We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truth staffordshire”
Review of Hotel Elba Carlota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elba Carlota
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 wks in August.Really enjoyed our stay. Food excellent as was location,directly oppo' beach at back where sand was beautiful.There was a lovely walkway there 2, along by beach 2 town small town,wild chipmonks along way so take some nuts as they will come 2 eat them from your hand. Super shopping mall 2 min's walk away.We booked a sea view room but b aware what they call sea view is actually side view unless u book suites at back which r more expensive.Although generally pleased with hotel a few improvements could b made .Eg opening of pool bar at night for adults,adults only pool in part of garden area at back with bar, there is more than enough room.More sun beds definitely needed especially in high season.The hotel takes 700 guests and yet there are only about 350-400 beds, I counted them!Sunbeds on beach are E3.50 and there is no bar or toilets,hotel doesn't own them so u r walking back and forth for facilities. Staff are very helpful and friendly especially reception and Daniel who booked us in.Well worth hiring car to travel around island, we visited all other resorts and we were in best one. B 4 we went, we looked at other hotels but having actually seen and walked around them whilst there, concluded ours was the best.Went on ferry 2 Lanzerote very good trip, well worth it. Also went 2 zoo worth going there 2. Rooms good size as was balcony but some balconies had small wall instead of railings, so 2 view sea at all u had 2 stand and lean over, not ours fortunately = 425 as I could look through bars at side. Good design of corridors as built around small garden area so light and airy.Island quite windy, so cool in evenings, take jacket.Near airport so some planes coming over but not problem.All in all super holiday,worth 4 stars. NB wi fi v poor even in reception although free.These days there should b free wi fi in all parts of hotels even bed rooms! Another improvement most needed is bar for AI until 12 not 11.
Lovely 2 have tea making facilities in room but nothing was ever replenished!Fridge useful too.

Room Tip: High floor Rooms on side of hotel where ours was 425 = pm sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank TruthStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

dear sir / madam,

Than kyou very much for evaluating your holidays in hotel Elba Carlota.
We always encourage our clients to give us their feedback about their stay, to keep up our services and to improve them where needed.
This is why I thank you not only for the positive words spoken, but also for your points of improvement, you even bothered to count the sunbeds!
I will make sure to take note of your comments, as they will certainly help our job.
Thank you very much!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,699 - 1,705 of 4,196 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had a fantastic week at Elba Carlotta. Firstly let me just say. Unless you have a transfer included from airport don't book one, we got a taxi it was about 10 mins trip and cost about 5-6 euros!! From the minute we arrived we were looked after. Reception we friendly and helpful and were able to assist with any problems effectively and fast. Our room was lovely and clean and only slight gripes were that the shower door didn't fit so we ended up with a very wet bathroom. Not a major problem for us but I am sure someone will find a reason to make it a major problem. Air conditioning was not fantastic but worked. Our only complaint there was that it only worked from 12pm to 12am. You are not really in your room much during those hours. It was very hot at night and we couldn't leave the patio open as we were over the restaurant it got quite noisy in the mornings.
The pool was lovely and obviously there was the usual melee for sunbeds. It does make me laugh when people complain about this. You show me any family hotel anywhere during August that does not have this problem. We just went the beach for a few hours then came back and there were usually one of two to be had. I think the biggest problem is the lack of umbrellas. Yes, the ones there do look very pretty but if you are fair skinned and need shade or have young ones there is a lack of shade. Again, it was not a problem for us but had we been with our family when they were younger it would have been a major issue. Maybe a few fabric ones could be provided just to offer a solution.
Food was lovely and again why the heck do people moan it was always the same. You have gone All Inclusive, this is what happens. If you want a unique dining experience every night go bed & breakfast. They worked hard and made it as pleasant as possible with lots of choices and a good selection of drinks.
The animation team did a sterling job and although we only went to one show it was good fun.
The beach was lovely and the beach restaurant was ok, not best food ever but nice to sit and watch the sea.
We hired a car via Avis directly from the hotel. Went to Correlejo water park and town for the day. Water Park great fun not huge but enough there. Got showers there and changed and went to the town. The new town not really our cup of tea lots of shops and English bars. However, the old town harbour area is beautiful. We had a lovely tapas meal for 3 with wine and coffees and a few after dinner drinks for £55, very reasonable. Wish we could have gone back to Correlejo as the sand dunes and sea look lovely.
All in all a lovely relaxing holiday. Possibly not for people wanting late nights and night life but perfect for us and people with families.
Thanks Elba Carlotta we will be back........

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Suzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

dear madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about yourholiday experiences in our hotel.
I am very pleased to see that those experiences were so positive.
Your comments are very usefull to us as they help us to keep up our service and to improve where needed, one of our main goals.
I think your review is also an excellent source of information for any future guests who want to come and visit hotel Elba carlota, than kyou very much for that.
Myself and all the staff are looking forward seeing you again soon!

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Elba Carlota. No problem checking in, loved our upgrade to senior suite, give me a jacuzzi bath and I am afraid I will have to use it!!!

Food...no problem, something to please everyone, show cooking really good, good choice from breakfast to evening meal. AI ended at 11.00 pm, maybe an issue with some people but not for us. Bottled water included in AI, good idea. Near to shopping centre. Lovely beach at the back of the hotel, (take some bread to feed the fish in the sea!)

Animation team...Brill, keen, informed guests of activities but not pushy at all. Lots of things going on..Archery, dance, gym, cookery demo's, salsa..etc.. can't comment on kids club as didn't use. Entertainment in evenings ...good, enjoyed by all.

Sunbeds...Hhhmmm, what is the answer? no different from anywhere else...be there first thing to "claim your spot", plenty of sunbeds available, parasols are the issue!!! We did the "stake out" for one day...too busy on other days, it depends on whether you want to be by the pool every day.


Overall, really enjoyed our stay, would we return...probably yes! xx

Room Tip: Rooms above 3rd floor will have better views, suites tend to have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sue552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

dear miss Sue,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about hotel Elba Carlota.
I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your holidays and that you would come back our hotel, this is very important to us.
We do not liberate the sunbeds until a certain hour, so that all our guests have a fair chance to get the sunbeds they need, and we liberate sunbeds that are reserved but not occupied for a long time. But I think you will agree that there is only so much we can do, a lot of it depends also on the attitude and behaviour of our guests.
Myself and all the staff are hoping to see you again in the future,

Jose Rodríguez
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Room
We stayed in a suite 2 adults and 2 children (11 and 6). Very comfortable and spacious beautiful view of the sea, marina and caleta. Large balcony with table and chairs and two loungers! Use of slippers and bathrobes were a nice extra and the room Service frequently left little surprise treats like choc coins for kids and truffles for us!
My only gripe was the shower kept flooding after a few mins which we were informed was an error with the drainage pipe size when installed and spa bath didn't work.

Location
It is set in a quiet location with 3 beach hotels and a good shopping centre / cinema / restaurants adjacent etc
The main town is a 2 min taxi or a pleasant 20min walk along the promenade.
The lovely beach directly in front of the hotel is man made with safe swimming bays created.

Entertainment
The entertainment team all worked so hard they were fantastic and a real credit to the hotel providing a variety of daytime games, evening shows, disco, mini club.
White night was my favourite that was an outdoor disco and cocktails by the pool bar dress code white! And the crazy aqua gym was hilarious!

Food/drinks all inclusive:
We were very happy with the food choices there was plenty of variety and themed nights including Chinese, Mexican ... I thought the kids buffet area was a bit basic and repetitive
I recommend a delicious baileys chocolate cocktail!

In summary we had a fab holiday and would return for the right price!! We booked independently. The hotel only price for an AI suite 14 nights 2a,2c booked via alpha rooms seemed to vary daily from 2-3k!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

dear sir / madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay in hotel Elba Carlota.
I am very happy to see from your positive comments that you have enjoyed your holiday here with us, one of our main goals.
Thank you as well for the points to improve, this is exactly the reason why we encourage our clientes to give us their feedback!
I hope we may welcome you again in the future,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had great time in the hotel. It's our second time to this island and its very close to where we stayed last time. The hotel has great location, directly opposite the beach. It's almost next door to a shopping mall, which we have visited a couple of times for water, sweet, clothes, gifts etc. the staff in the hotel are all very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Fang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

dear mister / madam Fang,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your holiday in hotel Elba Carlota on this site.
Our main goal is to satisfy our clients, so I am very happy to read your positive review.
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay here even more enjoyable, please do not hessitate to contact us,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at the Elba Carlota for two weeks in August.
The hotel is very clean and spacious and the staff and animation team are superb. The rooms are a good size, our double bed was huge! The room was cleaned and made up every day.
The pools and amenities are very good. The hotel backs on to the beach which is lovely.
We were a family of five and staying all inclusive. The food was very good. Favourites included roasted salmon, ribs, paella, roast duck and chocolate fountain. All food was hot and the excellent kitchen staff made sure everything was topped up and available.
There are a few small issues which need a bit of attention which would make the stay even better.
• More bar staff in the bars in the evening, especially at peak holiday times.
• More sun beds!! (very important). Its not a holiday when you have to set your alarm for 8 am to ensure that the family has got sun beds for the day. There is plenty of room around the pool and even in the gardens for more sun beds. The hotel does have a ‘no reserving sun beds’ policy, but it isn’t controlled. Although the sun beds are locked up at night but this just causes more ‘subbed stress’ when waiting for them to be unlocked.
• The hotel has got a lovely restaurant by the pool, but this was not open for use. Why not? It would have been very nice to sit in there at lunchtime.
• The bar area around the pool should also be open during the evening.
• Bottled drinking water was included in the all inclusive, but all inclusive finished at 11pm. One night, just after the show had finished, I asked for a couple of bottles of water but was refused as it was past 11pm. We didn’t have any drinking water in our room and our youngest child had tablets to take. I managed to get some water from the water fountain outside the gym. The water should be available 24hrs.
These are small issues which should not put anyone off of staying at this hotel. We would definitely return to the hotel and recommend it to our family and friends.
Well done and thank you to all at the Elba Carlota, we had a wonderful time staying with you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

dear mister Rob,

I would like to take this opertunity to thank you for your review about your stay in hotel Elba Carlota.
We always encourage our clients to give us their feedback about their stay, as we are keen to keep up our service and we are always trying to improve.
This is why I am very pleased with your review, apart from being so positive, it shows us where to improve,and I wil certainly take note, thank you very much!

Jose Rodríguez
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from two week break at EC.
Our trip was picked following reviews on TA and the price we found. Having read some reviews was a little apprehensive re certain aspects such as sunbeds, the low flying aircraft and the food but in reality we should not have been concerned. The hotel is a good quality 4 star with many facilities including tennis, volleyball and for the footballers, football at least three times per week. There is also a lovely beach just outside the rear gate.
In regards to the sunbeds they are locked and you need to be ready to get one if you want one but this is no different than any other resort or hotel at the height of the season so don't complain just get up if you really want one. The food is very good quality and well cooked and anyone who moans is being over fussy it is mass catering for nearly 800 people and will be slightly repetitive but is very tasty.
The serving staff were all very nice and cheerful and previous reviews that were negative may have been the exception and not the rule.
The room was very nice, modern and clean with a good sized bathroom, the beds are slightly firm but as I like a harder bed I was very comfy.
The Animacion team are absolutely fantastic and work so very hard at making sure everyone has a good holiday, they all strike a good balance between trying to get people involved with activities, which are varied and good fun, and allowing people space to just relax, special thanks to Christopher, Nicola, Devora, Maggie, Roxanne, Julian, Eli, Garance, Stephen and Fabian for making us all feel like special guests even though they had hundreds of other guests to also entertain.
The evening entertainment is quite good and the Animacion team put in a lot of effort to produce an entertaining show though when shown in convention centre it loses a little atmosphere.
Other posts mention the lack of other options to the shows and I agree some form of entertainment in the lobby bar like some karaoke or similar might help.
Overall we had a great time at EC and would def recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of holidaying in Fuerteventura.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBACARLOTA, Gerente at Hotel Elba Carlota, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

dear mister David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your holdays in hotel Elba Carlota.
I am very pleased and proud to see your high evaluation and positive comments about our hotel, services and staff. We work to please our clients, and obviously we have succeeded, a great compliment!
I will make sure to pass on your review to the animation team and the rest of the staff,
as they will also be very happy to read your kind words about them.
I hope to see you again very soon,

Jose Rodríguez.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigua
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
36.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
23.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elba Carlota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Carlota

Address: Carretera Jandia Km. 11 | Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £84 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Carlota 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Elba Carlota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Carlota Hotel
Elba Carlota Antigua
Hotel Elba Carlota Fuerteventura/Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing