We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family ski trip to Ramsau”
Review of Pension Hoffelner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Hoffelner
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family ski trip to Ramsau”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

What a great week all 5 of us had at Pension Hoffelner. Great food, accommodation and company in fantastic surroundings. We stayed in the 2 bedroom annex on the side of the main building, and it offered great self contained family accommodation. Evening meals were always something to look forward to and the whole place was kept spotlessly clean. Joanna and Rob were great hosts, always on hand to offer advice on where to go and what to see. Your really need a car (preferable an estate car if skiing) to experience everything this area has to offer and get down to the main town, Schladming.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawJoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
67
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We chose this place based on all the great reviews I found online and it all lived up to our expectations! I've been most impressed by the hospitality and the food, which was absolutely amazing! We went for the chalet board and the dinner could be part of any good restaurant menu. The chalet itself is not too big and the wonderful smell of cooked food really makes you feel like home. Joanna and Rob are very nice people, most helpful, you couldn't get better information about the area really! Rooms are nice, not necessarily the design you'd expect in a chalet but big, airy and with lovely new bathrooms.
We'll definitely be back here for skiing!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have recently visited this lovely Pension with a group of 30 persons, all adults. On arriving Joanna & Rob where waiting to greet us and show us to our rooms. I can not imagine anybody being dassapointed , nobody within our group was. All the rooms are spotlessly clean and have excellent facilities, I believe most if not all had T.V's, our appartment (Apt 2) had 2 , including a DVD player. Our bathrooms looked like it had been recently refurbished, had lovely showers and plenty of hot water, a quality hairdryer was also fitted.
Evening meal was served at 7pm we had the luxury of tucking in to a 3 course meal accompanied with free wine. Red and White was available and I never heard one person complain about the quality.
Each morning Joanna would place the eveing menu on a board so we had an idea of what was coming, and should anybody feel they may not enjoy what was on offer then it was possible to request an alternative subject to the chefs agreement.
Breakfast was served at 8am and was continental, Cereal's Toast , Rolls, Jam, Ham & Cheese, boiled eggs every other day. Everyday by request.
The chalet has a no shoes policy , I recommend you take your own slippers , most floors are hardwood.
Entertainment wise the chalet has a nice Pool table (1 euro), Free Wi-fi available throughout, I-Pod docking station,Sat TV (BBC World News) DVD , the TV also has a USB port enabling films to be played direrct via a USB Memory Stick.
The bar , open until 12pm sells a Large Lager for 3 Euros 20 cents. Rob & Joanna operate a room based tab which you settle at the end of the holiday. You may drink after 12pm , however you need to order before closing time , so the staff can go to bed.
Rob organised lifts to the ski station and with us having the whole chalet was happy to do 3 mini bus loads down and return. However these start at 8.45am and 9.15am. Should you wish to be picked up again this needs to be organised beforehand, normally we were collected by Rob at around 4.30pm/5pm. Should we wish to stay in Shladming at apres ski until 6pm for example, then we needed to get a taxi ourselves , this ranged from 17 -29 Euros for a 8 seater.
With not being close to the main slopes some of the group, who traditionally enjoy apres ski time found this a bit limiting, as arrangements often had to be made early with regards pick up times.
The ski slopes in Shladming did not dissapoint, I have personally skied in most of the top resorts in Europe and Shladming has plenty to offer, most lifts are express chairs, often heated. The slopes are mainly north west facing and keep good snow. We skied in late January and the slopes were quiet and well groomed.
Rob & Joanna were very helpful organising ski hire , ski lessons, ski passes and offered me much advice with regards booking restaurants on the staff night off and other activities. Joanna was also was very helpful in providing invoices to help sort an insurance claim for a skier who sadly was unable to make the trip due to a broken leg.
Being the organiser of our group I fully understand that you can not please everyone all the time. Rob & Joanna run a clean efficient & some might say tight ship.
I recommend Taxi Hubner if you require return transfers. They are based in the village and also offered me a great rate on a 35 Seater Bus, ideal for the group of 30.
Best bit : Everything works as advertised.
Worst bit. 2 Euros for the afternoon slice of cake :-(
I would definitly go again.
I have rated the location as average based solely on the locality to the main slopes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleAlfreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

A simple ditto to all the top reviews on here would simply not do justice to how excellent a week at the Pension Hoffelner really is. Two returning guests (2nd and 3rd time respectively) bringing two new ones with us, a group of 4 mid - late 20 year olds (3 chaps and 1 chap-ess) went to The Hoff in January 2013.

New for season 2013 is Duncan in the kitchen whose addition has done nothing else but to enhance the evening meal, a hard act to follow given Rob's culinary talents from previous years. The food was simply stunning. For the first time three of us stayed in one of the apartments, which was amazingly spacious given it was inside the main house, with modern furniture, excellent bathroom and huge balcony with a stunning view of the imposing Dachstein at the rear of the Pension.

We cannot express our appreciation more at the way we were looked after by Joanna and Rob the week we were there, as always nothing is too much trouble from the daily runs down to the 'Golden Jet' for the start of the days assault on the mountain, early pick ups in a white out to a warm, friendly and genuine reception in the bar for the post-ski debrief over a beer, the hospitality really is second to none.

Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Second year here. Lovely setting and very peaceful. The team Rob and Joanna are very helpful. Summer must be amazing,looking forward to visiting here again soon. Recommend having your own vehicle. Rob is an expert on snow chains - they re sometimes very necessary.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We've just got back from a ski/board trip with a small group of friends staying with Joanna and Rob at the excellent Pension Hoffelner. From being collected at Salzburg airport for the pleasantly short transfer, everything went incredibly smoothly. The rooms were great and the food was really tasty, including the vegetarian options. In stark contrast with other catered chalets at which we've stayed, the wine served with dinner was also uncommonly drinkable!

The Dachstein glacier was closed whilst we were there and so all of the downhill sliding was done over at Schladming. The four linked mountains are served by a network of fast, modern lifts which meant queues were almost non-existent. There are some great, wide pistes and almost all of the runs are below the tree-line, which is handy for visibility on cloudy/snowy days. It also means there are some great near-piste opportunities to play in the trees when the snow is fresh, although not as many as I'd expected – mostly the trees are too dense. Still, there a few areas where you can escape and get fresh turns all day after new snow. Most of the runs are between 1000m and 2000m, so it's not a very high resort. However, there's loads of snow making (I've never seen so many snow cannons) and almost all of the pistes are north facing, so on-piste conditions stayed far better than might be expected given the altitude.

There's also loads to do up on the Ramsau plateau, which catches far more sun than the town of Schladming, some 400m lower down in the valley. The extra height meant it stayed snowy up at the Pension, even when it was raining down at the bottom of the hill. The youngest member of our group enjoyed her first ski lessons, a few of us tried out cross country skiing, we all had a go at the night sledging and there was even a trip on a horse drawn sleigh to keep the children (both big and small!) amused. Joanna and Rob were very helpful in organising these activities, which was really appreciated.

The only minor negative point for us was the ease of access to the lifts at Schladming. Rob runs a shuttle bus service to and from the lifts, which is brilliant, but the timing of these tended to be a compromise between different groups of guests. In our case, this meant we sometimes felt we missed out on slope time and also had limited chance for apres-ski at the bottom of the hill. The Pension is a 15-minute, uphill hike from the main bus stop, and the ski buses weren't all that frequent and so this wasn't a great alternative. It's a really minor point and one which you can get around by paying for a taxi (only about 5 Euro per person each way if there's a few of you), and certainly shouldn't put you off staying there. Just budget an extra few Euros a day if that's going to be important to you!

Thanks to Joanna, Rob and the rest of the guys at the Pension Hoffelner for a great week. Enjoy the world championships!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celle, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We can not fault this guest house, lovely clean room, amazing food, and exceptional hospitality from Rob, Joanne and their team. Going away with a toddler can he hard work, but Rob and Joanne did everything they could to make sure we had a relaxing time too, providing an early tea for the little one and hunting down some baby monitors. The laundry facilities were invaluable! We will definitely be visiting in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyLack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsau am Dachstein
0.6 mi away
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufhotel
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufh...
#5 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rosslhof
Hotel Rosslhof
#7 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
21 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Die Barbara
Hotel Die Barbara
#2 of 35 in Schladming
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Knollhof
Ferienhotel Knollhof
#8 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
27 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#11 of 35 in Schladming
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Matschner
Hotel Matschner
#2 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoffelner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoffelner

Property: Pension Hoffelner
Address: Hochfellnerweg 271 | Vordere Ramsau, Ramsau am Dachstein 8972, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Styria > Ramsau am Dachstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsau am Dachstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hoffelner 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be assured of a warm welcome at the Pension Hoffelner which is situated in a stunning location, featuring panoramic mountain views. Stylish, comfortable, recently renovated accommodation, extensive facilities, fantastic food, excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and hosts whose main concern is that you have the very best holiday experience, make this accommodation a great choice. The perfect base for a winter of summer holiday. Located Just 1 hour from Salzburg in the pretty alpine village of Ramsau am Dachstein, on a high and sunny plateau above the resort of Schladming & at the foot of the majestic Dachstein. Flexible accommodation - en-suite rooms & self catering Apartments available, offering breakfast during the summer season and half board in the winter season. The Schladming-Dachstein "Summer Card Partner Hotel" - is included in Summer Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Hoffelner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau Am Dachstein
Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau
Pension Hoffelner Austria/Ramsau Am Dachstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing