We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Marnic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marnic Apartments
Ranked #8 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Mlini
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What more can be said about these apartments.they could not do enough for us lifts into cavtat free fruit off there own garden excellent base to stay only downside walking to local supermarket you have to walk in the gutter as there are no footpaths but you do get used to it .but have I said a lovely place to base yourself bus service not bad either as one person suggested it was 15. Kouna to cavtat or Dubrovnik excellent value I will definitely be returning to the marnic sometime soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cobleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marnic Apartments for one week in September 2013. The apartments are really easy to find on the main road if you follow the signs instead of using a sat nav as we discovered and quickly got acquainted with the local roads. We hired a car for the week which gave us the freedom to get around but the number 10 bus frequently passes by the apartments which makes Dubrovnik a fifteen minute bus ride away and the delightful Cavtat a similar distance in the opposite direction. Cavtat is well worth a trip for the numerous harbourside restaurants and local feel. The fresh fish at the Galija was fab.
The pool at the Marnic was great, clean and perfect for freshening up after a day in the sun. There is a small beach approx ten minutes south of the apartments which you can see just down the coast. A trip to Kupari beach ten minutes north of the apartments is also well worth a trip with the echos of history eerily felt courtesy of the now derelict hotels which were heavily damaged during the Croatian war of independence in the early 90's.
There is a Lidl and Getro (Which we preferred) supermarkets in a place called Župa which was a ten minute drive along the D8 heading towards Dubrovnik. Much recommend a Croatian beer call Ozjusko which was perfectly refreshing and very easy to drink.
This was our first time in Croatia and the location, apartment facilities and beautiful panoramic views of the Adriatic from the Marnic helped make this a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_How
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Marnic for 2 weeks. The owners were very nice and helpful. We stayed in room 301 and the view from the balcony was stunning, you could see over to Plat beach and Cavtat. We were only 15 mins from the airport but you couldn't really hear the planes. The pool was a nice size and the pool and loungers etc were kept clean. We used the local bus service to go into Dubrovnic and Cavtat, they were cheap and regular and ran from early morning till late at night. There is a very good restaurant at the top of the road called Zupcica, excellent food and cheap too. The beaches are not sandy but pebbly. Soline beach was our favourite only a 10 min walk but make sure you take food and water with you as there are no bars/shops. The beaches are not over busy and the sea is clear. The checkout time at the Marnic is early, between 7am and 10am. As we weren't being picked up to go to the airport till 6pm they let us keep our room all day for an extra 150 Kuna (approx. £18) . We had a very relaxing holiday and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dobbyclanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently, during the heatwave probably wasn't ideal for moving around too much but at least it was relaxing! Pool great, only struggled to get sun loungers on our final day - otherwise great. Pool was clean and no probs.

We did get told off a couple of times and felt slightly exposed but we shared our balcony area with 2 others rooms who didn't use it but were directly next to the reception.

The bus was essential, we weren't fussed by Cavtat but Dubrovnik was ace (walls a must!) - says 20kn on the timetable they give you but is 15kn and is slightly unreliable on timings but they'll get you on the bus if they can!! *when catching the bus to Dubrovnik look out for the cable car cables and get off immediately after, on the return you get the bus from the cable car but we would say walk down and try and find an earlier bus stop - they are so many people trying to get on the phrase 'it's like animals round a kill in the safari' was overheard... But we only got the 20.20.

Facilities very nice, didn't like the bed sheet on the mattress and our bathroom rather smelt (bad plumbing?) but a pretty nice place to stay. Room good, washing machine in bathroom, kitchen well stocked - with an oven too!

Overall we had a very relaxing and lovely holiday so can't complain!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

There is not much else that can be said that hasn't been said already about these apartments. They really are that good. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Adriatic. Stunning. Very clean and reasonably well equipped apartment, but, as one reviewer suggested, bring your own pillows. We did! Very importantly, the apartment had effective and quiet air-conditioning.
Nice owners who gave us a welcome drink on arrival but they don't speak english very well.
One warning. Be careful of the steps down to the pool. They do not have yellow lines painted on the edge. I fell off one and hurt myself quite badly, but the owners were very attentive, so don't let that put you off these wonderful apartments.
Great restaurant just at the top of the steep drive. Good food and cheap (or at least it was before Croatia entered the EU.
With regard to the area, you need a car. We had one and don't know what we would have done without it. Dubrovnik is a lovely place, is close by and worth a trip. Great ice cream.
We went to Bosnia for a day trip but had not been warned by the hire company that it was the law to have headlights on at all times. This resulted in a €20 on the spot fine. No flexibility shown by the cop which made us suspicious that it is a tourist rip-off. We got stopped again later on for no apparent reason and as the cop didn't speak English I don't think he could be bothered dealing with us so let us go. A bad day in Bosnia meant we just left the country. Putting tourists off in this way must affect their economy more than getting a bit of extra foreign currency through fines.
I can highly recommend Marnic Apartments, the area and the prices. We had a lovely holiday overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wnb9654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed 9 nights from June 10th.Great stay had room 301 top floor decent size and private balcony stunning view of the sea,islands and Cavtat.

Room was a studio decent size simply decorated very clean with a large balcony all balconies by the way have washing line with pegs great for drying towels! Kitchen was pretty small 2 ring electric hob,sink and large fridge,kettle and coffee percolator. Bathroom was quite small as well but all nice and clean and perfect for us.

Can only echo most other reviews of Marnic apartments ie really clean peaceful and a lovely place to stay. Yes you are near a main road noise from this was minimal when sat on balcony and almost non existent when sat by the pool. Transfer times is 10-15 mins don't worry about being close to airport it's not Heathrow you will be lucky to see 2 planes in an hour during most parts of the day and they pass off the shoreline.

Local area. Yes as others have said you have to walk along the main road to get the bus approx 10 mins towards Plat as a guide the bus arrives from Dubrovnik approx 25 mins after published departure time and from Cavtat approx 15 mins. I am somewhat puzzled by the reviewer below who states the bus service isn't frequent and you are l lucky to see one an hour?!
Eh no from Dubrovnik to Cavat the no10 bus runs from 5am until 1am a total number of 29 times and in the opposite direction a total of 28 times oh and if you include the no16 that runs Dubrovnik from Plat that's another 13 times! Now dear reader I am no math Wizz but I'm pretty sure that is more than 1 an hour when you need them? Also the bus times provided in the apartment are out of date download from Libertas before you go service is the same Saturday and Sunday.

The Tavern at the top of the hill is open from 9am we had 2 lunches and they do take away pizza which was good. King Konaba is also worth a visit very good meat platter.

We visited Cavtat most evenings for drinks and food as its only 15 mins away by bus. Cavtat is lovely not a crowded as Dubrovnik and the restaurants are all waterfront,great place to sit and people watch and drool over the very large yachts. Can recommend Ancora wine bar excellent service and good choice of Croatian wines and simple cheese and meat plates. Also plenty of small boats to Dubrovnik from here approx 45 mins a great way to arrive in the city.

Ok that will do. I loved Croatia and staying at the Marnic apartments can highly recommend to all unless you think Benidorm is great and every restaurant must serve an English breakfast and chicken nuggets and burgers if you do then please stay away and leave Croatia for those of us who like a bit of culture Ta.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dansnell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I went to this place for two weeks. All that has beensaid is true , very clean the owners great.
It is however isolated with a bus service which isn't frequent obout every hour if you are lucky.
The walk to get to the road to walk to anything isn't for the faint hearted.
In my opinion a car is almost a necessity. The bistro accross the road is good anywhere else involves a walk along a road which is busy at night talk a torch.
There is a beach 145 to get to a concrete slab which is slimy and dangerous
This place would be great for a study break or a complete chill out but as stated dont take a frock

Room Tip: The studio apps are very small pay a bit more for larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatata333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 7 in Mlini
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 7 in Mlini
35 reviews
8.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
8.5 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnic Apartments

Property: Marnic Apartments
Address: Soline 13, Mlini 20216, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marnic Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing Accommodations, in the Dubrovnik Region! With all modern conveniences at a fraction of the cost. Close to the historic and famous Old Town of Dubrovnik and the quaint little town of Cavtat. We have a large variety of accommodations to fit your needs, we have it all, rooms, studios, apartments, bungalow, A/C, Satellite T.V. Great views of the Adriatic Sea, crystal clear pool and lots of parking. Come and visit us soon! Minutes away from the Cilipi Airport... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marnic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnic Apartments Hotel Mlini
Marnic Apartments Mlini, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing