We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good not perfect...”
Review of Pension Hoffelner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Hoffelner
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good not perfect...”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Firstly, I had a great week staying here...
Best bits...Very helpful prior to arrival, excellent range of facilities, good rooms, very clean, very reasonable meals, Rob will go out of his way to help you, good shuttle runs down to the slopes daily reducing the issue of the location
BUT
Bad parts...Joanna can be unwelcoming, you are made to feel like you are intruding on someone's home, often not a comfortable atmosphere. There are house rules that should not be crossed, for example if you stretch over the hour and a half allocated for your three "inclusive" glasses of wine during the meal you will be charged despite still sitting at the dinner table finishing the meal as happened to a member of our group when 15 minutes too late to ask for it. If a customer gets it slightly wrong is it really a big loss if you let them have it a little late rather than making them feel embarrassed to ask? This is not the only example but one that has popped into my mind.

There are a number of "extra charges" including the pool table and the worst being for a sauna. Why provide facilities and then charge multiple extras for their use, especially when not mentioned on the advert.

Overall a most enjoyable week, sadly unlikely to return for repeat custom because of the little extras and never truly felt like I was a paying guest on a holiday. I wouldn't expect to be allowed to run free but some leeway/customer service is surely part of the holiday experience.

If you choose to stay here make sure you're prepared to stick to the rules and cause little fuss. If you fancy a holiday with plenty of flexibility, for example if you have a family that may require a little bit extra...this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintage1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineHuckle, Owner at Pension Hoffelner, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the the time to write a review of your stay it is always appreciated and very important to us to read your opinions.
I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable week however I would also like to address the negative aspects. I am truly very sorry if I made you feel unwelcome at any time, it is very upsetting to read this since one of our absolute main aims is to make all our guest feel truly welcome, which you are and also a valued customer. I obviously somehow failed you in this respect and I’m very sorry for this, maybe I was just having an off day, since your review is anonymous I can’t really say.
With regard to the wine and soft drinks included during the evening meal, we have been operating this system for the last 6 seasons, with no issue.
It is explained on the first evening, to every table, that up to 3 large glasses of red or white wine (equivalent to 1 bottle), or soft drinks are included between 19:00 and 20:30, we are usually serving coffee by 20:30 and so this has always been a good cut off point. There is also a little notice on the table on the first night showing the same information. We like to think that most of our guests see these drinks as a bonus rather than an allocation. However after reading your review we are considering not including any free drinks during the evening meals, next season, to save any confusion or bad feeling, basically standard half board, this might make things simpler for all.
We have very few “house rules” and they are intended to help the house run smoothly and efficiently and also benefit our guests. Someone has to inform guests about these little things and this task almost always falls to me.
We think that is it fairly standard for there to be a €1 fee for use of a pool table, it is a coin-operated table that has been in the house for over 20 years. We make a €4 charge for use of the sauna to cover the cleaning and extra towels. This system also ensures that the sauna is not booked, prepared and heated and then not used as was often the case when this service was previously included. Neither of these services are advertised as “Free” or “Included” on any advertising, but I will try and make this even clearer. From our research, in accommodation of our size and in our price range charges for extra services are pretty normal.
Again I would like to apologize that your holiday was not 100% and be assured that we do take your comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
67
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SamsoKnight
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Pension Hoffelner is a very well run gem tucked away near the vast ski area of Schladming. The property is delightful and tastefully fitted out offering modern amenities together with a traditional Alpine flavour. The chalet is exceptionally clean and well maintained and highlights include a ski room (not down any stairs!) which has plenty of electric boot warmers. Our room was modern and enjoyed dual aspect balconies with stunning views.

We were booked in on a half board basis and enjoyed delicious continental breakfasts and 3 course meals in the evening (topped off with a schnaps).

The Hoffelner is a 'pension' in the Austrian sense that it has aspects of a chalet but is run more of a small hotel. This allows the property to have a proper bar for guests to use. It does mean that some features of a chalet (tea dnd cake after the slopes) are not included and I think would make an enhanced booking feature if available to book for groups.

Joanna and Rob run the Pension really well and were incredibly helpful with all of our needs. We had one in our party not skiing so they helped out a lot planning activities and also booked a small group of us on a day trip to Salzburg which all went very well.

Finally, this property is a 5-10 min drive to the slopes but if you don't take a car then Joanna and Rob offer a package with return minibus transport right to the ski lifts (which we booked). All of our transport ran incredibly smoothly allowing us full days on the mountain.

Room Tip: Room number 3 (along with a couple of others I think) has dual aspect balconies with stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsoKinight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We returned to Pension Hoffelner this year because we enjoy the comfort and quality of this small hotel. We feel that the half-board price is very reasonable even once the extras are added, and the easy conversation over dinner creates a good, collective atmosphere. The food is good and very well presented, with the generous allowance of complimentary wine better than adequately drinkable. Rob and Joanna work hard to make this a friendly and meticulously well serviced hotel; we've had some poor experiences of cleanliness and room servicing elsewhere.
We really like the location, it is tranquil and beautiful, but this time we opted to hire a car for the week as this made our travel from and to the airport much more in our control, we could also manage our own timings to and from the pistes in the area. The cost of hiring a car was reasonable and we felt the flexibility was well worth it.
One great benefit of the location is that sleep quality is enhanced because of the rural setting.
Schladming is an excellent ski resort that is typical of Austria, very well maintained and with a sense of charm that is still retained.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was the first time I had booked a catered chalet in the Schladming area. Normally my preference is an apartment where I am free to organise my own schedule. I contacted
Joanna via the web site link and arranged everything for 6 guys in early December. The booking was painless, as was paying and initial contact mails were very friendly (as you would expect).
We arrived in the middle of changeover day to be greeted very well even though we could see that everyone was really busy. Our rooms had just been cleaned from the previous guest and even though we were really early we were allowed to take the rooms to get changed into our skiing gear. This was a massive bonus to us after travelling 18 hours (after various delays). Our arrival in the evening upon our return to the Chalet was really warm and friendly and continued to be so during the course of the week. The rooms were excellently furnished and always clean and warm. The Dining room, bar area and guest lounge were equally well furnished and warm.
Breakfast content and standard were excellent as was the evening meal. Well thought out and healthy 3 course evening meals completed the days activities.
Joanna and Rob made everyone feel really welcome. Lots of advice on where to ski and trying different areas made the week very enjoyable. 6 guys staying with a mixed group doesn't always work but everything was fine including when we arrived "late" for dinner !
I personally would have preferred breakfast to start at 7 instead of 8 and dinner to be from 8 instead of 7 but some people are not quite so fanatical about getting out in the morning or staying longer than they should at the Apri ski bars
Great week skiing made all the better by Joanna and Rob

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff_kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

What a great week all 5 of us had at Pension Hoffelner. Great food, accommodation and company in fantastic surroundings. We stayed in the 2 bedroom annex on the side of the main building, and it offered great self contained family accommodation. Evening meals were always something to look forward to and the whole place was kept spotlessly clean. Joanna and Rob were great hosts, always on hand to offer advice on where to go and what to see. Your really need a car (preferable an estate car if skiing) to experience everything this area has to offer and get down to the main town, Schladming.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawJoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We chose this place based on all the great reviews I found online and it all lived up to our expectations! I've been most impressed by the hospitality and the food, which was absolutely amazing! We went for the chalet board and the dinner could be part of any good restaurant menu. The chalet itself is not too big and the wonderful smell of cooked food really makes you feel like home. Joanna and Rob are very nice people, most helpful, you couldn't get better information about the area really! Rooms are nice, not necessarily the design you'd expect in a chalet but big, airy and with lovely new bathrooms.
We'll definitely be back here for skiing!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have recently visited this lovely Pension with a group of 30 persons, all adults. On arriving Joanna & Rob where waiting to greet us and show us to our rooms. I can not imagine anybody being dassapointed , nobody within our group was. All the rooms are spotlessly clean and have excellent facilities, I believe most if not all had T.V's, our appartment (Apt 2) had 2 , including a DVD player. Our bathrooms looked like it had been recently refurbished, had lovely showers and plenty of hot water, a quality hairdryer was also fitted.
Evening meal was served at 7pm we had the luxury of tucking in to a 3 course meal accompanied with free wine. Red and White was available and I never heard one person complain about the quality.
Each morning Joanna would place the eveing menu on a board so we had an idea of what was coming, and should anybody feel they may not enjoy what was on offer then it was possible to request an alternative subject to the chefs agreement.
Breakfast was served at 8am and was continental, Cereal's Toast , Rolls, Jam, Ham & Cheese, boiled eggs every other day. Everyday by request.
The chalet has a no shoes policy , I recommend you take your own slippers , most floors are hardwood.
Entertainment wise the chalet has a nice Pool table (1 euro), Free Wi-fi available throughout, I-Pod docking station,Sat TV (BBC World News) DVD , the TV also has a USB port enabling films to be played direrct via a USB Memory Stick.
The bar , open until 12pm sells a Large Lager for 3 Euros 20 cents. Rob & Joanna operate a room based tab which you settle at the end of the holiday. You may drink after 12pm , however you need to order before closing time , so the staff can go to bed.
Rob organised lifts to the ski station and with us having the whole chalet was happy to do 3 mini bus loads down and return. However these start at 8.45am and 9.15am. Should you wish to be picked up again this needs to be organised beforehand, normally we were collected by Rob at around 4.30pm/5pm. Should we wish to stay in Shladming at apres ski until 6pm for example, then we needed to get a taxi ourselves , this ranged from 17 -29 Euros for a 8 seater.
With not being close to the main slopes some of the group, who traditionally enjoy apres ski time found this a bit limiting, as arrangements often had to be made early with regards pick up times.
The ski slopes in Shladming did not dissapoint, I have personally skied in most of the top resorts in Europe and Shladming has plenty to offer, most lifts are express chairs, often heated. The slopes are mainly north west facing and keep good snow. We skied in late January and the slopes were quiet and well groomed.
Rob & Joanna were very helpful organising ski hire , ski lessons, ski passes and offered me much advice with regards booking restaurants on the staff night off and other activities. Joanna was also was very helpful in providing invoices to help sort an insurance claim for a skier who sadly was unable to make the trip due to a broken leg.
Being the organiser of our group I fully understand that you can not please everyone all the time. Rob & Joanna run a clean efficient & some might say tight ship.
I recommend Taxi Hubner if you require return transfers. They are based in the village and also offered me a great rate on a 35 Seater Bus, ideal for the group of 30.
Best bit : Everything works as advertised.
Worst bit. 2 Euros for the afternoon slice of cake :-(
I would definitly go again.
I have rated the location as average based solely on the locality to the main slopes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleAlfreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ramsau am Dachstein hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Matschner
Hotel Matschner
#1 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#5 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufhotel
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufh...
#3 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Annelies
Hotel Annelies
#2 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Knollhof
Ferienhotel Knollhof
#8 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Feistererhof
Feistererhof
#9 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoffelner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoffelner

Property: Pension Hoffelner
Address: Hochfellnerweg 271 | Vordere Ramsau, Ramsau am Dachstein 8972, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Styria > Ramsau am Dachstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsau am Dachstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hoffelner 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be assured of a warm welcome at the Pension Hoffelner which is situated in a stunning location, featuring panoramic mountain views. Stylish, comfortable, recently renovated accommodation, extensive facilities, fantastic food, excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and hosts whose main concern is that you have the very best holiday experience, make this accommodation a great choice. The perfect base for a winter of summer holiday. Located Just 1 hour from Salzburg in the pretty alpine village of Ramsau am Dachstein, on a high and sunny plateau above the resort of Schladming & at the foot of the majestic Dachstein. Flexible accommodation - en-suite rooms & self catering Apartments available, offering breakfast during the summer season and half board in the winter season. The Schladming-Dachstein "Summer Card Partner Hotel" - is included in Summer Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pension Hoffelner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau Am Dachstein
Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau
Pension Hoffelner Austria/Ramsau Am Dachstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing