We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a relaxing stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I took my wife to Couples resort for her birthday in April 2012. Prices were great, the spa treatments were very affordable, and we had a great time. We were there for three days and two nights and throughly enjoyed our privacy when we wanted it, and appreciated how helpful and accommodating the staff was.

The food, (which is included) in one word FANTASTIC!!!!!!

Thank You Couples Resport
Mike & Cathy

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    211
    92
    31
    27
See reviews for
Families
0
783
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I went to Couples Resort for the first time for our honeymoon in 1995 (this was our 3rd stay). The resort has changed considerably since that time, but the quality of service and food has remained spectacular! We stayed in the Kenya in the Exotics building. The room was amazing - complete with king size bed, cozy duvet, sauna shower, jacuzzi tub, wood burning fireplace and 52" flat screen tv! We particularly LOVED the hot tub on the deck - it was so relaxing - just what we needed! I would be amiss if I didn't mention the incredible food. 5 courses for dinner filled us up quite nicely. :) It is wonderful to get dressed up for dinner and be waited on and "spoiled". If only I could get my kids to continue this at home. :) All in all, it was an amazing weekend and my husband and I look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vzubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Couples Resort is hands down, the number one resort to stay at, tremendous service, tremendous prices, I would come back every week if I had the chance.

Geoff

Room Tip: Ones with the outdoor hottubs are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MISSISSAUGA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Couples Resort last weekend. We had a beautiful cabin all to ourselves. The cabin had a fireplace (with our own woodpile outside the door) a jacuzzi tub, steam shower and sauna. We had a view of the lake and all the privacy we could possibly want.

The meals (dinner and breakfast) were included and there was more than enough to eat. We indulged in the in-room couples massage as well. The two therapists were great, discreet and professional. I felt very relaxed after.

All in all I would highly recommend this resort. The added bonus is that it is very close to Algonquin Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the Master Suite & did not want to return home to "reality". The room was beautiful & we enjoyed the woodburning fireplace, hot tub & our king sized bed (so comfy!). The service was great & we thoroughly enjoyed our meals each day. We have eaten at many restaurants & the food served to us at the Couples Resort exceeds many other restaurants in quality & taste. The surroundings are beautiful & so peaceful. We look forward to returning! Thanks for the fabulous memories!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went in 2002 for our honeymoon, 2003 for our 1 year anniversary, 2004 for my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary, 2005 to celebrate our pregnancy with our first child and this past weekend, 2012, our 10th wedding anniversary!!!

Although this place has changed a lot, and yes there are extra's for lots of things. The room that we stayed it was a LOT more expensive when we stayed for our honeymoon and now it's the cheapest room there is!

It wasn't the Hilton, but it was perfect for spending time with my husband. Jacuzzi in the room and fireplace, looking at the lake, lots of nice places to walk, the food was exceptional and the service was just right.

Definitely be back.

Oh we also got a free massage for being a return customer.

And no, I don't work for anyone there.

Room Tip: The 'basement' junior luxury suite, don't be turned off by them being in the 'baseme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I spent our first anniversay there this month. We really enjoyed our time as it was perfect weather allowing us to get outdoors and not have any bugs yet.

Because we had spent our honeymoon there last year a spa treatment was included. I chose the hot stone massage. Heavenly.

I am also allergic to milk products and the substitutes they gave me were excellent. I did not feel deprived in any way.

I knew that the room would need some updating as they said on the website that they were hoping to get the rooms upgraded in the next year. We could see upgrades in other things since we were there last year - like the dining room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suites last year and found them very good - because of the lower price this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
21 reviews
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
6 reviews
95.3 mi away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
355 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Property: Couples Resort
Address: 139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Whitney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing