We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic”
Review of Pension Hoffelner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Hoffelner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Second year here. Lovely setting and very peaceful. The team Rob and Joanna are very helpful. Summer must be amazing,looking forward to visiting here again soon. Recommend having your own vehicle. Rob is an expert on snow chains - they re sometimes very necessary.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

We've just got back from a ski/board trip with a small group of friends staying with Joanna and Rob at the excellent Pension Hoffelner. From being collected at Salzburg airport for the pleasantly short transfer, everything went incredibly smoothly. The rooms were great and the food was really tasty, including the vegetarian options. In stark contrast with other catered chalets at which we've stayed, the wine served with dinner was also uncommonly drinkable!

The Dachstein glacier was closed whilst we were there and so all of the downhill sliding was done over at Schladming. The four linked mountains are served by a network of fast, modern lifts which meant queues were almost non-existent. There are some great, wide pistes and almost all of the runs are below the tree-line, which is handy for visibility on cloudy/snowy days. It also means there are some great near-piste opportunities to play in the trees when the snow is fresh, although not as many as I'd expected – mostly the trees are too dense. Still, there a few areas where you can escape and get fresh turns all day after new snow. Most of the runs are between 1000m and 2000m, so it's not a very high resort. However, there's loads of snow making (I've never seen so many snow cannons) and almost all of the pistes are north facing, so on-piste conditions stayed far better than might be expected given the altitude.

There's also loads to do up on the Ramsau plateau, which catches far more sun than the town of Schladming, some 400m lower down in the valley. The extra height meant it stayed snowy up at the Pension, even when it was raining down at the bottom of the hill. The youngest member of our group enjoyed her first ski lessons, a few of us tried out cross country skiing, we all had a go at the night sledging and there was even a trip on a horse drawn sleigh to keep the children (both big and small!) amused. Joanna and Rob were very helpful in organising these activities, which was really appreciated.

The only minor negative point for us was the ease of access to the lifts at Schladming. Rob runs a shuttle bus service to and from the lifts, which is brilliant, but the timing of these tended to be a compromise between different groups of guests. In our case, this meant we sometimes felt we missed out on slope time and also had limited chance for apres-ski at the bottom of the hill. The Pension is a 15-minute, uphill hike from the main bus stop, and the ski buses weren't all that frequent and so this wasn't a great alternative. It's a really minor point and one which you can get around by paying for a taxi (only about 5 Euro per person each way if there's a few of you), and certainly shouldn't put you off staying there. Just budget an extra few Euros a day if that's going to be important to you!

Thanks to Joanna, Rob and the rest of the guys at the Pension Hoffelner for a great week. Enjoy the world championships!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We can not fault this guest house, lovely clean room, amazing food, and exceptional hospitality from Rob, Joanne and their team. Going away with a toddler can he hard work, but Rob and Joanne did everything they could to make sure we had a relaxing time too, providing an early tea for the little one and hunting down some baby monitors. The laundry facilities were invaluable! We will definitely be visiting in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyLack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Seven families, 31 people (16 teenagers). Whether it was rescuing cars from snowy farm tracks, picking skiers up from different slopes at different times, or patiently waiting for the chaos of the morning departures to the ski slopes to subside, we could not have wished for more help, advice and assistance from Rob and Joanna. The hotel facilities are excellent as was the food. Highly recommended all round.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAlderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our stay at the Pension Hoffelner could not have been better! We loved the warmly decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean chateau. The breakfasts were delicious and variety of food selection was great. The lounge area was very well stocked with games, books, a large DVD collection and billiards table as well as a computer for guest use. If travelling with children, they would have lots to entertain themselves for sure! We had a wonderful relaxing stay after spending a few busy days in Salzburg and touring through Germany.
The views from our room were stunning! Rob and Joanna were so knowledgable of the area and very willing to provide any information needed to help make our stay an amazing one. The area is perfect for any level of activity you wish to experience. The hiking and walking opportunities were endless! The Sommercard was a great added bonus that Joanna had set up and ready for us on our arrival. It enabled us to see lots of sights and take one lift per day free of charge. The town of Schladming is very close and we enjoyed exploring it's quaint streets and shops as well. Overall, a fabulous place that we would highly recommend any time of the year!
Thank you to our thoughtful hosts Rob and Joanna!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We went to Ramsau in August with our teenage daughters and had a fantastic time - made all the better by the hospitality of Rob and Joanna White. Oor apartment was spotless and more spacious than we expected and it was great to have the flexibility of cooking for yourself in the evenings while having breakfast provided. The views were stunning and we were very fortunate with the weather.
Rob and Joanna suggested walks for us to try - the area is perfect for all kinds of walking from forest rambles to high level hikes and more. Having the Summer Card included in the price made a big difference as we travelled only by public transport (free with the card) and saved money on cable car rides as well. Definitely a holiday to remember and we would certainly go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApplePie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at Pension Hoffelner for 6 nights in July. We decided to stay here after reading all the positive Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean with a fantastic view from the wrap-around balcony. Breakfast was excellent, the freshly baked rolls delicious - and we were pleased to find that you could make your own filled rolls (sandwich bags provided) for just over 1 euro to make a packed lunch – great for walkers! We also made use of the free internet terminal in the lounge to check emails. This was great as we didn't bring a laptop.

Rob and Joanna are great hosts and made us feel at home straight away. They are both very knowledgeable about the local attractions and walks (the main reason for our visit) and had great suggestions for places to visit, some of which we would have otherwise missed.

As we visited during the summer, our room rate included the 'Summercard' which gives totally free access to buses, cable cars, guided walks, museums, swimming pools etc and discounts off other attractions/activities – we saved loads of euros using them. As an example, cardholders are entitled to a free return ride on the Dachstein cable car which is normally 32 euros per adult. These cards are not available to buy – you can only get them if you are staying at an affiliated hotel like Pension Hoffelner. A family using the Summercard would save a substantial amount of money.

Other things we did included 'Wild Wasser' which is an amazing waterfall walk (with vertigo-inducing bridge across the gorge), Cable car to Hochwurzen (and go-kart back down – great fun!), and a visit to the Eisriesenwelt Ice Cave (largest in Europe).

There are a number of good restaurants in Ramsau, which is a 15 minute walk away. There are also two supermarkets (Spar and Bila) close by. We also drove into Schladming a couple of evenings which is about 10 minutes by car. Schladming has many restaurants and cafes to choose from and is a nice place for an evening stroll.

We're not skiers, but when Rob told us how great the winter walking is in the area – there is a chance we will be back in the winter! All in all a fab time was had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sham63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ramsau am Dachstein hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Matschner
Hotel Matschner
#2 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#5 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
40 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rittis Alpin Chalets Dachstein
Rittis Alpin Chalets Dachstein
#2 of 53 in Ramsau am Dachstein
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pension Haus Maria
Pension Haus Maria
#1 of 72 in Ramsau am Dachstein
202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Knollhof
Ferienhotel Knollhof
#8 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rosslhof
Hotel Rosslhof
#6 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoffelner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoffelner

Address: Hochfellnerweg 271 | Vordere Ramsau, Ramsau am Dachstein 8972, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Styria > Ramsau am Dachstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsau am Dachstein
Price Range: £99 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hoffelner 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be assured of a warm welcome at the Pension Hoffelner which is situated in a stunning location, featuring panoramic mountain views. Stylish, comfortable, recently renovated accommodation, extensive facilities, fantastic food, excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and hosts whose main concern is that you have the very best holiday experience, make this accommodation a great choice. The perfect base for a winter of summer holiday. Located Just 1 hour from Salzburg in the pretty alpine village of Ramsau am Dachstein, on a high and sunny plateau above the resort of Schladming & at the foot of the majestic Dachstein. Flexible accommodation - en-suite rooms & self catering Apartments available, offering breakfast during the summer season and half board in the winter season. The Schladming-Dachstein "Summer Card Partner Hotel" - is included in Summer Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pension Hoffelner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau Am Dachstein
Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau
Pension Hoffelner Austria/Ramsau Am Dachstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing