We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!”
Review of Pension Hoffelner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Hoffelner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We rented the two-bedroom family appartement with kitchen and loved it. We felt very much at home and welcome. The kids
loved the playground and we loved the awesome view from the balcony and the spacious, well kept appartement decorated with lots of lovely details. Although I am usually in charge of planning our day trips we ended up doing exactly what Rob suggested every day and he was spot on. His insider tips came in very handy. The sommercard was a great money-saver too. Lots of activities for free and the card comes with the room in the summer. We will definitely be coming again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinablau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

I cannot recommend Pension Hoffelner enough, it exceeded out expectations. The accomodations are excellent and Joanna and Rob are lovely people and more than helpful. The range of activities all close at hand are great, as soon as we've saved our pennies we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Pension Hoffelner gets 5 stars from me. It exceeded our expectations. The views from our top floor balconies were breathtaking. The range of activities available within easy reach suited our family group of mixed ages and fitness; from scenic but arduous day long hikes up spectacular mountains to gentle strolls through alpine pastures full of flowers and butterflies (cable cars were available for the less fit), views of the Dachstein Glacier where you felt on top of the world and are able to watch people skiing and snowboarding in mid summer, rock climbing for advanced as well as beginners using the Klettersteigen (fixed rope routes), white water rafting, castles and history and bird watching. Even from our balconies I saw Golden Eagle, Crossbill, Crested Tit, Hawfinch, Firecrest, Black and Common Redstarts to name but a few. Rock Thrush would have been added to the list if we had timed our visit a little earlier in the year. The summer card was extremely useful, giving either free or discounted access to an enormous number of activities including cable cars and is included as part of the package.
Our English hosts, Rob & Joanna White, were unobtrusively present and available throughout our stay offering helpful advice on walks, restaurants, shops and much else. There is a choice of en suite rooms or apartments in various combinations. My only caveat, and it is entirely personal, was that I found the mattresses rather too firm for my taste. No complaints from the rest of our family though. Ramsau am Dachstein and Pension Hoffelner was a perfect holiday destination. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very difficult to fully describe how much an incredible time we had at Pension Hoffelner. The Chalet is a lovely place to stay, very nicely decorated, relaxing, but also a place where you can have a proper laugh. The hosts, Joanna and Rob, were great. Had some good chats with Joanna, and Rob drove us to the slopes every day, both went out of their way to help us. The food is excellent, the wine is also very nice. Beautiful location, the view is stunning, and when the sun is out you can stand on the balcony with a beer without freezing to death. Good skiing, modern facilities and lifts, friendly locals, who even know how to queue (even though there weren't many queues). Will certainly be returning in the future for the ski, may even try the summer. Many thanks to both Joanna Rob (who will trick you in to playing the cereal box game, and then beat everyone). Kyle + Charlotte

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keavers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is our third visit to Pension Hoffelner. We again have had a superb holiday. The chalet is still as lovely as ever with many of the rooms been refurbished this year. We stayed in one of the apartments this time which suited our party of four superbly. It was gorgeous and didn't want to leave. The food and wine were excellent with clean plates every night.

We hired a car this time which we found opened up even more beautiful ski ing. The hosts of the chalet are very kind helpful people and feel as though they will be our friends for a very long time and nothing was ever to much trouble, we truly had a wonderful time and will be returning again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiefisher26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A large group of us stayed here for a skiing week recently, We all had a great time.

Chalet:
The Chalet is modern but cosy, comfortable and very clean with amazing showers and stunning views.
The breakfast was excellent and the 3 course evening meal was very good quality. Also the free chalet wine was very drinkable.

Area:
The Chalet is located 5-10 mins drive from Schladming a vast and modern ski area with some of the best runs I've ever seen. Its also walking distance away from Ramsau a cute little local town that's handy for shops, restaurants and some local ski slopes/ski schools.
The Chalet offered an excellent bus service in the mornings and evenings.

Service:
The Chalet hosts were very professional, friendly and accommodating. They organised our every need with precision and freely shared their vast local knowledge. When we left at the end of the week, it was like saying goodbye to old friends. The Bar was well stocked and very reasonably priced.

Pension Hoffelner is not a so much a Chalet but more of a Chalet Hotel, there are a few things that chalets provide that they lack like afternoon cakes and free access to all the communal areas all the time and some things that you only get in a nice hotel like a fully stocked bar rooms cleaned daily.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Firstly, I had a great week staying here...
Best bits...Very helpful prior to arrival, excellent range of facilities, good rooms, very clean, very reasonable meals, Rob will go out of his way to help you, good shuttle runs down to the slopes daily reducing the issue of the location
BUT
Bad parts...Joanna can be unwelcoming, you are made to feel like you are intruding on someone's home, often not a comfortable atmosphere. There are house rules that should not be crossed, for example if you stretch over the hour and a half allocated for your three "inclusive" glasses of wine during the meal you will be charged despite still sitting at the dinner table finishing the meal as happened to a member of our group when 15 minutes too late to ask for it. If a customer gets it slightly wrong is it really a big loss if you let them have it a little late rather than making them feel embarrassed to ask? This is not the only example but one that has popped into my mind.

There are a number of "extra charges" including the pool table and the worst being for a sauna. Why provide facilities and then charge multiple extras for their use, especially when not mentioned on the advert.

Overall a most enjoyable week, sadly unlikely to return for repeat custom because of the little extras and never truly felt like I was a paying guest on a holiday. I wouldn't expect to be allowed to run free but some leeway/customer service is surely part of the holiday experience.

If you choose to stay here make sure you're prepared to stick to the rules and cause little fuss. If you fancy a holiday with plenty of flexibility, for example if you have a family that may require a little bit extra...this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vintage1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineHuckle, Owner at Pension Hoffelner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the the time to write a review of your stay it is always appreciated and very important to us to read your opinions.
I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable week however I would also like to address the negative aspects. I am truly very sorry if I made you feel unwelcome at any time, it is very upsetting to read this since one of our absolute main aims is to make all our guest feel truly welcome, which you are and also a valued customer. I obviously somehow failed you in this respect and I’m very sorry for this, maybe I was just having an off day, since your review is anonymous I can’t really say.
With regard to the wine and soft drinks included during the evening meal, we have been operating this system for the last 6 seasons, with no issue.
It is explained on the first evening, to every table, that up to 3 large glasses of red or white wine (equivalent to 1 bottle), or soft drinks are included between 19:00 and 20:30, we are usually serving coffee by 20:30 and so this has always been a good cut off point. There is also a little notice on the table on the first night showing the same information. We like to think that most of our guests see these drinks as a bonus rather than an allocation. However after reading your review we are considering not including any free drinks during the evening meals, next season, to save any confusion or bad feeling, basically standard half board, this might make things simpler for all.
We have very few “house rules” and they are intended to help the house run smoothly and efficiently and also benefit our guests. Someone has to inform guests about these little things and this task almost always falls to me.
We think that is it fairly standard for there to be a €1 fee for use of a pool table, it is a coin-operated table that has been in the house for over 20 years. We make a €4 charge for use of the sauna to cover the cleaning and extra towels. This system also ensures that the sauna is not booked, prepared and heated and then not used as was often the case when this service was previously included. Neither of these services are advertised as “Free” or “Included” on any advertising, but I will try and make this even clearer. From our research, in accommodation of our size and in our price range charges for extra services are pretty normal.
Again I would like to apologize that your holiday was not 100% and be assured that we do take your comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ramsau am Dachstein hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Matschner
Hotel Matschner
#2 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Haus Maria
Pension Haus Maria
#1 of 72 in Ramsau am Dachstein
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#6 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Knollhof
Ferienhotel Knollhof
#8 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rosslhof
Hotel Rosslhof
#5 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufhotel
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufh...
#4 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoffelner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoffelner

Address: Hochfellnerweg 271 | Vordere Ramsau, Ramsau am Dachstein 8972, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Styria > Ramsau am Dachstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsau am Dachstein
Price Range: £94 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hoffelner 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be assured of a warm welcome at the Pension Hoffelner which is situated in a stunning location, featuring panoramic mountain views. Stylish, comfortable, recently renovated accommodation, extensive facilities, fantastic food, excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and hosts whose main concern is that you have the very best holiday experience, make this accommodation a great choice. The perfect base for a winter of summer holiday. Located Just 1 hour from Salzburg in the pretty alpine village of Ramsau am Dachstein, on a high and sunny plateau above the resort of Schladming & at the foot of the majestic Dachstein. Flexible accommodation - en-suite rooms & self catering Apartments available, offering breakfast during the summer season and half board in the winter season. The Schladming-Dachstein "Summer Card Partner Hotel" - is included in Summer Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pension Hoffelner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau Am Dachstein
Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau
Pension Hoffelner Austria/Ramsau Am Dachstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing