We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ...spectacular scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pie de la Sierra Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uruapan
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Wonderful staff too .....and absolutely wonderful food and great prices ...mind you it was January 1980 . I am sure that many things have changed but if the intrinsic beauty of the location hadn't been altered too much ...and the welcoming nature of the people is what I know it still can be from my other experiences in Mexico then this hotel is definitely on my 'bucket list ' . I have an enduring memory of standing on a terrace looking at the surrounding countryside and really not wanting to leave ...but as I only had 10 weeks to hitchhike from Mexico City to Vancouver I had to move on . I have no photographs from that time ..just a few clear shots held in my memory ...and a very creased hotel pamphlet which is kept in an old box with an old map of Mexico marked with my route ...and a few pesos ..

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2010

Every hotel has its good and bad days, but when a hotel is motivated purely by income and management turns a blind eye to an unforgivable situation, then they incur my wrath
,
I stayed at this place this week for two nights - May 5th and 6th.

On day two, a bus load of around 60 students checked into the hotel and by noon that day, the parties in the rooms had started. This went on all afternoon, with groups of students moving from various rooms to rooms, and occupying the outside balcony patios that looked out on to the gardens and the pool area. Communication between these rooms was screamed across the garden areas from patio to patio.

Reinforcements arrived in the afternoon, many of whom carried ice boxes of additional alcoholic drinks and the noise got louder and louder. Not only that, but there were a number of students blatantly smoking dope outside the rooms.

By late afternoon, it was if this group had taken over the hotel. A complaint to the front desk was ignored, and in fact the noise then got progressively louder, all accompanied by doors slamming and communication across the garden areas from balconies.

When it seems that the situation could not get worse, a band then started up at 10:00pm in the function area and the students then moved to the dance, but making sure that groups meandered back and forth between the dance and their rooms.
The loud music continued until 1:45 am and when the dance finished, a large group of drunks then moved to the pool area where they continued to make fools of themselves until 3:30 am.

When the pool group broke up, they moved to individual rooms where the noise and the sound of breaking bottles continued until well after 4:00am.

One would hope that this may have been the end of it, but - NO! It appeared that several of the students had passed out in the wrong rooms, so around 6:00am, these lost souls found their ways to their correct rooms where they started to pound on the doors, screaming out names and asking to be let in. But, of course, the occupants were dead to the world so the futile door thumping continued.

With no sleep at all, and as early as possible, I had my bags packed, checked out and called a cab. While waiting, I was appalled to see that two adults approached the reception area and were obviously the two adults (teachers) who had accompanied all the students.

Nothing whatsoever was done to curtail the noise and the objectionable behavior of the students - neither by the hotel staff nor by the two adults one assumed were in charge. Security in the hotel was non-existent. The hotel's attitude was irresponsible, inconsiderate, and appallingly dumb!

To add insult to injury, I found out on check out that my room had not in fact been prepaid against my credit card, but that my credit card details were required only to confirm my booking. I could have left on the previous day.

Would I recommend this place? You must be joking!

PeterCee

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
10  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We booked this room after reading the first review. We were looking for something outside of the city where we could enjoy the quiet and the great views. This was an excellent option.

The main rooms cost about $75 for a couple at the time of our stay, which was probably reasonable. However, we chose the more economical rooms for $31 a night located the side of the property because we weren't spending much time at the hotel itself and just needed a place to crash. These were quite adequate. They were motel style - very basic but clean. In the morning, you do have to get up early to get the hot water though!

We ate at the restaurant a couple of times and found it adequate but not special. The grounds of the facility and the scenery are exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TeriColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

We are a family of five. Both the children and adults loved this hotel.

We were a little concerned booking this hotel because its location sounded isolated. It turned out to be a very convenient location. It is easy to find because it is on Uruapan's main east west road, just outside of town toward Paricutin. And, it is perhaps a 5 minute drive to the national park.

The grounds are expansive and beautiful with a nice view of Uruapan. Our room was spacious, pleasant and reasonably priced. Dinner and breakfast were very good including a selection of delicious local specialties. The reception was a little slow and confused but friendly.

The staff was friendly. Most staff speak some English; but, knowing some Spanish is helpful.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No gasten su dinero aqui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose K, Gerente at Pie de la Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose K, Gerente at Pie de la Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jesus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose K, Gerente at Pie de la Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uruapan hotels
8.1 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio
8.9 mi away
Hotel Mi Solar
Hotel Mi Solar
#1 of 12 in Uruapan
99 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel El Tarasco
Hotel El Tarasco
#7 of 12 in Uruapan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Uruapan
Holiday Inn Uruapan
#4 of 12 in Uruapan
86 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Uruapan
Hotel Plaza Uruapan
#3 of 12 in Uruapan
62 reviews
9.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pie de la Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pie de la Sierra Hotel

Address: Uruapan-Carapan, Uruapan 60010, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Uruapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uruapan
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pie de la Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pie de la Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pie De La Sierra Hotel Uruapan, Mexico - Michoacan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing