We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wellness is happiness at Schalbers in Serfaus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellness-Residenz Schalber
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Serfaus
Certificate of Excellence
antwerp
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wellness is happiness at Schalbers in Serfaus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Every other year we like to drive to Austria, more specifically Tirol. We stay a week at Posthotel in Achenkirch and drive then to Serfaus-Fiss-Ladis to Wellness Residenz Schalber in Serfaus. This is a lovely village high in the mountains with spectacular views on the mountain from te hotel terrace. The wellness zone and swimming pools are top just as the one star Michelin restaurant in typical Tirolian style. Alois Schalber is the big boss but extremely friendly for his guests. Serfaus is car free but a friendly lad will park yours. Hiking is a must.

Room Tip: all the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
70
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We are visiting wellness hotel Schalber since 2002. This hotel has an outstanding Quality. The Restaurant, Rooms, Wellness, Bar, Service, Interior, Mountain views and the service are amongst the best in the World. This is for us the place to be during our summer holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in the Schalber - our first although we have been going to Serfaus for many years and can't recommend it more highly! Our room was very nice with quite a modern, though Alpine and woody, decor. It was a suite with 2 rooms, a sitting area balcony and 2 bathrooms and is one of the new ones - I believe we were the first to stay in it.
The food was delicious - the dinners are predominantly menu ordered, with buffets for each course at some point during the week. Tea is probably the best meal of the day - tiramisu, little chocolate and fruit deserts as well as a savoury dish such as fish and chips, and soup. The only downside was our table - not in a particularly well lit or desirable area in terms of surrounding guests. However the service was lovely - on a day when we travelled elsewhere round Austria and arrived back late, the staff had agreed to provide us with 'sandwiches', which turned out to be a huge platter of lovely meats, cheese and bread!
We were primarily there for the skiing and it is easy to get to the slope via the underground. The station is a 1 minute walk from the hotel and takes 10 mins to the cable car.
Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikequality27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in the hotel the week before Christmas. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very comfortable, has outstanding facilities and the staff is both professional as well as friendly. Hotel Schalber is a 5 star hotels from every point of view. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The sport and wellness facilities are outstanding. The hotel is situated at the beginning of the village and the ski lifts are easy accessible. Food is of very good and the dinner in particular was of a very high quality. Not low cost but value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanFTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Well, me and my family are 25 year veterans of Serfaus, believe it or not, we think we know this place better than most. It is by far our preferred skiing destination in the Alps and as our children have grown older, we now tend to stay here. Think there are better hotels for very young kids, not so much to do with Schalber but more to do with other guests.

The service here is very good and will compare with most of teh best in the Alps, and importantly its not stuffy. The staff around meals are great, friendly and knowledgable, in addition to patient! The food is very good, although standards have slipped somewhat in the past few years, still good though. However on day 6 or 7 you might just dream of a burger instead of a 5 course meal with schaum suppe. To remedy this, they do serve a wiener scnitzel on request.

Hotel facilities are second to none, fantastic pool and sauna area, great bars and a kids club. Youcan even find a corner to smoke cigars and be manly, how good is that.

The hotel is VERY busy so if you want more exclusivity go to Lech. It could also use a lick of paint here and there as it wears under heavy usage.

Finally, this is not cheap, for a family of 5, we ended up with a Eur11k bill for a week inclduing one or two bottles of wine, nothing fancy. Thats a lot and tehir business acumen does shine trhough a lot in most aspects, you do really pay for the pleasure.

Serfaus is self is a dream destination for avid skiers with kids or those seeking the good life. Everything is aimed at giving you a comfortable stay, never carry skiis around or be otherwise inconvenienced. The rodel ride down the mountain through the forest with the kids after a wonderful day at ski school is just the highlight (btw if you kids do not speak German it can be a little hassle getting an Enlish speaker, they are in short supply). And the skiing itself is not too shappy and then they eventually merge it with say Iscghl and St Anton this will be world class. It has already been names No 1 ski reports in the Alps 2012.

Had Schalber been a little more exclusive I would have given it 5 big ones. And also a big gripe , for me at least, the beds are rock hard!!!!! It might just be me, but at this price level the bar is very high. That said, we will be back every year til we can't!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allover_marcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

It really is a great hotel
Rooms are made for good with children out of the room a great view
The rooms are cleaned well and smells good fresh wood, linen clean and white
The lobby is very huge, there are a few rooms, a library, music room and a smoking room
SPA is a very high score - a variety of luxurious treatments and takes the highest places in Austria
There are many rooms for relaxation, outdoor and indoor swimming pool
Japanese bath, refrigerator for people
The breakfast is very varied and plentiful
There are a lot of fish dishes and meat
Dairy products, yogurt
Has a fresh juice
Decide for lunch
This is fine dining, be prepared for it
The hotel is located at the beginning of Serfaus
Spend your money and you'll remember all my life about this hotel and not a moment's regret the money spent

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill_Keriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Next year will be the fourth time in a row that we will be staying at the Residenz Schalber. We are travelling with four children and the Hotel and Serfaus is the most family friendly Ski Resort you could ever get.
The Hotel's service is outstanding, they have a great choice of beautiful rooms for all family types, very spacious, modern and lovely decorated.
The spa is amazing and they have a great separate indoor pool where they kids can chill out after skiing all day!
The restaurant and the service is fantastic. The breakfast is by far the best we have ever had in a European Hotel. Dinner is great and there is sooo much choice! Our children love it!
The location of the hotel is the best part. It is right by the station which brings you directly to the Talstation. You can put all your ski gear in the depot on the top of the mountain so there is no need to carry anything at all!
All in all the hotel is perfect for families. We have tried many but there is nothing better!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serfaus hotels
0.2 mi away
Cervosa Hotel
Cervosa Hotel
#3 of 22 in Serfaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Sonnen
Hotel 3 Sonnen
#6 of 22 in Serfaus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#12 of 22 in Serfaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Montana
Hotel Garni Montana
#1 of 22 in Serfaus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#5 of 22 in Serfaus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baer
Hotel Baer
#4 of 22 in Serfaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellness-Residenz Schalber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness-Residenz Schalber

Property: Wellness-Residenz Schalber
Address: Dorfbahnstrasse 15, Serfaus 6534, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Serfaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Serfaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a first class TYROLEAN WELLNESS & FAMILY HOTEL with international flair. It is our main aim to meet all your expectations, to pamper you, and to take care of you individually and personally We cherish and lice tradition and the tyrolean way of life. We are aware of our duty towards the environment, and we show our commitment by acting in a responsible and holisitic manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Wellness-Residenz Schalber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing