We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful welcome back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elba Carlota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Elba Carlota
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful welcome back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

After trying to find a self catering apartment or villa in the location we liked in Caleta, Fuerteventura, we gave up and decided to go back to the Elba Carlota where we had spent a happy month a few years ago. After booking my husband asked if I had checked Tripadvisor to see if standards had slipped. I confessed I hadn't but went online to check. What struck me immediately was that for every comment there was a reply from the manager and the response to one comment re having tea making facilities was that when we arrived there was a well stocked tray and kettle. That's service. The hotel is as nice as we remember and the staff, as most contributors have commented, were more than helpful and so pleasant. The hotel rooms are spacious and well furnished and cleaning is of high standard and frequent. We had a room overlooking the edge of the restaurant and pool and had sun all day (when we got back from our daily constitutional) The food in the restaurant is of a high standard. I have a reputation for being a picky eater ( I deny it!) but each day I had a good choice. The TV now shows quite a few English channels - last time it was mainly BBC or Sky news so we were able to relax completely and that was what we needed after a particularly gruesome year in 2013. The location of the hotel just outside the town is ideal for a morning stroll and the completion of the new promenade will make the walk along the beach much easier. It is also close to the Atlantico shopping mall which also has a Spar shop to stock up on treats.Thank you Carlota staff for a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we hope to see you for a month in November when we plan on booking a Junior Suite to allow an even more relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are in sun for a good part of the day. Junior Suites have a settee and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LazyB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
dear madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences in our hotel.
I am very pleased to see your experiences here were so positive!
As we are always looking to improve,so I must admit I am proud to see that comming back showed you we have improved in many different ways!
If there is anything we can do for you to make your next visit in November even more enjoyable, please let us know!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    1,364
    468
    130
    76
See reviews for
1,344
1,626
92
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in Spain, the hotel was a fab choice. It's a really modern clean hotel with great views, the beach is only a few meters away. Would definitely stay here again no doubt about it.
Was very pleased with the food as I'm a fussy eater and vegetarian I sure stuffed myself that week.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
dear miss natalie,

I would like to thank you for commenting on our hotel.
We have an average of 650 guests in our hotel, and we try to make each and every one happy and satisfied, which is not always an easy job.
That is for example why i am proud to see you say that as a vegetarian you enjoyed your meals in our reaturant.We always try to help and assist also in special ocasions, or for special wishes or diets, so it is good to see we have succeeded to make you happy.
Myslef and all the staf of hotel Elba Carlota are looking forward to your next stay here!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had just the most fabulous time on our week stay at Elba Carlotta. Our little one Luca just loved all the attention from staff, hotel visitors, people of Caletta du fuste. Majority of staff were warm, welcoming and very hardworking. The Animation team especially Melissa were fun and encouraging. We choose the Carlotta as we wanted an all inclusive hotel, near the beach, by a supermarket(for babystuff) and stones throw from the airport. Food was yummy and varied, room great (although after a windy night the balcony in room 553 seemed precarious) forgot to mention checking out. Will definetly be back with family and extended family. Loved being round lots of older people(hilarious!) also out of season not to noisy yet; as our little one made enough noise for the whole hotel. You made it all very easy for us. P.S Most taxi's in Caletta have car seats for 1yr and over so no need to bring your own or even book an additional transfer. We are well travelled internationally for work and pleasure and without doubt found the people here some of the the warmest all round, from taxi's to hotel staff.

Room Tip: We had a room opposite Atlantico sign(not great view)-but lovely sun trap in afternoons with additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
dear miss Joyce,

Thank you very much for writing about your experiences in our hotel.
I am very happy to see you and your family have enjoyed yourselves here with us,
and that you have apreciated our hotel, our services and our staff.
We are all looking forward to your next stay here with us, dont wait too long!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykobing Falster, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have been in Elba Carlotta 4 times, it is a very excellent hotel. We will come back. The personale ist very kindly and extremely helpfull. We decide to take half board and it was very good. Once we tried all inclusive, but for us, it was too much.

Room Tip: The rooms I and my parents have lived in, has always been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank britt2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
dear sir / madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about hotel Elba Carlota.
It is always a great pleasure and very motivating to read such a positive review.
And for you to say that all inclusive is too much, I take that as a compliment!
Myself and all the staff are looking forward to see you again soon,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have just returned from an 11 nights stay at the Elba Carlota (06/01/14 to 17/01/14)

Here are my comments:

The hotel was advertised as a 5* but it is actually a 4*

The entertainment was ok (we found it good that they have a mini club for children trough out the day and early evening)

The children's pool was only heated for a few days and after that was too cold to enter

THE FOOD WAS DISGUSTING...! EVEN IF THIS HOTEL WAS ACTUALLY A 1* I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT. ALL FOODS ARE A COMBINATION OF PREPACKED, PICKLED, OR FROZEN. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING IS FRESH AND UNLESS YOU REALLY DONT MIND EATING FROZEN VEGGIES ALL THE TIME DO NOT GO ALL INCLUSIVE TO THIS HOTEL.

Everything else was acceptable... for a 4* hotel All the staff are really nice..!
This is the first time I find myself writing a review particularly of this nature.. We really are not so particular with food but I cannot stress enough how disappointing it was for both me and my wife.. and the only reason we endured it most of the time was that we had our child with us and could not go to outside in the evening to eat. I will be writing also to the www.hotelselba.com to ask if this kind of food is the norm across the other hotels in their group.
I feel so strongly that this hotel has let itself down with its F&B that I cannot rate it more than a 1* and this is basically because of the food and nothing else.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank legepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
dear sir,


Let me start of by informing you that hotel Elba Carlota is a four star hotel, not a five star, we do not advertise that.
I think it is a real pitty you did not let us know any of your concerns whilst here, instead you write a review like this from your house, not really fair.
If you would have discussed the matters with a member of the direction team, we could have for example informed you that our food indeed is fresh!We prepare our food new on a daily base.
We have an average ocupation of 650 guests, and obviously it is difficult to please every single one of them, which most of the time is a quistion of personal tastse, and not the quiality of the food. I am sorry you failed to understand.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My partner and I just got back from a 4 night stay(January 2014) at the Hotel Elba Carlota.
We booked to stay in a Junior Suite overlooking the sea.
Room comments:
The room (462)was really spacious with a massive balcony, which had 2 sunbeds which meant we could just sunbathe on our balcony and not have to sit around the pool. We also booked a junior suite as it has a Jacuzzi, which was real bonus as well as a walk in shower. The room also has a separate sitting area with sofa if you like to watch tv. The room was really good, housekeeping came everyday and on 2 of the days when we got back from dinner, the housekeeping team made up our bed and left some chocolate for us, which was a nice gesture. We went there to celebrate my birthday, on my actual birthday, a staff member knocked on the door and gave us a bottle of of brut, a plate of fruit and 2 bottles of water, which came with a card which was very sweet. The only negative about the room is that 2 lamps were broken ( we think they needed a new bulb) which meant the room was very dark. We told reception however the lights remained unfixed whilst we were there.
Food comments:
We decide to opt for half board. Breakfast had the usual, fresh bread, yogurt, cereal , hot food etc. I mainly had the bread which was nice. The things to stay away from is the cooked sausages as they tasted awful and the freshly squeezes orange juice wasn't great either.
Dinner was more or less the same each night, however there were some changes each night and we did enjoy it. We had soft drinks which were 2.20 euro each for a glass which isn't bad but not really worth the price.
Reception comments:
We found the reception staff to be extremely helpful, Gabriel in particular was very friendly.
Pool/Activities comments:
The pool was freezing however it is to be expected in January. I actually found the sea warmer. There is a gate pass the swimming pool which gives access straight to the beach. My partner did the archery and said it was ok. There is a games room, we played pool one night which was fun. They also have a tennis court, which you can leave a deposit and hire the rackets and they have a indoor ping pong table.
As a young couple in their twenties, it was a very relaxing holiday however there were loads of older people which meant many activities didn't run as not many people would get involved. However we wanted a relaxing holiday and so we preferred to be around older people instead of children running around, though this may not suit everyone.
Overall I would say it is a decent hotel to stay in. The weather isn't great in January as it rained, though there were some sunny spots and I was able to come home with a tan.

Room Tip: If your looking for a suite with a good view, I would recommend room 462 as there are 2 sunbeds on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
dear sir / madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
As I always say, it is a great pleasure to read posisite reviews like yours, it really motivates myself and our staff to continue giving the best service as possible, as that is what we are here for.
I hope by now you have joined our fidelity club, if not, please take a look on our website to aply, because it is free and you would have a lot of benefits and discounts for a next stay here or in any other Elba hotel.
I hope to see you again soon,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel with my 3 year old daughter in January 2014 (since my husband had to work and our 6 months old was too little for this trip). There were only elderly people, very few other children, the animation team (like 10 people) mainly entertained each other and refused to try and gather the few kids and do a fun activity with them. Our table at the restaurant was cleared and given to other people when we went to the toilet. Upon my official complaint, the restaurant manager refused to apologize. In one word: terrible.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CCvdG271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
dear madam,


Thank you for the review about hotel Elba Carlota.
Obviously I can say I am not happy to read your comments and the title of the review.
It is a shame you did not let a member of the direction team know your concerns, as there is always one of us on duty to help and assist you wherever you need.
We get praised over and over again for our animation team and their activeties and shows, so it really surprises me you speak about them in a negetive way.
In the month of januari there are no schoolholidays, so that for you will not find many children in our, or any, hotel at time. Just a thought for the next time you go on holidays, wherever it will be.

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigua
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
23.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
36.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elba Carlota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Carlota

Property: Hotel Elba Carlota
Address: Carretera Jandia Km. 11 | Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#6 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Carlota 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Elba Carlota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Carlota Hotel
Elba Carlota Antigua
Hotel Elba Carlota Fuerteventura/Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing