We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hosts for our New Year holiday!”
Review of Pension Hoffelner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Hoffelner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Cannot thank Rob and Joanna and Henry and Hugo (their very helpful and entertaining sons) for having us in what felt at times like their home. Our fussy eaters were accommodated. The bedrooms and apartments are all lovely - still Austrian but nice curtains and linens to bring it up to date and all the bathrooms very modern and well equipped. At times, I'm sure our large party took over but we hope that the New Year entertainment made up for it. The skiing area is great - all abilities catered for. We completely recommend a visit to Pension Hoffelner!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0910Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Pension Hoffelner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Instantly you feel welcome, really a home away from home. Joanna, Rob and their two sons Henry and Hugo were very accommodating and helpful with any requests. We had three spacious bedrooms, each with their own ensuite, a kitchen/dining area between the three bedroom (5 adults). Fully stocked kitchen, but we went downstairs to enjoy a continental breakfast and absolutely wonderful dinner meals (big thanks to Duncan) with the other house guests. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, we did not want for anything and if we did, it was there before we even asked for it. Rooms were tidied and cleaned daily, towels and sheets changed once a week. Take your slippers as your shoes will be parked on a shelf near the entrance. There is a separate room outside for ski boots, skis, snowboards, etc. with warming hooks that dry your ski boots over night. Pay washer & dryer are also available in this room, laundry soap is supplied. All the comforts of home. The common room downstairs has comfy sofa's and chairs, a table to play cards on, a small billiard table, a book library, movies to borrow and refreshments for purchase. There is also a bar area in the dining room for those who wish to indulge but I do caution that there is plenty of wine included with your dinner. Skiing was amazing. Ski ticket gives you access to a number of ski hills in the area which provide plenty of opportunity for the beginner up to expert. Definately require a car to get around. If you don't ski, you can hike, horse drawn sleigh rides, cross country ski, etc. We were very fortunate in that all the guests in the house that week were more than open to striking up a conversation and it became, very quickly, a family atmosphere. This accommodation was above our expectations, a real hidden gem. Would not hesitate to highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaMapleLeaf4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was the most spontaneously chosen vacation so far, but by far, the most sensational and we will surely come back to the Hoffelner pension in the summer too, if your schedules will allow us.
Right after we parked our car, we were welcomed by Joanna and Rob, the Hoffelner pension`s owners, who are so kind that we felt like we arrived to our family`s house.
The pension has an antique style decoration with very fine things and very thoroughly placed. The place was neaten, not even in a 5 star hotel from important cities I found such a clean and shiny shower cabin as the one in Hoffelner Pension.
The dinners were a real treat, exceptionally well chosen and cooked, with healthy ingredients, nicely seasoned and truly delicious, that made us feel like we were in a health resort. The whole staff of Hoffelner was very well trained and very polite.
The room overcame our expectations: neat, warm and with a dreamy window panorama towards the mountains. What can be more charming than seeint the peaks of the mountains through the clouds, directly from bed?
The activities to be done in the area in the period of the year are so diverse you could not get bored: you can start the morning with a healthy and tasty, the with very good advices from Joanna and Rob you can choose from the following: hiking up to 1500 m point, skiing from 3000 m or above (depending on the abilities), taking skiing lessons, which is very easy and accessible (what we did, as beginners), sleighing, taking the cable to 3000 m point where a great ice museum is, having traditional cakes and cheeses and the list can go on.
At the end of this dynamic activities, the best you can get is a warm welcoming an the Hoffelner Pension with a special dinner, you can choose a movie from their great movie collection and go back to the room or spend the night playing pool with your friends or other games the Chilling room offers you.
Back to your every day like, we stop and ask ourselves: was it real indeed? 

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liliana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is our second trip to this wonderful little gem in Austria.
We rented the two bedroom apartment which was very spacious for our family of three.
The attention to detail in this Inn is impeccable and Joanna and Rob have done an excellent job.
The dinners in the evening were lovely and delicious as well.
They are amazing hosts who have gone way beyond the call of duty to ensure that all their guests are well cared for and are happy.
Their two sons Henry and Hugo are also good little ambassadors and helped with our luggage as well as assisted their parents with the weekly changeover. ( Thanks Henry and Hugo !) They also entertained our daughter Jiselle while there.
They are gracious hosts who are genuinely kind and thoughtful as well as very professional.
We are also in the hotel business on Lake Como and are very particular about where we stay. We love this place and will certainly be back.next trip to Austria.
Thanks Joanna, Robb, Henry and Hugo for making us feel so welcome !

Robin, Eric and Jiselle A - Lake Como Beach Resort , Como, Italy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our first holiday over Christmas and our first family ski-ing holiday. My husband skis well and took our 6 year old on lots of blue runs, there is a blue run 5mins walk from the hotel. We did most of our ski-ing at Rittissberg which is a 5/10 min drive and there's lots of runs to suit all levels. Rob and Joanna and her lovely team really took care of us and our boys (aged 3 & 6). They could eat earlier in the evenings and really enjoyed their food! Our apartment was excellent, cleaned to an exceptionally high standard and had everything we needed. The Whole experience was fabulous and we have just booked for Christmas 2014!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hi Joanna and Rob,

Thank you both very much, we really had a fantastic holiday in a beautiful chalet.

Whilst its hard to please everyone all the time with menu's, its been one of the best we have had in a ski chalet for a while, so thank you very much.

The rooms were so nicely prepared each day, and the little gift at Christmas and card for my birthday was a lovely and well appreciated gesture, thank you.

It may seem silly, but the generous number of hangers in all of our wardrobes, was fantastic and very unusual, thanks again!

The company we had for our Christmas week was fantastic, I am only sorry that we did not get to know the other families better. We talked about this on the way to the airport as a family and for us, we think that pre dinner drinks and canopies in the place of a starter or similar in your beautiful lounge would be fantastic. Anyway, just a thought, pros and cons to it I am sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very nice location, close to hiking trails, climbing routes. Especially nice and helpful hosts. Original room with very comfortable bed and a nice view. Tasty breakfast. Was overall a very nice relaxing stay and we plan to come again.

Room Tip: the rooms of the pension are perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexi7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsau am Dachstein
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof
Hotel Berghof
#4 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufhotel
Almfrieden Wander- und Langlaufh...
#5 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alpine Club
Alpine Club
#11 of 35 in Schladming
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rosslhof
Hotel Rosslhof
#7 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Knollhof
Ferienhotel Knollhof
#9 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Matschner
Hotel Matschner
#2 of 17 in Ramsau am Dachstein
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Hoffelner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hoffelner

Address: Hochfellnerweg 271 | Vordere Ramsau, Ramsau am Dachstein 8972, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Styria > Ramsau am Dachstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsau am Dachstein
Price Range: £89 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hoffelner 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can be assured of a warm welcome at the Pension Hoffelner which is situated in a stunning location, featuring panoramic mountain views. Stylish, comfortable, recently renovated accommodation, extensive facilities, fantastic food, excellent service, a friendly atmosphere and hosts whose main concern is that you have the very best holiday experience, make this accommodation a great choice. The perfect base for a winter of summer holiday. Located Just 1 hour from Salzburg in the pretty alpine village of Ramsau am Dachstein, on a high and sunny plateau above the resort of Schladming & at the foot of the majestic Dachstein. Flexible accommodation - en-suite rooms & self catering Apartments available, offering breakfast during the summer season and half board in the winter season. The Schladming-Dachstein "Summer Card Partner Hotel" - is included in Summer Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pension Hoffelner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau Am Dachstein
Hoffelner Hotel Ramsau
Pension Hoffelner Austria/Ramsau Am Dachstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing