my 60th birthday. Mel was very welcoming and took great pains to show every room so we could best allocate the rooms to our party. The swimming pool, kiddies pool and hot tubs were a real hit as was the beautiful dining room. All in all a perfect opportunity to get our whole family in one place for my birthday. Full marks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
1 review
“Outstanding atmospheric venue for a large family get together”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The wonderful Derbyshire location leads to enchanting holiday home, which has everything you need for a wonderful stay.

The facilities are really impressive, with plenty of space for all ages.

Being showed around by the owner Mel, was a treat and his friendly personal attention throughout the weekend was appreciated.

We all enjoyed a very special weekend and look forward to returning next year to enjoy the swimming pool, hot tubs and boat in the garden!

The fully equipped kitchen and aga was a real please to use for the chefs!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S
1 review
“Birthday celebrations with 4 generations”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful location for a week away and a wonderful period house to stay in. With 4 generations comes numerous children of varying ages (2-15yrs) and with adults up to 70yrs the indoor swimming pool and both indoor and outdoor hot tubs were invaluable, enjoyed by all! With plenty of rooms available for a ‘quiet doze’, watching the tv, completing a puzzle in peace or just having a natter with a glass or 2 in the kitchen by the always warm aga, there is plenty of space to be sociable or to hide away. As you would expect with a period house, there are many floors and uneven surfaces with lots of stairs to access the bedrooms, all on the upper levels. Absolutely wonderful week away and hoping to come back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fabulous Weekend Retreat! ”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our group of 6 couples had a wonderful weekend at Hagg Hill Hall! Set on a hill with lovely views and easy access to the scenic Peak District, the hall is warm and comfortable with a spacious farmhouse kitchen with aga and large breakfast table and 2 lounges with plenty of sofas and roaring log fires. There were lots of four poster beds to choose from and a panelled dining room with silver service to dine in fine style. We particularly enjoyed the large warm swimming pool and two hot tubs. Mel took time to show us round, helped with queries and had added many lovely extra touches that made for a great stay. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing