We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back To The Future”

Algonquin East Gate Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algonquin East Gate Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We having been staying at the East Gate for 20 years, and it still remains a quaint little motel at the east entrance to Algonquin Provincial Park. We use the East Gate as our back up, when rain is forecast, but our holiday is already planned in the park. the staff are friendly, they serve a top notch breakfast. (not included in rate) David Kay has a little Art Gallery on site. They also have canoes for rent at a reasonable price.
We were there in August, and enjoyed using the campfire pit behind the motel. All-round ,a nice trip down memory lane, rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. They are often at capacity, so book early. We picked up a great Panzoretti at the local Pizza shop. I also got some genuine Laurentian Chief moccasin slippers at the local native gift shop.

Room Tip: They also have one little cabin for rent behind the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retiredperson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The price is right. Rooms are very basic but clean. Recently stayed there two nights a week apart. Both times, the beds were comfortable but tended to squeak when you moved on them. Staff was very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was a great bargain and well done. First week the internet was not working and that was frustrating. That was fixed by the second week. Ideal location for anyone wanting to go on the wolf howl in Algonquin Park but not be faced with a long drive after the wolf howl. Would definitely return another time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The room was clean and basic. Shower was good. Free wifi available
All you expect from a motel.

The hosts were very friendly.
There is a possibility to have breakfast. We had one and were very pleased.

This motel is a good starting point for hikes in the Algonquin Provincial Park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The staff there are friendly. It's a homey, family-based atmosphere. I got to meet their grandson and daughters. I was able to crash that night and depart early for a water taxi to Lake Opeongo. They're close to Algonquin Park. The breakfasts and hot coffee was reasonably affordable and greatly appreciated in the morning. David Kay's landscape paintings, his photos of wildlife, and his humorous stories of their trips around the world lifted my spirits for my heavy paddling ahead.

Room Tip: They have a cabin out back that has cooking facilities, campfire rings, and charcoal briquette barbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights .Room clean and comfortable .Breakfast was good . Coffee maker in the room would be a good addition . Very convenient for access to Algonquin Park .Owners very friendly and helpful.Whitney has the usual amenities grocery store LCBO and a couple of restaurants. Also a gas staion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The room was clean, comfortable and quiet; very basic.
The only problem I had was there was no coffee maker. The motel served breakfast starting at 8 am, but my husband and I wanted to be out around 7:30, and the area restaurants were not open until 8 am also.
I would recommend the motel purchase small coffee makers for those of us who like to get an early start.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue181747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stay at the East Gate the night before we are off to canoe in the back country of Algonquin Park. The cabin and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The retro ambiance is unpretentious, homey and welcoming - that's what I really love about the place. The staff is unfailingly helpful and polite and the cost very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
0.1 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
16 reviews
22.9 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
160 reviews
20.5 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
18.6 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
77 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin East Gate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin East Gate Motel

Address: Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Algonquin East Gate Hotel
Algonquin East Gate Motel Whitney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing