We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Mexico Vera
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vera
Almeria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel (not the apartments) is beautifully decorated in the Mexican style; the rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. The heating worked efficiently and there were plenty of bathroom supplies. The reception, bar and breakfast staff were all very pleasant and helpful. There were sufficient options for breakfast. My only criticism would be that there isn't a choice of smoking and non-smoking rooms, so our room stunk of stale smoke. Unfortunately, Vera Playa/Puerto Rey is one of those Spanish costal towns that is 99% closed in the winter so very little to do or see in the immediate area but Garrucha and Mojacar are a short drive away where there is a choice of bars/eateries available.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    55
    42
    31
    12
See reviews for
74
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrox, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

First impressions on entering reception good but very quickly disappointed. Rooms dated. Reception staff lovely but all other staff surly and unhelpful. Breakfast ok first morning but second morning moved from restaurant to bar area resulting in very limited choice - only things on offer scrambled egg which looked as though it had been there hours, bacon and cold meats, cheeses etc. Vera itself has nothing - no bars or restaurants just a couple of chiringuitos on the beach. When I asked in reception if there were any bars around I was told no as it was a residential area. Hotel bar very quiet with not another soul in and closed promptly at 12 o'clock. Parking at the hotel 4.50 euros a day or 9 euros a day underground.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vera hotels

Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We just came back from our second vacation in Hotel Mexico in Vera, Almeria. We decided to go there again because the weather is more predictable, the area is not that busy and noisy as Alicante, and the hotel is a perfect place for families with small children- we stayed in a one-bedroom apartment with kitchen and a terrace overlooking the swimming pool. I must say that compared to our first visit in 2007 the hotel is greatly improved on two fronts. Firstly, the pool area looks much nicer now as all the construction work around the hotel is definitely over. Secondly, we found the hotel service more accessible, responsive and helpful this time around. Our children, aged 4 and 2 loved the swimming pool, where they spent hours, as much as they loved the beach. I personally appreciate the fact that the hotel also has a very professional gym and fitness centre. Having travelled a lot, I dislike hotels which claim to have a gym and when you get there you find it to be a dumping room for useless pieces of outdated equipment. This hotel's gym was on the contrary quite complete to the point that locals pay a membership and a monthly fee to use it- of course being free for hotel guests. As most tourists do, we drove down to impressive ‘Cabo de Gata’ natural park in the south in our search for wild beaches. However, by accident we found a handful of lovely hidden coves driving north just a few kilometers away from the hotel. We counted at least 10 little coves of pristine turquoise waters but we will not share the name of our favorite one, as we want it to continue to be our hidden gem. We cannot wait for our next travel in September.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I just returned from a second stay at Hotel Mexico & was as delighted with it as the first time. Staff were always helpful & tried hard to understand my non-existent phrasebook Spanish, doing their best to speak English whenever possible.

Reception staff were helpful in finding bus timetables, booking taxis & helping us find our way around the large building.

The rooms are clean, large & whilst the views are not spectacular, the location is peaceful & easy to navigate.

The beach is barely 10 minutes away, & having travelled at the end of the season, both hotel & beach were quiet despite glorious weather.

My only minor niggle is that smoking is still allowed in the bar/lounge that hosts entertainment (& football on large screen!!), but as the hotel was quiet this was not a major headache.

I'll definitely go again next time I'm in the area!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Smoking allowed in places
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Reception area very well presented. Staff helpful and friendly. Good size double room very clean. Comprehensive selection of complimentary bathroom products including razor, comb, soap,bath gell, shower cap, toothbrush & toothpaste and packs of pocket size tissues. Decent size balcony with chairs and table. Only slight niggle was that shower was not thermostatically controlled but not a major problem.
Very good selection of hot and cold food at the breakfast buffet.
For convenience, we chose to eat dinner in the hotel's El Paso restaurant and selected the daily 3 course €12 menu - excellent service and good quality food. Meal for two complete with nice bottle of wine and tip - total €40 which we felt was superb value for money.
We left early in the morning before breakfast, but had requested a 'picnic' which was waiting for us at reception when we checked out.
We will be returning to the area within the next couple of months and will use this hotel again.

  • Liked — Clenliness, food, service
  • Disliked — No real compaints
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2006

Hotel Mexico offers spacious, immaculately clean, modern rooms. The entire interior of the hotel is fitted out to a high and comfortable standard and all immaculately clean. Unfortuntely the same cannot be said for the exterior and pool area. There is a great deal of building development in the area, inlcuding the construction of apartments to the rear of the hotel (which has been ongoing for over a year now and I would anticipated at least another 6 months!). As a result everything outside is dusty. The sunbeds and chairs do not appear to have been cleaned for the on-coming season and require a thorough wipe over before I would be willing to use them - consequently I didnt which is a shame as the pool area, although adjacent to a very busy road, is nicely laid out and the pool looked very enticing.
For first time travellers to Vera, be advised that the amount of construction in the area is a detraction from the resort. There did appear to be an impact on tourists to the hotel this time compared to the same period last year and for some reason, despite being end of May, alot of the restaurants and bars did not open for business the entire week i was there. Perhaps the amount of construction is having an affect on the tourist industry?
Although there are a few facilities (shops and bars) within walking distance from the hotel, you will definately benefit from a hire car.
The hotel itselfs is only really let down by the quality of the food which is of poor quality (especailly the dried up breakfast) and over-priced and lack of attention to the dust impact to the pool facilities.
The staff themselves are very helpful, friendly and the majority are english speaking.
Equipped with an apartment with kitchen facilities and a hire car, I would recommend Hotel Mexico as a base for seeing this area of Spain.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton UK
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2005

Made the unfortunate mistake of booking a week B & B at The Mexico in July 2005.
Hotel staff, from check in to restaurant all surley, unfriendly and totally unhelpful.
Restaurant ran out of coffee, food etc every day. Instead of replenishing just told us food had stopped.
Our bedding was NOT changed throughout the stay.
Our room was smelly, smokey and in poor repair. No fridge or other facilities. telephone never worked.
We have obviously told the management about our concerns they just ignore them and say YES you are right but there is nothing we can do, it is our summer staff.
This could be a GREAT hotel but there seems to be very poor managment and customer service.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vera
0.5 mi away
Zimbali Playa Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parque Tropical
Parque Tropical
#4 of 7 in Vera
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Advise Aparthotel Reina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adaria Vera
Hotel Adaria Vera
#1 of 1 in Playas de Vera
293 reviews
3.7 mi away
Servigroup Marina Mar
Servigroup Marina Mar
#4 of 24 in Mojacar
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Infiniti Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Mexico Vera

Property: Hotel Apartamentos Mexico Vera
Address: Ctra Garrucha - Villaricos s/n, 04620 Vera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Vera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Vera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Mexico Vera 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Mexico Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Mexico
Hotel Apartamentos Mexico Vera Spain - Almeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing