We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Couples Only Resort”
Review of Couples Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Couples Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding Couples Only Resort”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a super romantic spot for couples only. Each room has its own fireplace and Jacuzzi as well as a big feather bed and pillows. You can take out a canoe, kayak, and a mountain bike or hike a superb nature trail, or if the mood hits, take a ride behind a fast boat on a tube around a truly beautiful lake. Raining? No problem, you can stay dry indoors by your own in room fireplace or you can play pool or ping pong in the main lodge. Men must wear a dress shirt and tie and ladies get dressed for a 5 star sumptuous dinner, served in a stunning dining room overlooking a pristine lake. The staff is outstanding, courteous and genuinely attentive to your every need, these people just couldn't be any kinder or pleasant. The resort is also a wonderful winter getaway that is right on the door step of Algonquin Park, one of Canada's most prestigious and largest nature preserves. During the winter, the Couples Inn and Resort offers all types of outdoor winter activities including cross country skiing, groomed trails, and snowshoeing to name just a few of the of the winter fun things that you might try. As a romantic getaway, the Couples Inn and Resort is hard to beat; I rate the entire experience 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Try and get an end room or for a little more, reserve a private chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couples_Resort_Rep, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Great to hear you have found your Romantic Spot and it sounds like you have been with us a few times. Thanks for the kind review. We hope you continue to visit us here at the edge of Algonquin as we will continue to make it exceptional.
Be sure to take advantage of the Loyalty program for our return guests and all it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    212
    92
    31
    28
See reviews for
Families
0
791
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Couples Resort (know as the Bear trail Inn in those days) for our honeymoon in '97. We went back recently to celebrate our 16th anniversary and it was better than ever. We stayed in one of the Villas, and it was just beautiful! From the big stone fireplace, to the sauna, steam shower, in-room espresso machine, candles, to the screened in porch where we sat with a glass of wine over looking the lake in the evenings - it was perfect. The food was very good and appreciated being asked about food allergies/preferences as soon as we arrived. all staff are warm and friendly, and owner John is very much on site and hands on. We wont let another 16 years go by before we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couples_Resort_Rep, Owner at Couples Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Happy Anniversary! Fantastic to hear you had such a romantic time at the resort and in your Villa by the lake. I can only imagine the feeling of seeing the Resort 16 yrs after the first visit, almost everything has been replaced, well except the location and the hospitality of the Sorensen Family and the Great Staff, thanks for all the kind words. I just wish as much as I am on-site I could be available to all guests all the time, but often my many chores at running the resort to such a high caliber keep me in the back ground most of the time. Good to hear we will see you sooner next time, thanks! JohnS - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The food was delicious and filling. Love the variety. I tried so many different things, even frogs legs!

Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is AMAZING! They really did think of everything. The peace & quiet, the luxury accommodations, the sinfully delicious food, and the activities were simply outstanding. You could opt for room service or eat in the formal dining room which had a dress code & no cell phone policy - LOVE IT! Our balcony looked onto the lake. The lake is so peaceful. No craziness just simple tranquility. I have to say what stood out for me was the staff. They were wonderful. Always polite, well mannered and just positive people. It was difficult for me to pick out just one individual. Everyone was great! Everyone from the front desk - grounds keepers, restaurant staff, cleaning staff, activity centre, spa and even the young man who came into our room to service the spa. They are all so friendly!!!! Be very proud of yourselves. We do a lot of travelling and this is by far the best place for service and quality we have found throughout North America and Europe. Great job we will see you again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rubens. These units all have a balcony with a f-place, j-tub & a hot tub on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couples_Resort_Rep, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are very glad you had an Amazing time with us here. It is always great to hear how valued the staff are for the effort they put in, they surely appreciate it. We wish you many more anniversaries on your journeys throughout the world, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My new Husband and I came across the Couples Resort from a google search. We had read some mixed reviews but decided that the positive ones outweighed the negative ones and were we ever right! What an absolutely fantastic resort!

We were greeted with a smile upon checking in and were asked about our food allergies (a major thing for both of us) and were ensured that our meals would be prepared accordingly, which they were. Our server on both nights confirmed our allergies with us and made sure we were aware of any products that might have contained any allergens.

When we arrived at our room (Stayed in the Jr. Masters), we were delighted to see a congratulations cards, 2 mugs (with 2 k-cup pods) and a free lunch voucher from the Resort. This was such a nice, unexpected treat. We had lunch the next day and honestly, we have both never had a simple salad and Panini that was so delicious. The salad dressing was out of this world tasty.

The 5 star dinner was a real treat. We have never had such delicious food. The first night we both had (appetizers) Caesar salad & a northern mushroom tart, I had the tortellini dish (scrumptious) and my Husband ordered the steak which was very large and juicy! We got our dessert to go and both enjoyed the Baileys Crème Brule. The second night we both had the same appetizers again (they were too delicious not to!) I tried the chicken dish(with some substitutions due to my allergies) and my husband enjoyed the veal. Another great meal.

The actual room itself was equipped with a large bathroom w/steam shower, a king size bed, a Jacuzzi, a large tv and a balcony complete with an outdoor hot tub. We spent a lot of time on the balcony during 2 days of our stay (unfortunately it rained) and enjoyed the hot tub and lounge chairs. We had a beautiful view of the lake. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The pool was very warm which was nice as it was a tad cool out.

It was so nice to find such a quiet, peaceful, relaxing spot. We have already recommended it to 2 couples who have asked what we thought about it and they are planning trips.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_toronto89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couples_Resort_Rep, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
May you have many more happy years to come. I am so glad that you choose us over many other options on your search I am sure. Thanks for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon from June 23rd-26th. Our room was India, and was just spectacular!! We were greeted at the front desk by a very friendly receptionist, who gave us 2 lunch vouchers (good for 2 entrees) as a honeymoon gift and gave us our key cards. Upon arrival to our room we were in complete awe! What a beautiful room! Very spacious, steam shower (which I LOVE!) jacuzzi tub, private deck with a hot tub, to name a few...and some 'couples resort honeymoon' mugs filled with hot chocolate and tea to enjoy and keep! and omg the food!! Pure heaven! Hats off to the chef and his team!! After reading all of the reviews I wasn't sure what to think but after staying and experiencing it for ourselves, this is definitely a 5star resort!! Couldn't have been any better, even with it raining for a whole day there was lots to do!! We went shopping in Barry's Bay, went back to the resort and tried out the steam shower, then jumped in the hot tub and listened to the rain...<3 played some pool in the game room, all in all had a great time enjoying each other. The bed was sooo comfortable, best sleep we've had in a long time! But I'm sure the atmosphere has something to do with it;) we had an amazing time and already started planning our next visit:) great job to all the staff; to Jon: keep doing whatever you're doing because it works! Thank you for making our honeymoon an experience we'll never forget! :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KTessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couples_Resort_Rep, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
So glad that such a special time in your life was unforgettable. As it should be... nothing to do but focus on one another. Congratulations and many happy years to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Couples Resort was a great place lots of activities and just a fun place to be.
Being just down the street to Algonquin park, provided a great place for adventure. With a base camp, the resort with excellent and luxury place to come back too.
The resort is definitely five star. The food was excellent, gourmet style, dinning, beautiful rooms, wood fire place, jag oozy, king size bed, balcony, with a spectacular view.
They included lots of activities, boating, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, hiking, bike riding, pool, sauna, all with lots of class and comfort.
The additional benefit was it was a lump sum cost for everything, very few additional costs, very minor, everything was included.
We really enjoyed our visit, and Honey Moon.
It is a resort designed for a couples retreat!!!!

Room Tip: The room to book depends on your activities. We spent time adventuring the area as a whole, so our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couples_Resort_Rep, Public Relations Manager at Couples Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks so much for your review. I am so very glad we were the perfect Honeymoon spot for you. All the best in the years to come, it should only get better for the both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
20.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
17.1 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
95.3 mi away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#11 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
0.5 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Resort

Property: Couples Resort
Address: 139 (End of ) Galeairy Lake Road | Algonquin Park, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Couples Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is here that couples celebrating birthdays and anniversaries as well as honeymooners and recently married couples come to relax, embrace love, enjoy the organic spa and find the time to share an adventure. This is quite literally the hottest place to be in all four seasons, with 10 saunas, 27 walk-in steam rooms, 21 walk-in euro-showers, 23 outdoor hot tubs and 48 in-room Jacuzzi tubs each in front of a wood burning fireplace. All accommodations at the Couples Resort Exceed 5 Diamond standards, North America's toughest standards. Ontario's Couples Resort is situated on the shores of Galeairy Lake and the Madawaska River, with Algonquin Park as our backyard. The village of Whitney, Ontario is a short 15-minute walk away. We are surrounded with breathtaking wilderness, pure fresh air, secluded forests, pristine waters, an abundance of sunny days and a blanket of stars at night. This priceless peace and tantalizing tranquility is all yours for the taking.Those of you who need to escape from the bustle will find us calming and rejuvenating. There are many ways to do nothing if that is your wish. On the other hand, unlimited activities will keep the adventurer active all year round. Ontario's Natural Algonquin Park is ideal for the sport enthusiast or avid adventurer who will be delighted with the extraordinary activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Couples Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Couples Hotel Whitney
Bear Trail Couples Resort
Couples Resort Whitney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing