We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT accommodation, great host, nothing too...”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
157 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 157 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Warringto...
Warrington, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT accommodation, great host, nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a 3 night stay with 18 other ladies and everything was just PERFECT. House has everything you could possibly need, the host was extremely helpful & we could not thank him enough in helping make our stay as smooth as possible.
Can highly recommend this accommodation & host and we will be back. Tina P

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliberry2...
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming house steeped in history & full of charachter”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

21 friends just returned from renting this house for a long weekend We were delighted with the charm of the hall, built in the 17th century. Full of character. The house was surprisingly warm, with a huge log fire - fabulous argar belting out the heat. Lots of charm & filled with interesting antiques & nik-naks, So much to see. No disappointment whatsover with any of the amenities. We found Mel to be unobtrusive & pleasant. The Hall was clean & well maintained & we were able to take full advantage of everything it offered.It would appear that any poor reviews given previously have clearly been taken on board. It does seem to be rather unreasonable that the lead review is so unfavourable, as the comments made, bore no resemblance to our own experience. We stayed whilst it was snowing but this only served to add to the charm & ambiance, of the place.Scenery looked just like a christmas card & with so much to do within the house,there was no requirement to leave it. I'm surprised that the unfavourable reviewer in 2014 had the time to take a straw poll from the owner's neighbours as they would have been too busy digging themselves out of the snow! .Fabulous dining room and the conservatory, also comfortably seated 22 was festooned with beautiful little fairy lights covering the roof & windows which created a lovely warm, almost magical charm.We had absolutely no complaints and would be happy to recommend this rental to a friend. Such a good time was had by all that we will definitely return. If forced to make any negative comments it would be to ask Mel to invest in a clean dish cloth & sponge scourer!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey M
lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“couldn't have gone to a better place for my special birthday with special friends”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Hagg hill hall is a beautiful place and very special for a celebration. Eighteen of us have just spent the weekend celebrating a birthday, The hall is full of character very comfortable with the open fires and the four poster beds. The pool and hot tubs were a real treat. The owner Mel was a real character extremely friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you for the wine and flowers Mel. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for something extra special and would visit again myself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from my hen weekend here and it was absolutely wonderful. Mel the owner made us feel very welcome and relaxed in his lovely 'Hagg Hill Hall'. It has everything you need for a wonderful stay - very comfortable rooms, unlimited towels, slippers and robes for the pool and hot tub, also wine and water in every room. He was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Hagg Hill Hall is a fabulous place and I'm sure that some of us will return. Thank you to Mel for the gifts of flowers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to bring in the new year with family and friends.”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nineteen of us stayed at this lovely property for a week to bring in the New Year. When we arrived all the rooms had Christmas trees and other festive decorations, which made for a great atmosphere. Pool and hot tubs used every day by us all. Kitchen well equipped and plenty of wood for open fires. Bedding, towels and bath robes all provided. Wine and water in all the bedrooms. I have now visited Hagg Hill Hall on two occasions one for a 'hen do' and now a family get together. I would highly recommend this property.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing place to spend Christmas! 🎄”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Visited here with my family (17 of us with 3 generations and 2 dogs) for a week over Christmas, stunning property with everything that you could ever need. The swimming pool and hot tubs really add to the experience too! I would highly recommend this as somewhere special to go with loved ones. Also Mel is the perfect host and looks after you so well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jone5y85
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“3rd time at Hagg Hill Hall”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We just love it at Hagg Hill Hall Farm. 3rd year we’ve stayed near Christmas time and we’ve already booked to go again next year. It’s such a great place to stay with friends and family of all ages! The pool and hot tubs top it off. Such value for money. There was 21 of us, 16 adults and 5 children and it didn’t feel like we were stepping over each other at all. There’s so many different rooms, including a boat in the garden, for us all to have our own space. Thanks Mel x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing