We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marnic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marnic Apartments
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Mlini
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

There is not much else that can be said that hasn't been said already about these apartments. They really are that good. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Adriatic. Stunning. Very clean and reasonably well equipped apartment, but, as one reviewer suggested, bring your own pillows. We did! Very importantly, the apartment had effective and quiet air-conditioning.
Nice owners who gave us a welcome drink on arrival but they don't speak english very well.
One warning. Be careful of the steps down to the pool. They do not have yellow lines painted on the edge. I fell off one and hurt myself quite badly, but the owners were very attentive, so don't let that put you off these wonderful apartments.
Great restaurant just at the top of the steep drive. Good food and cheap (or at least it was before Croatia entered the EU.
With regard to the area, you need a car. We had one and don't know what we would have done without it. Dubrovnik is a lovely place, is close by and worth a trip. Great ice cream.
We went to Bosnia for a day trip but had not been warned by the hire company that it was the law to have headlights on at all times. This resulted in a €20 on the spot fine. No flexibility shown by the cop which made us suspicious that it is a tourist rip-off. We got stopped again later on for no apparent reason and as the cop didn't speak English I don't think he could be bothered dealing with us so let us go. A bad day in Bosnia meant we just left the country. Putting tourists off in this way must affect their economy more than getting a bit of extra foreign currency through fines.
I can highly recommend Marnic Apartments, the area and the prices. We had a lovely holiday overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wnb9654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed 9 nights from June 10th.Great stay had room 301 top floor decent size and private balcony stunning view of the sea,islands and Cavtat.

Room was a studio decent size simply decorated very clean with a large balcony all balconies by the way have washing line with pegs great for drying towels! Kitchen was pretty small 2 ring electric hob,sink and large fridge,kettle and coffee percolator. Bathroom was quite small as well but all nice and clean and perfect for us.

Can only echo most other reviews of Marnic apartments ie really clean peaceful and a lovely place to stay. Yes you are near a main road noise from this was minimal when sat on balcony and almost non existent when sat by the pool. Transfer times is 10-15 mins don't worry about being close to airport it's not Heathrow you will be lucky to see 2 planes in an hour during most parts of the day and they pass off the shoreline.

Local area. Yes as others have said you have to walk along the main road to get the bus approx 10 mins towards Plat as a guide the bus arrives from Dubrovnik approx 25 mins after published departure time and from Cavtat approx 15 mins. I am somewhat puzzled by the reviewer below who states the bus service isn't frequent and you are l lucky to see one an hour?!
Eh no from Dubrovnik to Cavat the no10 bus runs from 5am until 1am a total number of 29 times and in the opposite direction a total of 28 times oh and if you include the no16 that runs Dubrovnik from Plat that's another 13 times! Now dear reader I am no math Wizz but I'm pretty sure that is more than 1 an hour when you need them? Also the bus times provided in the apartment are out of date download from Libertas before you go service is the same Saturday and Sunday.

The Tavern at the top of the hill is open from 9am we had 2 lunches and they do take away pizza which was good. King Konaba is also worth a visit very good meat platter.

We visited Cavtat most evenings for drinks and food as its only 15 mins away by bus. Cavtat is lovely not a crowded as Dubrovnik and the restaurants are all waterfront,great place to sit and people watch and drool over the very large yachts. Can recommend Ancora wine bar excellent service and good choice of Croatian wines and simple cheese and meat plates. Also plenty of small boats to Dubrovnik from here approx 45 mins a great way to arrive in the city.

Ok that will do. I loved Croatia and staying at the Marnic apartments can highly recommend to all unless you think Benidorm is great and every restaurant must serve an English breakfast and chicken nuggets and burgers if you do then please stay away and leave Croatia for those of us who like a bit of culture Ta.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dansnell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I went to this place for two weeks. All that has beensaid is true , very clean the owners great.
It is however isolated with a bus service which isn't frequent obout every hour if you are lucky.
The walk to get to the road to walk to anything isn't for the faint hearted.
In my opinion a car is almost a necessity. The bistro accross the road is good anywhere else involves a walk along a road which is busy at night talk a torch.
There is a beach 145 to get to a concrete slab which is slimy and dangerous
This place would be great for a study break or a complete chill out but as stated dont take a frock

Room Tip: The studio apps are very small pay a bit more for larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tatata333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The appartments are in Soline , not Plat as advertised by cosmos and monarch. Soline is the next town to Plat. The appartments were clean, modern and very spacious with great views over the bay. The only downside is the beds are hard, the double bed is two singles zipped together and i would recomend that you pack your own pillows, the ones provided are not comfortable.

The pool area is very good and clean, although in May the pool is very cold. The free wifi and TV were good.

The location is ideal if you have a car and want to explore the area, 10 mins to Dubrovnik, 5 mins to Cavtat, both worth visiting, Montenegro is only 20 mins drive and Kotor is 1 hour drive (remember to take euros)


The restaurant on the main road (500 metres away) was good value with great service, King Konoba, which is 900 metres in Plat was a higher standard, also worth trying is the Plat Tavern, at the bottom of the hill, 1500 metres, you can look out over the beach and watch the sun set.

When we booked the holiday this accomadation was cheaper than villa plat and other local hotels, and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bromvill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

After booking this accommodation as result of reading the reviews, I don't know what else we could have asked for from self-catering apartments! The area the apartments are located in is called Soline, which is just south (5 minute walk) of Mlini. 15 minute transfer from the airport, bus stops only a few minutes walk north or south- depending which way you're heading. There's a good, fair priced restaurant about 2 minutes walk away, and several more restaurants in the area. The family were lovely, and Ivo was kind enough to run my friend and I to the local Lidl to buy our food for the week. There's a lovely pebbly beach around 15 minutes walk away (there's more than one way to get there, don't take the steps every time like we did! Apparently, by going into Plat and passing King's restaurant and walking through a brick archway you get straight onto the beach), great transport, the buses are cheap and reliable. Dubrovnik is only 25 minutes away on the bus, Cavtat 15 minutes in the other direction. Clean, functional and peaceful with astonishing views from the balconies.

Just brilliant, I couldn't have asked for more. I highly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginandtoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The previous reviews paint an accurate picture of Marnic Apartments (pronounced somewhere between Marnish and Marneetch). We booked as a result of reading them and weren't disappointed. Ivo and his family looked after us well and were really helpful - welcome drink, good advice on what to do, gift of own fruit, extra pillows on request and because no-one was using our room the night we left, we were able to use it all day until our flight.

We only had a studio room, but it was spacious for two people and the free wifi worked fine for us. You have to run the shower for 5-10 minutes to get hot water, but it's then fine so no problem.

The restaurant by the apartments was really good, but do check out King Konoba not too much further away - just look at it's own reviews on tripadvisor - that many 5 stars cant lie!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gullible88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

As we always say a holiday is what you make of it and when we went to the Marnic Apartments in late September through early October 2012 we had a lovely time. The apartments are only 15 minutes transfer from the very efficient airport and who knew you get such lovely weather in October only 3 hours flight away from the Uk.

The apartments themselves are in a quiet area 14km from Dubrovnic and 8km from Cavtat so be warned, apart from a few restaurants there is no night life so if that's what you are after stay in one of the aforementioned larger towns. The apartments , and indeed Croatia itself, were spotless inside and out and the views from the balconies are amazing(I'll upload some pictures) The pool(cleaned daily) was also spotless. Admittedly the owners English can be limited but then again so is our Croatian!!When we did have a problem(i'll come to that in a bit)they went and got someone who spoke good english within an hour anyway so no issues there.

If you can stretch to it we would strongly recommend the larger apartments on the third floor, there is a supplement but its well worth it but the smaller rooms on the ground floor were perfectly acceptable.

The apartments are truly self catering though and the owners, as far as we could tell, offer no meals and the fact that they can sell you local beers and water seems to be a closely guarded secret, there are no price lists or menus anywhere so be prepared for a trip to the supermarket to stock up for breakfast and sandwiches etc and there is a lovely restaurant 50m up the hill for your evening meal, they even do takeaway pizzas!!!Facilities in the rooms are perfectly OK with a 2 ring hob, fridge, freezer, and even a microwave and a washing machine in the top floor apartment so, all in all, for the money, the Marnic Apartments are well worth a visit.

Be warned that everything in this part of Croatia is either up a hill of down a hill so if mobility is an issue this is not the area for you.

The beach at the hotel(down a hill surprisingly!!)you will probably visit once, its description of "rocky" is an understatement it really is not worth bothering with but, as it was late season, we had the pool area to ourselves some days and there are plenty of sun loungers.

The only problem we had with the hotel was our initial room, we were shown to the room on the bottom right of the building(the one with the vines in front of it)Don't get us wrong the room itself was lovely but whichever idiot installed the air conditioning bolted the extractor units for 2 floors to the exterior wall right where you sleep so if someone sleeps with their aircon on anywhere in the first 2 floors you will not sleep due to the noise and vibration so if you are shown to this room politely decline and ask for another. We raised the issue with the owners and within an hour, for a supplement, we were in the top floor apartment we should have booked originally and the rest of the time at the hotel was lovely so the reviews moaning about unhelpful, rude, nosy owners are obviously serial moaners or expect 5 star accommodation and service for few hundred quid. For the money this hotel is ideal.

The nearest shop is now 1km away(the one referred to as 300m away has closed), to get there walk to the top of the hill and turn right along the fairly busy road with limited pavements, so not good for kiddies. Stay to the left at the V junction in Plat and you'll be at the shop in 10 minutes on foot.

There is a lovely beach with a charming bistro 20 minutes from the hotel, again on foot, but it is difficult to find, basically at the aforementioned v junction bear right down the hill past the now closed shop, you will pass a few houses then you'll see a road sign showing 800m, just after this sign on the right is a set of white steps leading, not surprisingly, downhill, you do however feel like you are walking down someones driveway but believe me this is the access path to the beach, once you get there its well worth it but plan to spend the day there as its a bit of a trek just for a few hours.

To get to Dubrovnic or Cavtat by bus is only about £1.75(40 kuna)each and the buses are very regular so both places are well worth a visit, Dubrovnic old town is amazing and the views from the restaurant at the top of the cable car are breathtaking. Cavtat is a much smaller town but still very quaint with some very nice bars and restaurants and, like us, you can drool over the megayachts in the harbour!!!There are a variety of boat trips and excursions available from both towns but, obviously, those are down to individual preference and apart from a boat trip from Dubrovnic to Cavtat we didn't bother.

I think I've bored you for long enough now so to summarize the Marnic Apartments are the perfect escape for couples who like peace and quiet, nice weather, short flights and who are mobile and capable of entertaining themselves as the owners basically show you to your room then leave you to it, all in all exactly what we wanted for surprisingly little money.

Room Tip: Top floor, definitely avoid bottom right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank archie15111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mirjana
Villa Mirjana
#6 of 7 in Mlini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnic Apartments

Property: Marnic Apartments
Address: Soline 13, Mlini 20216, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marnic Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing Accommodations, in the Dubrovnik Region! With all modern conveniences at a fraction of the cost. Close to the historic and famous Old Town of Dubrovnik and the quaint little town of Cavtat. We have a large variety of accommodations to fit your needs, we have it all, rooms, studios, apartments, bungalow, A/C, Satellite T.V. Great views of the Adriatic Sea, crystal clear pool and lots of parking. Come and visit us soon! Minutes away from the Cilipi Airport... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marnic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnic Apartments Hotel Mlini
Marnic Apartments Mlini, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing