We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at Elba Carlota”
Review of Hotel Elba Carlota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elba Carlota
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely time at Elba Carlota”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from two week break at EC.
Our trip was picked following reviews on TA and the price we found. Having read some reviews was a little apprehensive re certain aspects such as sunbeds, the low flying aircraft and the food but in reality we should not have been concerned. The hotel is a good quality 4 star with many facilities including tennis, volleyball and for the footballers, football at least three times per week. There is also a lovely beach just outside the rear gate.
In regards to the sunbeds they are locked and you need to be ready to get one if you want one but this is no different than any other resort or hotel at the height of the season so don't complain just get up if you really want one. The food is very good quality and well cooked and anyone who moans is being over fussy it is mass catering for nearly 800 people and will be slightly repetitive but is very tasty.
The serving staff were all very nice and cheerful and previous reviews that were negative may have been the exception and not the rule.
The room was very nice, modern and clean with a good sized bathroom, the beds are slightly firm but as I like a harder bed I was very comfy.
The Animacion team are absolutely fantastic and work so very hard at making sure everyone has a good holiday, they all strike a good balance between trying to get people involved with activities, which are varied and good fun, and allowing people space to just relax, special thanks to Christopher, Nicola, Devora, Maggie, Roxanne, Julian, Eli, Garance, Stephen and Fabian for making us all feel like special guests even though they had hundreds of other guests to also entertain.
The evening entertainment is quite good and the Animacion team put in a lot of effort to produce an entertaining show though when shown in convention centre it loses a little atmosphere.
Other posts mention the lack of other options to the shows and I agree some form of entertainment in the lobby bar like some karaoke or similar might help.
Overall we had a great time at EC and would def recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of holidaying in Fuerteventura.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
dear mister David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your holdays in hotel Elba Carlota.
I am very pleased and proud to see your high evaluation and positive comments about our hotel, services and staff. We work to please our clients, and obviously we have succeeded, a great compliment!
I will make sure to pass on your review to the animation team and the rest of the staff,
as they will also be very happy to read your kind words about them.
I hope to see you again very soon,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    1,425
    487
    136
    77
See reviews for
1,401
1,717
95
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

There was a wide variety of food at this hotel and they had themed evenings - Italian, Mexican, Chinese etc. There was also a kids buffet (just in the evening), so they can still get chips, hot dogs, rice etc. The entertainment was also good and the team were very friendly. The only negative about this hotel was the kids club and the sunbed situation. The kids club was poorly supervised and we didn't feel comfortable leaving a 6 year old with them. Before I went to this hotel we read plenty of reviews about the sunbeds and reserving them early in the morning. We started doing this before going to breakfast as they were already getting reserved with towels. The hotel then changed the rules and the beds are now chained up until 9am, and then there is a mass of people rushing to go for breakfast at the same time. It has helped in a way but people still sit around the pool waiting the beds to be unchained, before pouncing on them! I don't know what the solution will be.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank carolineKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
dear miss Caroline,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay in hotel Elba Carlota.
I am very pleased to see that you have enjpyed yourself here with us, as that is our main goal.
I must say I am a little surprised about your comments on our miniclub, as we have strickt rules and regulations, children have to be signed in and out by their parents, and the children are always supervised by the entertainers at all times.
I hope this does not hold you back in comming to visit us again, as we would be honoured to welcome you again,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the Elba Carlota for 10 days in August. (2 Adults & 1 child of 11)
We had an amazing time - from our initial greeting from the great reception team. The staff at the hotel could not do enough to help and make sure the holiday was enjoyable from start to finish.

Our room was on the 3rd floor - it was clean and bright. The only thing I could think that would make it better was if the hotel put a few bottles of water in the fridge for the arriving guest. The bathroom was clean, bright and spacious. We did not have a pool view we were opposite the Sheraton Hotel but we had a nice view of the beach.

I read some reviews and people were moaning about it being in the flight path - I was not woke by air traffic once during my stay.

The pools are clean and well maintained and there is always a life guard on duty. The pool area gets cleaned every night. They do chain the sun beds up to try and avoid people reserving them but in all honesty I think this is a waste of time for the hotel as the same people stand outside waiting fro them to be unchained so it really doesn't achieve anything.

There is always something going on around the pool - the animation team offer aqua gym, water polo, spanish lessons, cooking lesson and latin dancing. There is a mini club and maxi club - my son did not attend the maxi club as it is not made very clear if this is only open to the guests booked with the main tour operator that books the hotel.

The food is plentiful and there is an awful lot of choice, every night there is a new theme and some other food to try. Service in the buffet is good too. I think anyone could find something they would enjoy.

Lobby bar upstairs is well presented and the staff are polite. Wifi in the lobby bar was weak but had great service in my room.

I would go back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VirtueFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
dear sir / madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your holiday in hotel Elba Carlota.
We always encourage our clients to give us their feedback, as seeing things from the point of view of a client helps us to improve where needed.
Your evaluation is a good example of that and I thank you for helping us to improve.
Obviously I also want to thank you for writing down so many positive comments, as that is very motivating for all the staff, myself included!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weeks stay myself and partner so amazing! We arrived and spoke with fabio at reception who was very helpful! The room was very clean and comfortable with maid service everyday! The food was very good especially with the different themes! Always a huge selection The best bit was the entertainment absolutely fantastic people so energetic always happy and made us feel welcome! I have never cried leaving a hotel but this one I did as we had made such good friends with the animation team! We will be definitely returning next year! We also met some lovely people from Portsmouth sandy I need your contact details xxx

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahlouubattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
dear miss Sarah,


Thank you very much fr your kind words spoken about hotel Elba Carlota.
It is always a great pleasure reading such a positive review as yours, as our main goal is to satisfy our custumers, and above all, to make them want to come back. Your comments clearly show us that we have succeeded.
I will make sure to pass on your review to the animation team and the rest of the staff, as they will also be very proud to read your kind words!
I hope to see you again soon!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Anybody who has been to this hotel and wrote a bad review needs their head examining
For me it was all about the entertainment team
It has nothing to do with Thomas Cook
There are 3 companies who have staff at this hotel framissima / anamacion / and iclub (I think)
If you don't get involved with any of them then you will regret it
They do activities all day from morning gym to shooting to archery to football to volleyball and best of all "AQUA GYM" .... No problem!!!
They put on shows on a night
Best reps to work in a hotel I have to say
Lovely relaxing location
The food was lovely and plenty to drink in the hot sun
They have kids clubs so you can let your children have fun all day while you relax or join in the activities
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday look no further
Everybody needs a bit of fun and you can join in with the entertainment team as you please
Book a minimum of 10 days as the first couple you will be getting settled and observing
All in all best holiday I have ever been had!
Will def go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James050984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
dear mister James,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your holiday experiences in hotel Elba Carlota.
I am very pleased and proud to see that those experiences were so positive, as that is what we try to aim for all of our clients.
Obviously it makes me very proud to read that this was the best holiday you have ever had!
Working with clients as yourself makes our job that much more satisffying and motivating, thank you so much!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weeks all inclusive holiday, wow I would say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, you could not find a fault at all. The staff were brilliant especially the entertainment team what a great bunch of energetic guys you could ever meet, reception was helpful and the food and drink went on forever, we have never gone back to a place before but we are returning next year for sure, we also joined the fidelity group as its a place you can return and we will, thanks elba Carlota for everything.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
dear miss Sandy,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review about hotel Elba Carlota.
It is always a great pleasure and very satisfying to read such a positive evaluation like yours.
Our daily goal is to satisfy our guests, and to make them want to come back, so I am very proud to see that we have achieved our goal!
with kind regards,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel,over all our stay was very good,the hotel and rooms were very clean ,the food was nice,the only complaint i would have is their policy on serving drinks .we went as a family of 3 and to be able to get a drink for each of us we had to go to the bar in twos otherwise we could only bring 2 drinks back to the table.i understand the hotel doesnt want to give out drinks which will be wasted,but when you are clearly getting drinks for a family i am sure the bar staff should be able to serve the required number of drinks.Also it was quite hard to get served because the bar staff tended to go to the ladies if there was a queue of people ,even if they had only just gone to the bar ,you had to make yourself heard ( which we realised afew days into the holiday ).other than that we had a nice stay and would reccomend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
dear mister Robert,

Thank you very much for your review about hotel Elba Carlota.
It is a great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed yourself whilst here, and have apreciated our hotel, services and staff.
I will certainly take note of your comments, as all feedback helps us to improve, thank you very much.
Myself and the rest of the staff are looking forward seeing you again!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigua
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
646 reviews
23.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
36.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elba Carlota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Carlota

Property: Hotel Elba Carlota
Address: Carretera Jandia Km. 11 | Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#6 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Carlota 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elba Carlota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Carlota Hotel
Elba Carlota Antigua
Hotel Elba Carlota Fuerteventura/Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing