We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Our Honeymoon”
Review of Couples Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Maple, ON, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On Our Honeymoon”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We reserved a Chateau Cabin, four days, two weeks recently this July. This was definitely one of the best, most relaxing vacation my wife and I have ever enjoyed. Cleanliness, service, amenities, security, are all top rated. Friendliness of the staff was always evident.
Our cabin, picture your dream cottage. This is it. Fifteen hundred square feet. Wood burning fireplace, Living rm, beautiful bedroom with Jacuzzi, sauna, granite four seat steam shower, toilet, bidet, granite double vanity, make-up mirror for my lady. Outdoor deck with four seat hot-tub, lounge chairs, a screened connected outdoor pavilion, both structures with cathedral ceilings.
There's more...canoeing, mountain biking, hiking trails, art gallery, art museum, swimming pool, grounds are insect controlled, need more...?
How about fine dining! This has gotta be one of the best kitchens in the province. Dined in Toronto? Dined in Ottawa & Montreal? Well you better get your butt up to Whitney cause your missing out!
Couples Resort, we'll be back.
One problem. Please fix your website. We almost didn't book.
Paradise in our own back-yard. Keep your cash in Canada!

Room Tip: Ask for an e-mail quote, so your sure about pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCCXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    213
    95
    31
    28
See reviews for
Families
0
802
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Couples Resort in the Helice Chateau. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The accomadation was devine and comfortable. There was so much to do that we could not fit it all in. The meals included were fantastic. The soups were extraordinary!! We ordered everything from french toast and waffles to lamb, penne pasta, salmon and steak. I would definitely recommend for a relaxing weekend or longer to explore the area and enjoy the ambience. We will absolutely be back! Maybe a winter trip to enjoy the fireplace!!

Room Tip: Helice is three metres from the water and the sunset is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at The Couples Resort in the middle of Winter... January I think it was... funny that I would be thinking of that in July but our experience was so enjoyable I decided to investigate Summer deals and I have to say that the offerings are impressive.
My plan is to do a 3 or 4 night canoe trip in Algonquin Park with my girlfriend and then finish with a night (or two) at Couples. What a contrast that would be... from doing everything to having everything done for us. I could praise the 5 star meals, a wine list that will impress even the most snobby wine connoisseur, a plethora of activities and facilities at your doorstep, extremely comfortable and well appointed rooms with real fireplaces and hot tubs... all at the edge of beautiful Algonquin... AND reasonably priced. If this place doesn't bump your libido a few notches, nothing will. The bottom line is this... the last time we stayed there, I booked for 2 nights and ended up staying 4. I can't imagine a better compliment to the ownership and staff at The Couples Resort. It was an experience we won't forget.
We'll be back... soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I just spent a weekend at the Couples resort. We stayed in a Master Junior suite. The rooms are huge, and the amenities in the room are top notch - flat screen TV, fireplace, hot tub, jacuzzi tub, steam shower... even a fridge to keep your drinks cold. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The grounds are well kept, the meals are great and the staff is friendly and helpful.

We spent some time in Algonquin Park at the logging museum which is really interesting and worth the 10 minute drive.

If you are looking for a romantic and relaxing few days with your partner, I highly recommend the Couples Resort!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RABCDN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from our third trip to the Couples Resort; we were married there at the Venus chalet in September 2010 so the resort holds a special place in our hearts and a quick getaway is a wonderfully romantic treat. Although the Venus chalet is our favourite accommodation because of it's uber-private atmosphere, we also enjoy the amenities of the Master's Junior Suites for short stays. Since we had only one night this time, we booked the Gauguin suite last minute. I especially enjoyed the steam shower, which is not available in either of the Utopian chalets.

We arrived around noon on Saturday and were greeted by Theresa on the front desk. She was able to check us in early but of course since the room was not yet ready, we would have to return for our keys. I also booked a pedicure for the following morning, as return guests are provided with one free spa treatment with each return visit (certain exceptions, like Shiatsu, apply). We were able to get a Park Pass as one of the inclusive perks this time around, so we forayed into the park and explored the Visitor's Centre and then the Spruce Bog Boardwalk and Beaver Pond Trail. No beaver sightings, but we did catch some turtles basking on a log and my husband was chastised by a pair of grouse for inadvertently getting too close to their nest while trying to get a good shot of one of the creeks that runs alongside part of the trail. On our way back to the Resort, we visited the Logging Museum and then ducked into the LCBO in Whitney before getting our keys at the front desk and reserving a time for dinner.

Dinner was excellent, as always - the majority of the menu is available on the website if you want a peek ahead of time; the only thing you have to wait to hear are the day's specials. Service was polite, attentive and quick and the portion sizes large. We ended up taking our dessert back to the room because we were too full to eat it at the table, and it made for a nice snack later in the evening. For as much press as the 5 Course Gourmet Dinner gets, we must admit that our favourite items are actually on the breakfast menu. My berry & cream cheese French toast this morning was just heavenly and my husband always enjoys the Couples Sunrise bacon and egg dish. The Belgian waffle with apple compote and maple cream is another favourite.

This was the first time I'd had a pedicure at the Resort; I was greeted by esthetician Anita and she did a wonderful job. Not all resort estheticians do nail art, so if that's something that's important to you, make sure you specify at the time of booking. They use very high quality products and I was able to enjoy another cup of coffee while she worked on my feet - overall it was a very relaxing experience and I will DEFINITELY be getting another pedicure on my next visit.

Overall, another fabulous weekend away - worth every cent as far as we are concerned, and priced competitively with other resorts in and near the park when all amenities and special added savings (kayak/canoe rental, park passes, in-room drinks, spa treatments for return customers) are considered. Our only regret is that we weren't able to stay for another night. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Our favourites are the Utopian Chalets and Masters Junior Suites because both have outdoor hot tubs...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in one of the Chateaus. The accomodation was luxurious, super comfortable, spotlessly clean and in excellent repair (looked brand new). The service at this resort is excellent. The staff were uniformly very friendly, genuinely concerned and courteous at all times and they took care of all our needs very promptly. In fact, the chef and kitchen went out of thier way to ensure that my vegan dietary concerns were always addressed with specially prepared items and menu modifications. Speaking of the kitchen, the food is amazing! The meals are definitely superior and on par with the finest dining anywhere. The dining room is very tranquil and wonderfully romantic. The facilities and amenities are great; lots of canoes, kayaks, motor boats, etc as well as a really nice pool and hot tub by the main lodge. The proximity to Algonquin (a short paddle away) is a real bonus. We found the entire resort very peaceful and tranquil and were incredibly relaxed within a very short time after our arrival. We did not partake of any spa treatments so cannot comment on those, but the spa facilities looked very nice. This is a wonderful place for couples to go and spend some real quality time together. Highly recommended. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We celebrated our 15th Anniversary by visiting Couples Resort, and it quickly became our favourite place to go without the kids. From the amazing accommodations to the free room service for breakfast , to the perfectly-heated pool, to the 5-course gourmet dinner, to the included activities.....I just can't rave enough about this place! Websites and pictures don't do it justice--you have to check it out for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Chateau; more expensive but worth it--very private and posh! (and more "extras&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
168 reviews
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
106 reviews
18.9 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
8 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
22.4 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Property: Couples Resort
Address: 139 Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Whitney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing