We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views good base popular”
Review of Hotel Astarea

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astarea
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice views good base popular”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice hotel we were on half board but prefer "all inclusive",, room was small and although we requested a sea view had a view of half the front car park and half sea view we were on the 2nd floor eventhough we requested a high floor, best ask for a garden/sea view on a high floor 3rd. Best take a travel kettle as there is not one in room nor was there a fridge. The wardrobes were small and the sliding doors have a cunning way of trapping your fingers , you have been warned , shower room is tiny.
There is an excellent shuttle bus service to Dubrovnik well worth a visit and other places of interest a small charge of 100 Kuna for 2 is good value.
Not much in the good way of entertainment you can go for a walk on the promenade for other bars/restaurants.Food was ok nice view from reataurant.
Beware there are lots of steps outside if you have difficulty walking TAKE CARE . Montenegro is a excursion also the village of Cavtat use the shuttle for this one.

Room Tip: 3rd floor garden/sea view and front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you on your review! We are glad to see that you had a nice stay in our hotel and liked hotel facilities and enjoyed in location. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Hotel Astarea Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    426
    188
    51
    20
See reviews for
189
479
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

About 8 kl. from Dubrovnik it was an excellent base for exploring the area. A courtesy mini bus takes you into the old town for approx. return of £5.We used this about four times during our ten day stay and the drivers are good crack!
The hotel food is good, but could do with a few more choices, especially on the main courses.
The hotel is situated where you can have nice evening walks after dinner.
In my overall rating I would have given this hotel a 4 if it could have provided a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing this review!
We are pleased to see that you liked your room and hotel facilities.
We constantly work on improving our service and offer and we hope that the next time you will be fully satisfied.
It is in our plan to equip all rooms with fridges in 2015.

We would like to have an opportunity to welcome You once again in our hotel, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.

Hotel Astarea Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just returned from 1 weeks stay at this hotel, the main positives are the spectacular sea views and location to Dubrovnik. The room was a small but adequate superior room, the towels and bedding were changed daily. We stayed half board but found the food dull, lukewarm and repetitive also they advertise 'happy hour' cocktails all round the hotel but the staff didn't know about it. The hotel was nice but overpriced, a pint of beer was 29 kunas which works out over £3 a pint and seeing as the hotel owns the beach bar and pizzeria the price was the same everywhere. Another negative was the lack of entertainment in the evenings except for some singers at the beach bar, its such a shame as the piano bar is lovely but always empty. Mlini is very pretty and getting about is easy, hotel shuttle bus to Dubrovnik is great and boat trip to Cavtat is a must. A walk around the bay to Kupari is very interesting, the hotels still show the scars of war but it is a lovely beach and very reasonable beach bar. Loved Croatia and glad to have seen it before it gets over commercialised as there is a few new hotels popping up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you on your review! . We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Hotel Astarea Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 23rd June to 6th July 2014 in room 232. Had a wonderful sea view, spotlessly clean room, good new, walk in shower, clean towels every day, Very friendly staff. Lift down to the pool area which overlooked the sea. Choice of swimming in the pool or in the sea which is sandy when you get in and safe for swimming - unusual in Croatia.
Food selections for dinner in the evening were sometimes a bit unusual (!!) but we ate twice at the A La Carte restaurant which was excellent and very reasonable, lovely setting. Also some restaurants within walking distance of Mlini and a Pizzaria in Mlini had just reopened as we left. Live music by the beach most evenings to sit and listen to, but if you want any other entertainment this is not the place for you. Enjoyed the water aerobics in the pool in the morning, very funny! The two hotel reps were very entertaining! Bus or boat ride to Dubrovnic and Cavtat which were easy. Took two guided trips out, both excellent. Will return we loved it!

Room Tip: Even numbers have a better sea view, odd numbers were further back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive impressions from Hotel Astarea on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you had a fantastic stay with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Astarea for your stay in Dubrovnik-Mlini and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Astarea Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 night stay in this hotel and we were highly delighted with the hotel in general. The staff were polite and professional, the room we had was spotlessly clean, the air - con worked a treat and the amenities were to a high standard.
Meals were all self service buffet style with, we thought, a better selection of dishes for meat eaters than vegetarians as usually there was only one or two vegetables on offer every night (one of which was potato in one guise or another). One or two pasta dishes and usually three meat and two fish choices but everything was cooked to perfection, the gravies/sauces were delicious. Breakfast did not vary all that much but there was a huge selection of breads, three types of cereal, cheeses, meats, fresh fruits and yoghurts.
Hot breakfast consisted of hard boiled, fried or scrambled eggs, bacon or baked ham, chicken or pork sausage and tomatoes (unfortunately, the pork sausage had skin so thick you could have soled your clogs with it!) but the filling was very tasty.
The location of the hotel is pretty good and there is a regular bus service to Dubrovnik or Cavtat but the hill leading from the hotel to the bus stop is not for those with mobility issues. 50 Kuna per person return for the hotel mini bus is what we paid whilst we were there for either Dubrovnik or Cavtat or you can use the taxi boats at 80 and 60 Kuna respectively.
We walked round the headland to KUPARI and we wished we hadn't - the hotels are still there showing the bomb and firearm damage from the Croatian war in the nineties - a sad reminder of what the former Yugoslavia has been through. There is unlimited access to the hotels at the moment but you may have to fight your way through the overgrown gardens and wreckage to see any of it close - up.
Mlini is a typical Croatian village with it's orange tiled roofs and cobbled streets but we would strongly recommend visiting Cavtat for it's harbour, pleasant walks and choice of restaurants and shops but obviously Dubrovnik is one of the most beautiful (and busiest) cities we have ever seen.
Enjoy your time in Croatia.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for writing this review!
We are pleased to see that you liked your room and hotel facilities.

We would like to have an opportunity to welcome You once again in our hotel, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.

Hotel Astarea Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stunning scenery from the annex, clean rooms serviced every day off our stay. The staff were all very helpful polite and honest. I suffer from Ceoliac disease which means i have a restricted diet and have to know ingredients are in the food, every night the chief met me to tell me what i could or could not eat even preparing individual things for me to eat if there was nothing that I fancied nothing was a problem to them. It was a sad day on the 16th of July we had to come home but we will always remember this trip our first to Croatia and hopefully it wont be long till we return to the Astarea Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex all face the sea however there is no lift we were on the top floor and did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive impressions from Hotel Astarea on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you had a fantastic stay with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Astarea for your stay in Dubrovnik-Mlini and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Astarea Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I went to this hotel with Newmarket Holidays. Most people on the trip seemed to have rooms overlooking the car park, but I had spent one night there on another trip so requested a sea view room. We paid a large supplement for a double room for single use. The room is adequate and clean - no. 313. The aircon works but is rather ineffective as it is very old-fashioned. The view is nice from this room. It is in the sun in the afternoon. It has two single beds but they are rather narrow. 311 is similar. There is no fridge in the room which is a disadvantage. The TV only has Sky News and BBC news. I do not agree with a previous reviewer that the staff are friendly - rather the opposite. Everything seemed to be too much effort and customer service needs attention in this hotel. Newmarket Holidays does not provide local guides on the trips to Mostar and Montenegro which is a disadvantage. Also it is quite a distance from Dubrovnik and the steep hill to the main road means reliance on the shuttle bus, which has to be booked ahead and costs 50 kuna return. The cable car is worth it for the wonderful view of Dubrovnik but the shuttle bus will not stop there even if you ask and the man at the desk agrees to do so, so it's not worth asking. There are a couple of hundred steps to get up to it, but it is worth it. I would recommend the restaurant up there for a nice relaxing lunch. The buffet meals in the hotel have an extensive choice and the quality is good. Newmarket customers get a free bottle of water with the meal. Service is rather slow as staff will only get drinks if they are taking cleared dishes back on their trolleys. They scrape food off the plates which is rather offputting. The dining room is rather busy but there is room to eat on the terrace. Staff will begin to clear away 30 minutes before closing time so choice is limited from this time. Mlini is quite a small resort but there are a couple of nice eating places along the sea front. There are some bathing areas but they are small and rather crowded.

Room Tip: Floor 3 or above in the main hotel. Numbered rooms between about 316 to 306 same numbers on higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, Manager at Hotel Astarea, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you on your review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel despite minor problems that you had. We constantly work on improving our service and offer and we hope that the next time you will be fully satisfied.
We hope that you will visit our hotel again, and until then, we are sendind you warm regards from Mlini!
With very best regards
Hotel Astarea Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mlini
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 6 in Mlini
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Dubrovnik Riviera Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villas Mlini
Villas Mlini
#4 of 6 in Mlini
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Avantgarde
Villa Avantgarde
#5 of 6 in Mlini
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Astarea

Property: Hotel Astarea
Address: Shet.Marka Marojice 40, Mlini 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mlini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mlini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astarea 3*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astarea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterea Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Astarea Mlini, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing