We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday at the Chalet Hoffelner”
Review of Pension Hoffelner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Hoffelner
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh on Sea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday at the Chalet Hoffelner”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Chalet Hoffelner last week and had a fantastic time skiing in Schladming and surrounding areas. Rob and Joanna were very good at advising where to go and on what day (keeping us informed of the weather conditions) which pretty much was blue skies and sunshine all week. The Chalet is really beautiful with stunning views . We enjoyed tea on the terrace overlooking the mountains after a hard (well hard'ish) day skiing, g&ts at the well stocked bar before dinner, 3 course dinner finished off with schnapps (on the house), then enjoyed the company of the other guests in the large lounge and playing pool. The bedrooms are very well furnished with lots of hooks and cupboard space and lots of natural light. We have been skiing for many years and can't understand why we've never been to Schladming before! Great skiing for intermediates, lots of long wide runs, good restaurants on the mountain and very reasonable, will definitely go back. Also thanks to George who drove us to and from the slopes (about a 15 minute drive with stunning scenery).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickyleighonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
67
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Pension Hoffelner. The accommodation is warm and charming and has a very homely ambiance. Our room was spacious and we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the views. We used the chalet as a base for walking and Rob and Joanna were able to give us information about the best areas to try. The breakfasts and evening meals were delicious as was the local wine and beer. We are so pleased we chose to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolK664043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have spent a week at Pension Hofelner in March 2012. The Hosts Joanna and Rob were very welcoming and the accommodation is fantastic. We stayed in a Superior room which had a 4 poster bed and fabulous views over Schladming. The accommodation is a cross between a hotel and large chalet. It has a large communal area for guests with a pool table (1 euro per game) and a large TV with games console to use. There is a large DVD collection which are free to watch at your leisure in your own room. The location of the accommodation is the only downside as its about a 20/30 min walk from Ramsau town and longer to Schladming. There are public buses that take you in to town but are not very frequent. This means that you have to rely heavily on the minibus that the hosts provide in the morning between 9 and 9.30 to get into Schladming and then again between 4 - 5.30pm to get back. Other than that the views are stunning over the valley from your own balcony and its very quiet and tranquil. Breakfast is a selection of cereals, ham, cheese, boiled eggs and breads. Afternoon tea is available at a small cost and a 3 course dinner is served at 7pm with tea/coffee/schnapps afterwards. Wine is included with dinner which stops once you have finished your meal. There is a sauna but this is an additional 4 euros.

Pension Hoffelner is a well presented hotel which is ideal for families, couples are groups who are looking for a relaxed environment for their stay without the need to be close to town for Apres ski.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room as they are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkyzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have just come back staying for 1 week in the wonderful chalet Hoffelner. The chalet is very well presented in all areas and the warmth that you get from the hosts/owners Joanne and Rob on arrival continues all the way through. The rooms have been the most spacious that we have ever had in twenty odd years of chalet holidays, all well furnished with very good quality bedding and towels. Robs cooking is second to none and service provided for this sort of board was way above anything else that we have had before. Unfortuntely we got caught up in the Gatwick luggage last Satrday morning and did not receive any luggage what so ever until the Tuesday evening. Our hosts and other guests kindly lent us some clothing and equipment to get us going which was greatly appreciated. We even had offers from Robs parents who were staying there at the time which was so sweet of them. It was so nice to have hosts who tried to do everything to help us salvage something out of our holiday. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiefisher26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We chose to book accommodation in Pension Hoffelner after reading such amazing reviews.

The chalet is in a fantastic location with excellent views. It is clean and well-appointed. Our host Rob was charming and very welcoming as were the rest of his team and looked after us well.

Unfortunately our first impression of the Chalet was not so good. When we arrived we were told by our co-host Joanna that we must remove our shoes - we totally understood the reasoning behind this however the way we were told made us feel very small. It would also have been helpful if we could have known about this beforehand. We also misunderstood the instruction about timings for dinner. Consequently we arrived late and were told in a very frosty way by Joanna that we must have 'misunderstood' and that as we were so late the first course had no 'finished'. We felt again like naughty children who had been reprimanded and if we had not paid the whole amount for our stay we would have left there and then.

During the rest of our stay we found our co host to be exceptionally unfriendly towards us which was such a shame. We realise we had committed misdemeanours on our first day but why did we have to pay for that during the rest of our holiday?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosiechck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineHuckle, Owner at Pension Hoffelner, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased that you liked the accommodation and that you felt you had been well looked after, however I am really quite mystified as to the comments directed at me personally and have absolutely no idea where it has all come from.
You were told about the shoes on your arrival in the same polite and friendly way that I have told every guest to arrive here in the past 5 seasons and can’t really see how anyone could be offended by such a simple request, especially since this is very common in most chalets and pensions. When you were almost an hour late for dinner on the first night I needed to reiterate the meal times, in a polite and friendly manner so that you would know for the rest of the week. Again is it is quite normal for a chalet or pension to have a set meal time. We did send someone to knock on your door earlier but could not get any response. To say that you would have left there and then is a little extreme I think!
As for the rest we barely met all week and so would hardly have had much opportunity to be “unfriendly” in any way, I was ill for the first part of the week and so kept myself away from the guests in order not to pass on the virus. On the few occasions that I did see you after that, you both always appeared happy, smiling and seemed to be having a good time and I was always friendly and agreeable in return, so I really don't know what your negative comments are based on.
Rob & I always do our utmost to be as friendly and welcoming as possible with all our guests and so it is quite upsetting to read this kind of report especially when we feel that it is really quite personal and unjustified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rob and Joanna made us most welcome again.The food was wonderful and the room was very comfortable.This is the perfect place to relax and enjoy wonderful cross country skiing.Hopefully we will soon return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Pension Hoffelner is a beautifully furnished and charming Austrian chalet, run by a super couple. The food was very good, balanced and flavoursome- especially the soups!
Thank you Rob and Joanna for all your hard work in looking after the needs of all the different groups and the extra attention to detail that makes this a special holiday. Their local knowledge is a great asset to people visiting the area for the first time, and they offer a good minibus service to the slopes. You do need to factor in about 20 minutes to get to Schladming. I would definitely recommend Pension Hoffelner for a relaxed and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsau am Dachstein
0.9 mi away
Hotel Annelies
Hotel Annelies
#2 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Knollhof
Ferienhotel Knollhof
#10 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufhotel
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufh...
#5 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Matschner
Hotel Matschner
#1 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#4 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
39 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Schuetterhof
Hotel Schuetterhof
#1 of 34 in Schladming
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoffelner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoffelner

Property: Pension Hoffelner
Address: Hochfellnerweg 271 | Vordere Ramsau, Ramsau am Dachstein 8972, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Styria > Ramsau am Dachstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsau am Dachstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hoffelner 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be assured of a warm welcome at the Pension Hoffelner which is situated in a stunning location, featuring panoramic mountain views. Stylish, comfortable, recently renovated accommodation, extensive facilities, fantastic food, excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and hosts whose main concern is that you have the very best holiday experience, make this accommodation a great choice. The perfect base for a winter of summer holiday. Located Just 1 hour from Salzburg in the pretty alpine village of Ramsau am Dachstein, on a high and sunny plateau above the resort of Schladming & at the foot of the majestic Dachstein. Flexible accommodation - en-suite rooms & self catering Apartments available, offering breakfast during the summer season and half board in the winter season. The Schladming-Dachstein "Summer Card Partner Hotel" - is included in Summer Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Pension Hoffelner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau Am Dachstein
Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau
Pension Hoffelner Austria/Ramsau Am Dachstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing