We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel in Uruapan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Uruapan
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Uruapan
san francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel in Uruapan”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

On my way to Querétaro I decided to stop in Uruapan, Michoacan to spend a couple of days and visit the sites in the nearby área. I was fortunate enough to stay at the Holiday Inn. I say "fortunate" because this particular Holiday surpasses any others of the chain where I have stayed. First off the location is within walking distance to a Mall which has a Cineplex, WalMart, and as you enter a STARBUCKS! As to the Hotel, its spanking new...considering its 5 yrs. in operation. The staff is so hospitable, reflecting the superb management. I felt I had to congratulate the General Manager personally and Mr. Barreto was kind enough to take time from his busy day to attend me and show me his meeting rooms since I am planning to do an Educational Seminar in Michoacan. As for the food outlets, can´t say enough. A complete breakfast buffet which includes regional dishes and a juice bar that even has (what all us weight watchers love) a Green juice. This Holiday Inn is the best of the best, in my opinión. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: Sixth floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stelzih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Uruapan, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our property and also your visit to Uruapan. We are working very hard to improve our facilities.

We hope to see you in the near future in Holiday Inn, your House at Uruapan.

Sincerely,

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    17
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
8
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

About 5 mins out of the city, which was fine for us. Taxi costs about 20-30 pesos, and are easy to get so it is not problem if you need to get into Uruapan city. For less exciting fare, there's a cineplex and Walmarts about 200m walk from the hotel. Very quiet location.

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are a little small but adequate. Cable TV and free (fast) wifi in rooms. The mattress is somewhat too soft for me. I was surprised by the well equipped gym. Some of the staff are able to communicate in English. Most are extremely helpful and professional.

The internet rates did not come with breakfast, which was fine for us. It is not a problem doing breakfast a la carte; which is really the only option as there are no easily accessible eateries in the neighbourhood for breakfast.

All in all a more than adequate hotel, which for us, served as a base so that we could explore Paricutin.

Room Tip: As pointed out by other posters....ask for the rooms round back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Uruapan, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kindly comments. Please let me know if you come back to our city. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our property in your past visit to Uruapan.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
286 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was our first trip to Uruapan, and my family and I were very impressed with this hotel, it's not on the city center, but belive me you don't want to be there, there's a lot of noise and traffic. And you can have a peaceful rest in this modern hotel. The hotel is new, staff is super attentive, the restaurant is very good, we had breakfast and dinner there and were very pleased with the food and the prices. Everybody who works there is always willling to help. The room was spacious, beds comfortable, bathroom nice and impeccable. Our room had a very nice view of the mountains behind the hotel. We had a great time there.
If you visit Uruapan, don't miss "Parque Nacional" it's spectacular.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back, have very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Uruapan, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. A bit late my answer but I would like to invite you once again to our hotel. We believe that our property is better than two years ago. We hope to see you soon. This is your home at Uruapan.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

There was only one hiccup I had and that was the location as stated on Google Maps.. But if you ask the local taxi drivers, they'll point you in the right direction.. The hotel itself is like the diamond in the rough.. But they have made it a great environment.. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, moreso than I've had in the US... The bellhops are great and they go out of their way to help you and make your stay enjoyable.. I am very glad I found this hotel in the area and will definately stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrod0748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Uruapan, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. You will be welcome any time you want. Please let me know. We can assume that the hotel now is better than two years ago. We hope you come back to Uruapan. "The world capital of the avocado".

Sincerely,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Really, is very nice the hotel. I like the concept, service and Quality installations., is unique in the city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Uruapan, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your comments. We are working very hard to improve our services and facilities and we are delighted to know that we are accomplishing our goal.

Thank you for visit our property. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uruapan hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mi Solar
Hotel Mi Solar
#1 of 12 in Uruapan
92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Uruapan
Hotel Plaza Uruapan
#2 of 12 in Uruapan
57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Cupatitzio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
3.0 mi away
Pie de la Sierra Hotel
Pie de la Sierra Hotel
#8 of 12 in Uruapan
23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Real de Uruapan
Hotel Real de Uruapan
#10 of 12 in Uruapan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Uruapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Uruapan

Property: Holiday Inn Uruapan
Address: Boulevard Industrial 1705 | Col. Villa Uruapan, Uruapan 60120, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Uruapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Uruapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Uruapan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Uruapan offers ideal accommodations and excellent service for business travelers and other visitors to this thriving city. The hotel is strategically located in the industrial zone, with easy access to the city s major transportation arteries. We are only eight minutes away from the Uruapan airport and 15 minutes from downtown and the financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Uruapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Uruapan Mexico - Michoacan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing