We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Forellenhof Roessle
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lichtenstein
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was here as part of a business conference. My room, 320, was quite small and only looked over the inside part of the hotel. Not particularly nice but adequate and quiet. The main hotel was excellent, well decorated with many different small restaurants and rooms which made it quite charming but a bit confusing. Food was very good. The creamy crushed potatoes were especially good but I think a large calory bomb! Restaurant service was a bit slow but the staff are super friendly. The view of the castle was lovely. One of the main problems we all had was getting a mobile phone signal (Vodaphone) in the hotel. This was almost always zero. I had to go outside into the cold to make a call! On the positive side the Wi-Fi signal was good and strong through the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Find one that looks out the back towards the Schloss
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant Forellenhof Roessle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August 2013 and ate at the restaurant (see other review). Great hotel, with a charismatic manager and spectacular views of the Castle Lichtenstein (if you get the correct side of the building). The rooms were very well appointed, with "rolladen" (roller blinds built into the windows) which effectively blacked out the room. We were very pleased with the size of the room, and the comfort of the bed.

My only niggles would be that the TV channels were limited, and the television system fairly unresponsive. Also, you need strong wrists to open and shut the doors to the balcony, bedrooms etc.

Three of our party stayed in one of the family "apartments", which had a double bed in the main section, with a kitchenette (hob and all) and a second room with two single beds. The only downside is that the road which runs past this hotel is incredibly noisy. So if you are booking, ask to be in a room facing the Castle!

This hotel even has a spectacular spa (upstairs!) which has a Finnish Sauna (90 deg), Bio-Sauna (60 deg, no steam) and Steam-room (40 deg), as well as a heated glass-house style upstairs area with views of the castle.

Great fun, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for castle-facing, otherwise the traffic will keep you up.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Stay due to work howevet this hotrl is Charming, cheerful and so inexpensive, lovely rooms, great views and great restaurant. Second time to stay and it's as lovely as it was the first time. Staff so friendly, no hesitation in recommending it for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesdaisyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We called here 6 nights and rate the hotel highly. Located beneath Schloss (castle) Lichtenstein, not far south of Stuttgart. Restaurant is v good, and ate there all nights, all restaurant & hotel staff v friendly, helpful. Lovely bread for fruhstuck. Good room, shared balcony. Village is prosaic but good walks in neighbourhood, forest etc. and is v good base for exploring Swabia (recommend Donau valley to south, Ulm, Esslingen, Stuttgart, esp art gallery, Tubingen, and Maulbronn), and is also vg for cycling.

Room Tip: facing N or W
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

A great trip ended at this wonderful location. Not a "posh" hotel for those who are used to "Ritz", but a great place to stay and visit the area (the Schwaebische Alb / Swabian Alb), a part of the Jura plateau stretching from Switzerland to the Cliffs of Dover). We stayed at this smallish hotel with a very active restaurant (they have their own trout raising business and they know how to prepare trout: try the warm Juniper wood smoked trout, unbelievably delicate and delicious!). The hotel is just under a high mountain with a gorgeous castle seen from below. It is not very old, but oh so picturesque! And the view from there is unbelievable.
The area is not frequented by many US travelers (there were a few Army families from the nearby Stuttgart area, about an hour's drive north, who enjoyed the place with all the Germans). A great find. The area has some land that is going back to where it was in the "old days", rough territory with sloe bushes (remember "sloe gin fizz"?) a very tart berry bush I remember from my youth, could not enjoy the berries until the first frost rendered them a bit sweeter. And I had not seen silver thistles since my youth either, but my sister knew where to find them on a single file road! The Swabian Alb is worth visiting! And don't miss Bad Urach, a little known place with some of the prettiest "Fachwerk" houses I have seen.

Room Tip: A good web site will help you get there.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wolfried M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed in a self catering apartment within the hotel. The apartment was a really good size and well equiped. The location of the hotel is stunning - right underneath Lichtenstein Castle, there are walks all around including a steep walk up to the castle itself. For the children there was an excellent playground and they enjoyed feeding the ducks and fish at the stream running through the gardens. The hotel has a very popular restaurant specialising in trout that comes from their own pools and this is highly recommended. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very welcoming. There is a outdoor community swimming pool open during the summer months just across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpkljp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank maja432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichtenstein
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#2 of 2 in Lichtenstein
33 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hydepark Hotel-Restaurant
Hydepark Hotel-Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Engstingen
9 reviews
6.8 mi away
Speidel's BrauManufaktur
Speidel's BrauManufaktur
#1 of 1 in Odenwaldstetten
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Achalm Hotel
Achalm Hotel
#1 of 10 in Reutlingen
180 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gasthof Landhotel Hirsch
Gasthof Landhotel Hirsch
#1 of 1 in Sankt Johann
5 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Graf Eberhard
Hotel Graf Eberhard
#2 of 9 in Bad Urach
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Forellenhof Roessle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Forellenhof Roessle

Address: Heerstr. 20 | Lichtenstein-Honau, 72805 Lichtenstein, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Lichtenstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lichtenstein
Price Range: £95 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Forellenhof Roessle 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel Forellenhof Rossle at honau. We are a family ru hotel at the foot of the biosphere Swabian Alb with over 220 years tradition. The house specialty are the trouts from their own fish - farm, which are served in our restaurant. The hotel also has its own spa - area and cocktail bar. Host family Gumpper & Stoll looking forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Forellenhof Roessle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing